this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: FST 376 - American Cinema 1927-1960


 

 

Contact Information

Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Spring 2008
Randall #2080: W 6-8pm
CAB #1048: M 3-4pm | W 10-11am

Return to top

Library Services

Ask a Librarian

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference, and 24/7 chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off Campus Access of Resources

In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/screens/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/forms/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/

Return to top

Library Catalog

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

To request an item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN.

Suggested Search Strategies

Keyword Search

blacklist

film noir
hollywood musical
orson welles
production code

rebel without a cause

screwball comed*

melodrama* and sirk

hitchcock and wom?n

hollywood and western

gangster and (film or cinema)
western and (film or cinema)

james stewart and (film or cinema)

Subject Search

Film Noir
Film Noir History
Film Noir History And Criticism

Motion Pictures

Musical Films

Western Films

Return to top

Locating Videos & DVDs

Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.

To locate the call number of a film do the following:

Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]

Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.

Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]

Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.

Return to top

Database & Article Searching

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):

Recommended Databases for Film Studies

EBSCOHost
General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations. To search databases simultaneously, try clicking on any combination of the boxes next to the following resources:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • America: History & Life,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text,
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography, and
  • Newspaper Source.

FIAF International FilmArchive Database (4 simultaneous users)
Film subject database; primarily citations.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film subject databases; both full text and citations.

Film Literature Index Online
A free web source. Citations only. Note scope: 1976-2001

IIPA Full Text (4 simultaneous users)
Film and performing arts subject database; both full text and citations.

Ingenta
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.

JSTOR
Good film coverage; predominantly full text.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2001.

Newsbank
"America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database."

ProjectMUSE
Good film coverage; full text.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to popular periodicals published from 1890 to 1982.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Search Strategies for the Databases

cinemascope

hollywood ten

screwball comed*

"film noir" and light*
"film noir" and wom?n
"alfred hitchcock" and perform*

blacklist and screenwrit*
hollywood and melodrama*

censor* and "production code"

musical and (film or cinema) and styl*
silent and (film or cinema) and act*

(star or stardom) and "motion pictures" and market*

(star or stardom) and (film or cinema) and (publicity or promotion*)

Return to top

Finding Articles Not Indexed in Online Databases

Most online databases will not cover the scope of this class (1927-1960), so finding articles and information contemporary to the date of release of the films being researched is a bit more involved. Suggestions for finding these articles include:

Return to top

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

https://illiad.uncw.edu/logon.html

Return to top

Recommended Internet Resources

Internet Sites

BargainFlix.com
http://www.bargainflix.com/
"Never pay full price for a DVD again."

David Bordwell's Website on Cinema
http://www.davidbordwell.net/
A site maintained by David Bordwell; it lists extensive bibliographies, online essays, and his blog.

DirectorsWorld: The Art, Technology, and Business of Directing
http://www.uemedia.net/CPC/directorsworld/
A site for aspiring directors; includes information on jobs and professional development opportunities.

Google Scholar
http://scholar.google.com/schhp?hl=en&tab=ws&q=
The Google you know, but limited to more scholarly and/or full text resources.

Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/
Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.

Masters of Cinema
http://www.mastersofcinema.org/
A wealth of information about major and/or cult directors, featuring articles and their "Worldwide DVD Calendar" of DVD release dates.

Metacritic.com
http://www.metacritic.com/
"Metacritic® compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd, books, music, television and games. Our unique Metascores ® show the critical consensus at a glance by taking a weighted average of critic grades."

Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com/lookup
A searchable database of over 460,000 movie reviews.

Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
http://www.cmstudies.org/
The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.

Online Journals

Film International
http://www.filmint.nu/
"Film International focuses on longer essays with in-depth-analysis, but it also features interviews, festival reports and an extensive review section on books, special DVD editions and films at the cinema." It is indexed in FIAF.

Film-Philosophy
http://www.film-philosophy.com/
A film studies journal, salon, and portal, focusing on the relationship between film and philosophy.

Scope: An Online Journal of Film Studies
http://www.scope.nottingham.ac.uk/index.php
From the University of Nottingham, an online, peer-reviewed journal; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Senses of Cinema
http://www.sensesofcinema.com/
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema"; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Return to top

 
Last Update: 12 March, 2008 17:41