this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: FST 377 - American Cinema Since 1961


 

 

Contact Information

Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl AT uncw.edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/index.html

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Fall 2009
Thursdays, 9-11am
Randall #2080

Wednesdays, 4-5pm
CA #1048

Return to top

Library Services

Ask a Librarian

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off Campus Access of Resources

In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/screens/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/index.html

Return to top

Library Catalog

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search%7Eb001o001c001i001).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

To request an item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN (for help with your library PIN, please see: http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/pin.html).

Keyword Search

Suggested searches:

cinema and america
cinema and "united states"
cinema and america*
cinema and (america* or "united states")

(cinema* or film* or movie*) and scorsese
(cinema* or film* or movie*) and (scorsese or coppola)
(cinema* or film* or movie*) and scorsese and coppola

(cinema* or film* or movie*) and (america* or "united states") and 1970s
(cinema* or film*) and (seventies or 1970s)
(cinema* or film*) and (sixties or 1960s)

Subject Search

Suggested searches:

Motion Pictures

Motion Pictures United States
Motion Pictures United States History

Motion Pictures Social Aspects
Motion Pictures Social Aspects United States

Detective and mystery films

Gangster films

Police films

Return to top

Locating Videos & DVDs

Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.

To locate the call number of a film do the following:

Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]

Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.

Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]

Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.

Return to top

Database & Article Searching

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/articles):

Recommended Databases for Film Studies

EBSCOHost
General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations. To search databases simultaneously, try clicking on any combination of the boxes next to:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Business Source Premier,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • E-Journals,
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography, and
  • Newspaper Source.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical right and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from 1991 to the present.

Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes alternative, radical right and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from 1969 to 1990.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Indexes and cross-references arts and humanities articles; links to full text. A great way to find seminal articles in the field (i.e. articles that are cited frequently).

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film subject databases; both full text and citations.

Film Literature Index Online
A free web source. Citations only. Note scope: 1976-2001

IIPA Full Text (4 simultaneous users)
Film and performing arts subject database; both full text and citations.

IngentaConnect
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.

JSTOR
Good film coverage; predominantly full text.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2005.

ProjectMUSE
Good film coverage; full text.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to popular periodicals published from 1890 to 1982.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Searches in the Databases

cinema and scorsese
cinema and coppola
cinema and coppola not sofia

(cinema* or film*) and "wes anderson"
sound and (1970s or seventies) and coppola not sofia
(rushmore or "royal tenenbaums") and "wes anderson" and style

(cinema* or film*) and (america* or "united states") and (1970s or seventies) and style
(cinema* or film*) and (america* or "united states") and (1970s or seventies) and industr*
(cinema* or movie* or film* or "motion picture*") and (america* or "united states") and (1980s or eighties)
(cinema* or film*) and (america* or "united states") and (1960s or sixties) and (light* or staging or "set design")

Return to top

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/customerservices/interlibraryloan.html

Return to top

Recommended Internet Resources

 

Internet Sites

Cinemtrics
http://www.cinemetrics.lv/
"Movie measurement and study tool database."

Film Studies for Free
http://filmstudiesforfree.blogspot.com/
"Film Studies For Free actively espouses the ethos of Open Access to digital scholarly material. It aims to promote good quality, online, film and moving-image studies resources by commenting on them, and by linking to them."

Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/
Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.

Moving Image Source
http://www.movingimagesource.us/
"Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources."

Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
http://www.cmstudies.org/
The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.

Speedcine
http://www.speedcine.com/
"The fast way to find legal movies online."

Online Journals

Film International
http://www.filmint.nu/
"Film International focuses on longer essays with in-depth-analysis, but it also features interviews, festival reports and an extensive review section on books, special DVD editions and films at the cinema."

Film-Philosophy
http://www.film-philosophy.com/
A film studies journal, salon, and portal, focusing on the relationship between film and philosophy.

Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers
http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=Journal%20of%20the%20Society%20of%20Motion%20Picture%20Engineers
Free online access to this historical resource, concerning developments in film technology.

Scope: An Online Journal of Film Studies
http://www.scope.nottingham.ac.uk/index.php
From the University of Nottingham, an online, peer-reviewed journal; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Senses of Cinema
http://www.sensesofcinema.com/
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema"; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

 

Return to top


Last Update: 6 October, 2009 11:47