this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: FST 385 -Japanese Cinema


Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

 

 

Contact Information

Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Spring 2009
Randall #2080: T 11am-1pm
CAB #1048: W 4-5pm

Return to top

Library Services

Ask a Librarian

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference, and 24/7 chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off-Campus Access of Resources

In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/screens/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/forms/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/

Return to top

Boolean Searching

For help with Boolean Searching (the language that allows you to search databases most effectively), try consulting the following sites:

Colorado State University Libraries: Boolean Tutorial
http://lib.colostate.edu/tutorials/boolean_info.html

NYU Libraries: Interactive Boolean Search Tutorial
http://library.nyu.edu/research/tutorials/boolean/boolean.html

Return to top

Library Catalog

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials, search the catalog.

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

To request an item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN.

Suggested Search Strategies

Keyword Search

japanese cinema

japan and cinema
japan and (cinema or film)

ozu
ozu and style

kurosawa
kurosawa and critic*

Subject Search

motion pictures japan
motion pictures japanese

Motion Picture Producers And Directors Japan

mizoguchi

ozu

Return to top

Locating Videos & DVDs

Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.

To locate the call number of a film do the following:

Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]

Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.

Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]

Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.

Return to top

Database & Article Searching

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):

Recommended Databases for Film Studies

EBSCOHost
General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations. To search databases simultaneously, try clicking on any combination of the boxes next to:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Business Source Premier,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • E-Journals,
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography, and
  • Newspaper Source.

Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical right and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from 1991 to the present.

Alternative Press Index Archive
Indexes alternative, radical right and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from 1969 to 1990.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film subject databases; both full text and citations.

Film Literature Index Online
A free web source. Citations only. Note scope: 1976-2001

IIPA Full Text (4 simultaneous users)
Film and performing arts subject database; both full text and citations.

IngentaConnect
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.

JSTOR
Good film coverage; predominantly full text.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2005.

ProjectMUSE
Good film coverage; full text.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Citations to popular periodicals published from 1890 to 1982.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Search Strategies for the Databases

shochiku

japanese cinema

japan and cinema
japan* and cinema

yakuza and (cinema or film)

rashomon
rashomon and narrat*

ozu and styl*

mizoguchi and (cinema or film) and wom?n

melodrama* and (japan* or asian) and cinema

japan* and horror and (cinema or film)

Return to top

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

https://illiad.uncw.edu/logon.html

Return to top

Recommended Internet Resources

 

Internet Sites

Center for Japanese Studies: Publications
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/c/cjs/
This site provides full-text access to a lot of books on Japanese cinema; try doing a "Basic" search, selecting "title" from the dropdown menu, on cinema.

David Bordwell's Website on Cinema
http://www.davidbordwell.net/
A site maintained by David Bordwell; it lists extensive bibliographies, online essays, and his 2005 speaking schedule.

Film Studies for Free
http://filmstudiesforfree.blogspot.com/
Open-access film studies resources, featuring links to full-text content.

Google Scholar
http://scholar.google.com/schhp?hl=en&tab=ws&q=
The Google you know, but limited to more scholarly and/or full text resources.

Internet Movie Database
http://www.imdb.com/
Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.

Masters of Cinema
http://www.mastersofcinema.org/
A wealth of information about major and/or cult directors, featuring articles and their "Worldwide DVD Calendar" of DVD release dates.

Metacritic.com
http://www.metacritic.com/
"Metacritic® compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for film, video/dvd, books, music, television and games. Our unique Metascores® show the critical consensus at a glance by taking a weighted average of critic grades."

Midnight Eye
http://midnighteye.com/
"The latest and best in Japanese Cinema." Features Tom Mes, as editor.

Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com/lookup
A searchable database of over 460,000 movie reviews.

Moving Image Source
http://www.movingimagesource.us/
"Articles by leading critics and scholars."

Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
http://www.cmstudies.org/
The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.

TokyoQ
http://www.tokyoq.com/
A site about Japanese pop culture.

YesAsia.com
http://us.yesasia.com/
"The leading Internet source for Asian entertainment products." Free worldwide shipping.

Online Journals

Film International
http://www.filmint.nu/
"Film International focuses on longer essays with in-depth-analysis, but it also features interviews, festival reports and an extensive review section on books, special DVD editions and films at the cinema." It is indexed in FIAF.

Film-Philosophy
http://www.film-philosophy.com/
A film studies journal, salon, and portal, focusing on the relationship between film and philosophy.

Scope: An Online Journal of Film Studies
http://www.scope.nottingham.ac.uk/index.php
From the University of Nottingham, an online, peer-reviewed journal; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Senses of Cinema
http://www.sensesofcinema.com/
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema"; it is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

Return to top


Last Update: 13 April, 2009 17:07