this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide: FST 389 - Contemporary Latin American Cinema


 

 

Contact Information

Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl AT uncw.edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
Meebo me!: http://library.uncwil.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Fall 2008
Tuesdays, 11am-1pm
Randall #2080

Wednesdays, 4-5pm
Thursdays, 10-11am
CAB #1048

Return to top

Library Services

Reference Assistance

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off Campus Access of Resources

In order to access E-reserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/index.html

Return to top

Library Catalog

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials, search the catalog.

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search%7Eb001o001c001i001).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search%7Eb001o001c001i001).

To request a book item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN.

Keyword Search

Suggested searches:

"Amores Perros"
Lucia Nagib

cinema and "latin america"
cinema* and "latin america*"
(cinema* or film* or movie*) and "latin america*"

cuba* and cinema*

Subject Search

Suggested searches:

Motion Pictures

Motion Pictures Latin America
Motion Pictures Latin America Catalogs
Motion Pictures Latin America History

Motion Pictures Social Aspects Latin America

Motion Pictures Political Aspects Latin America

Motion Pictures Brazil
Motion Pictures Brazilian

Motion Pictures Argentina

Return to top

Locating Videos & DVDs

Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are located on the first floor of the library.

To locate the call number of a film do the following:

Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Amores Perros [title]

Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Latin America [the subject]

Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Salles, Walter [author/artist]

Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using: DVD

Return to top

Database & Article Searching

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):

Recommended Databases for Film Studies

EBSCOHost
General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations. To search databases simultaneously, try clicking on any combination of the boxes next to:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Business Source Premier,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography, and
  • Newspaper Source.

Alternative Press Index
Citations to articles in alternative publications.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Citations to articles from arts and humanities journals.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles in English and Spanish from ethnic, minority, and native presses.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A searchable index of books, journal & magazine articles, and other resources on the subject of Latin American studies. This database consists of items selected and reviewed by Latin American studies scholars and is maintained by the Library of Congress.

IngentaConnect
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.

JSTOR
Good film coverage; predominantly full text.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2005.

Project MUSE
Full-text, scholarly archive.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Searches in the Databases

"amores perros"
"new latin american cinema"
"like water for chocolate"

bunuel and mexic*
cuba* and documentar*
cinema and "latin america"
"city of god" and meirelles

chilean and (film or cinema)
"che guevara" and (film or cinema)

"latin america*" and (cinema* or film* or movie* or "motion picture*")
"latin america*" and (cinema or film) and adapt*
"latin america*" and (film or cinema) and wom?n
"latin america*" and (film or cinema) and (audience or reception or spectator*)

Return to top

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

 

If Randall Library does not own an item you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough time for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/customerservices/interlibraryloan.html

Return to top

Is It Peer-Reviewed?

Here is a guide to help you understand the differences among popular, trade, and peer-reviewed (or academic or scholarly) articles:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/topic/articletypes.html

When searching, most databases have peer-reviewed (or academic or scholarly) limits that can be applied in order to retrieve only those results from journals that undergo a peer-review process.

When in doubt:

Return to top

Zotero

"Zotero is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself."

Download Zotero

Return to top

 
Last Update: 7 October, 2008 11:30