Class Guide: FST 480 - Latin American and Caribbean Cinema
Contact the Film Studies Librarian for help!
Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl@uncw.edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncwil.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/Drop by during Liza's office hours
Spring 2006
Mondays, 3-5pm
Randall #2080
Reference Assistance
We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference; click the following link for details:
Off Campus Access of Resources
In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:
RAP: Research Assistance Program
Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:
Library Workshop Series
Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:
To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/search.html):
Keyword Search
Suggested searches:
maria candelaria
cinema novo
auteur theory
third cinemacinema and caribbean
cinema and "latin america"
cinema* and "latin america*"
(cinema* or film* or movie*) and "latin america*"
(cinema* or film* or movie*) and ("latin america*" or caribbean)
Subject Search
Suggested searches:
Motion Pictures
Motion Pictures Latin America
Motion Pictures Latin America Catalogs
Motion Pictures Latin America HistoryMotion Pictures Social Aspects Latin America
Motion Pictures Political Aspects Latin America
Motion Pictures Brazil
Motion Pictures Brazilian
Videos and DVDs are shelved according to Library of Congress call number, and are kept in the Recreational Materials area of the library.
To locate the call number of a film do the following:
Know the title of the work?
Try a TITLE search.
Example: Cape Fear [title]
Know the subject area?
Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording].
Example: Korean War [the subject]
You can also limit the search by video.
Know the performer or director?
Try an AUTHOR search.
Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]
Want a listing of all of our DVDs?
Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.
In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):
Recommended Databases for Film Studies
EBSCOHost
Try clicking on the boxes next to Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities International Index, MLA International Bibliography, and Newspaper Source to search these databases simultaneously. General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations.FIAF International FilmArchive Database
Film subject database; primarily citations.Handbook of Latin American Studies
A searchable index of books, journal & magazine articles, and other resources on the subject of Latin American studies. This database consists of items selected and reviewed by Latin American studies scholars and is maintained by the Library of Congress.Ingenta
Indexes several major film studies journals; very simple searching capabilities.JSTOR
Good film coverage; predominantly full text.Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2001.WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Suggested Searches in the Databases
"imperfect cinema"
"santiago alvarez"
"amores perros"
"new latin american cinema"
"like water for chocolate"bunuel and mexic*
cuba* and documentar*
cinema and "latin america"
"city of god" and meirelleschilean and (film or cinema)
"che guevara" and (film or cinema)"latin america*" and (cinema* or film* or movie* or "motion picture*")
"latin america*" and (cinema or film) and adapt*
"latin america*" and (film or cinema) and wom?n
"latin america*" and (film or cinema) and (audience or reception or spectator*)
If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.
To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:
Here is a guide to help you understand the differences among popular, trade, and peer-reviewed (or academic or scholarly) articles:
http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/topic/articletypes.html
When searching, most databases have peer-reviewed (or academic or scholarly) limits that can be applied in order to retrieve only those results from journals that undergo a peer-review process.
When in doubt: