this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Course Guide: SPN 495/595 - Immigration in the Spanish-Speaking World

Contact Information

Contact the Foreign Languages Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Fall 2007
Wednesdays, 3-4pm | Thursdays, 10-11am
Randall #2080

Tuesdays, 4-5pm | Thursdays, 4-5pm
CAB #1048

Return to top

 

Glossary of Terms

Finding census data is not hard -- the trick is to find data that is relevant to your research. The best way to accomplish this task is to be sure to read all instructions, scope notes, and guidelines that accompany the tables and datasets you consult so you will know how best to read and interpret the data. Definitions and terms can change from census to census -- it is important to know and understand what you are looking at before you can make connections and draw conclusions from comparing data.

U. S. Census Bureau | Current Population Survey - Definitions and Explanations
http://www.census.gov/population/www/cps/cpsdef.html

U.S. Census Bureau | Geographic Changes for Census 2000 + Glossary
http://www.census.gov/geo/www/tiger/glossary.html

U.S. Census Bureau | Decennial Management Division Glossary
http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/glossary.html

Centro de Evaluacion | Census Glossary
http://casr.ou.edu/border/census_glossary.htm

Return to top

 

General Immigration Data

Library Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States


This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Pre-Colonial America - present
(more information on Historical Statistics of the United States)

LexisNexis Statistical


U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
ASI: 1973 - present
SRI: 1980 - present
IIS: 1983 - present
(more information on Statistical Universe)

Recommended Internet Sites

University of Virginia Library | Historical Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/

U.S. Census Bureau | Immigration
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/immigration.html

University at Buffalo Libraries | Race and Hispanic Origin: 2000 v. Earlier Censuses
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/lml/govdocsubj/census2000/census2000.html#race

Department of Homeland Security | Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
http://www.dhs.gov/ximgtn/statistics/publications/yearbook.shtm

U.S. Census Bureau | "Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990"
http://www.census.gov/population/www/documentation/twps0029/twps0029.html

U.S. Census Bureau | The Foreign-Born Population: 2000
http://www.census.gov/prod/2003pubs/c2kbr-34.pdf

Print Resources

Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service: Link to Record

Demographic trends in the 20th century: Link to Record

Return to top

 

State Immigration Data

Library Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States


This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Pre-Colonial America - present
(more information on Historical Statistics of the United States)

LexisNexis Statistical


U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
ASI: 1973 - present
SRI: 1980 - present
IIS: 1983 - present
(more information on Statistical Universe)

Recommended Internet Sites

U.S. Census Bureau | State & County QuickFacts
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/index.html

Center for Immigration Studies | Where Immigrants Live
http://www.cis.org/articles/2003/back1203.html

U.S. Census Bureau | Immigration
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/immigration.html

StateMaster.com | US States
http://www.statemaster.com/states

FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/

Print Resources

Historical Statistics of the United States: Link to Record

Statistical Abstract of the United States: Link to Record

Characteristics of the Population: Located in the Government Documents collection
Call # C 3.223, then arranged by state
For help finding and using these documents, visit the Government Documents office

Return to top

 

Hispanic/Latino Population Data

Recommended Internet Sites

U.S. Census Bureau | Hispanic Population of the United States
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/hispanic.html

U.S. Census Bureau | American Community Survey
http://factfinder.census.gov/servlet/DatasetMainPageServlet?_program=ACS&_submenuId=&_lang=en&_ts=

U.S. Census Bureau | Facts on the Hispanic or Latino Population
http://www.census.gov/pubinfo/www/NEWhispML1.html

U.S. Census Bureau | Hispanic Businesses
http://www.census.gov/csd/mwb/

University at Buffalo Libraries | Race and Hispanic Origin: 2000 v. Earlier Censuses
http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/lml/govdocsubj/census2000/census2000.html#race

U.S. Census Bureau | Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity
http://www.census.gov/population/cen2000/atlas/censr01-1.pdf

U.S. Census Bureau | The Hispanic Population: 2000
http://www.census.gov/prod/2001pubs/c2kbr01-3.pdf

Print Resources

Characteristics of the Population: Located in the Government Documents collection
Call # C 3.223, then arranged by state
For help finding and using these documents, visit the Government Documents office

Return to top

 

Graphing Resources

Library Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States


This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Pre-Colonial America - present
(more information on Historical Statistics of the United States)

Return to top

 

Finding News and Legislation Information

Library Databases

America's Newspapers


A full-text database of select state and regional newspapers.
(more information on America's Newspapers)

LexisNexis Academic


News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information on LexisNexis)

LexisNexis Tip:

  1. Click on "Sources" tab, then "Browse Sources" button.
  2. For #1, select "Publication Type."
  3. For #2, select "United States" from dropdown menu, then desired region or state from "All Regions" dropdown menu.
  4. For #3, click on the "News" folder, then click on the "Newspapers" folder.
  5. Finally, check the boxes for the newspaper titles that interest you and click "OK continue" button.
  6. You are now ready to type in your search terms and your search will limit to those newspaper titles.

Alternative Press Index


Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present
(more information on Alternative Press Index)

Alternative Press Index Archive


Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1969 - 1990
(more information on Alternative Press Index Archive)

Ethnic NewsWatch


Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information on Ethnic NewsWatch)

Recommended Internet Sites

Center for Immigration Studies | Home Page
http://www.cis.org/index.cgi

FindLaw | State Codes
http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/#statelaw

FindLaw Tip:

  1. Click on your desired state.
  2. Then click on the "Legislature" or "Bill Information" links provided.

Google Uncle Sam
http://www.google.com/ig/usgov

 

Return to top


Last Update: 18 September, 2007 20:12