this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Gerontology - Databases



Primary Contact:
Lisa Williams
Email:
williamsl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-3688
IM Chat Name:
AIM: limi1999
YAHOO: lisawil_99

Start Here

Other Suggestions

Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
1975 – present
(more information)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present

Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies.

CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with full-text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Print version : 1977-1981

1982 - Present
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.

Health Source Plus: Consumer Edition
Consumer health journals, and general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Subjects covered include behavioral health, cardiology, sports medicine and more.
Indexing 1984-current; full text 1990-current
(more information)

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)

Lexis-Nexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)

MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

PAIS Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
1915 - 1976
(more information)

PAIS International
This database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
1972 - present
(more information)

Population Index on the Web
Annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Go to JSTOR for pre-1986 full text articles

PsycARTICLES
The database contains more than 39,000 searchable full text articles from 44 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 52 journals
1985 - present
(more information)

ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection. 1995 - present
(more information)

SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.

State Data Center
North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.
Free

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: February 21, 2006