this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Health and Applied Human Sciences - Databases



Primary Contact:
Lisa Williams
Email:
williamsl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-3688
IM Chat Name:
AIM: limi1999
YAHOO: lisawil_99

Start Here

Other Suggestions

ABI Inform
Provides abstracts of articles from international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines on U.S. and international subjects in business and management.
1971 - present

Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. 
1975 – present
(more information)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present

BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is essential for all life sciences researchers. BIOSIS Previews directs users to information on life science topics from botany to microbiology to pharmacology, serving to connect researchers with critical journal coverage. BIOSIS Previews indexes articles from over 3,700 serials each year.
1926 - present
(more information)

Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies.

CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with full-text is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Print version : 1977-1981

1982 - Present
(more information)

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

ERIC via CSA
Citations to articles and reports in education.
1966 to present
(more information)

ERIC via EBSCOHost
Citations to articles and reports in education.
1966 to present
(more information)

Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.

Health Source Plus: Nursing Edition
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
1975 - present
(more information)

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)

LeisureTourism.com
An archive of worldwide information in the research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services.
One simultaneous user
1976 - present
(more information)

LexisNexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)

MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

Physical Education Index
Provides abstracts to a wide variety of content in the area of Physical Education, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
1970 - present
(more information)

PsycARTICLES
The database contains more than 39,000 searchable full text articles from 44 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 52 journals
1985 - present
(more information)

Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Select Health Source Plus: Nursing/Academic Edition.

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: January 31, 2008