Literature Search for REC majors
| AUDIENCE | Scholarly and professional |
| AUTHOR | Academic credentials--do not make living as writers. |
| APPEARANCE | Dull, few ads--often sponsored by an academic society |
| CONTENT (TOPIC & DOCUMENTATION) | Highly specialized; many footnotes &/or charts and graphs |
| LANGUAGE (VOCABULARY) | Learned reading level--specialized vocabulary. |
Randall
Library's Periodical
Collection
Print Collection:
Located on Current Periodicals--to the left, beyond the
Circulation Desk, after you enter the Library
Bound Periodicals--the back-half of the library
Microfilm Periodicals--between the Reference Desk and the
Bound Periodicals
On-Line Collection:
Available through using the first
group of computers next to the reference desk..
Databases for REC:
Interdisciplinary -- EbscoHost and
InfoTrac Onefile
Specialized-- CINAHL, PsycInfo,
SportDiscus, Medline, ERIC, GeoRef
Accessing On-Line databases for citations to articles and for full-text articles
From the Library's Home Page (library.uncwil.edu),
select "Database and Article Searching." Databases are listed in
alphabetical order.
Search Statements
Consists of a) literal words
and b) logical words
Literal words are key words
that are important to the topic. For instance, you want information on
head injuries that result
from skiing accidents. The literal (key) words
you should choose would be "head," "injuries," and
"skiing."
Logical words, also called
"operators," instruct the system to retrieve records containing the
literal words according to the
logic assigned.
AND=retrieves
records containing BOTH words. For instance, the search statement,
"head and injury and skiing,"
retrieves records that contain all
three words. AND is restrictive.
OR=retrieves
records containing EITHER word. For instance, the search statement,
"injury or injuries," retrieves records
containing either
"injury" or "injuries." The records do not have to
contain both words. OR is expansive.
If you leave an operator out of the statement, most systems
search for the words as a phrase. For instance, if you key in
"head injury," most systems retrieve records that
contain both words "head" and "injury," and the two words
appear beside
each other.
Sample Search Statements
head and injury and skiing
head and (injury or injuries) and
skiing
head injury and skiing
Specialized Databases (these databases can be found in the Databases link
http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html
on the
Randall Library home page)
These databases do not provide full-text
articles. You must locate the article in the library. If the library
does not own a
subscription to the periodical you need, you may
request a copy of the article through Interlibrary
Loan. Please allow 2 - 3
weeks for the article to arrive.
A. SportDiscus
To retrieve articles that come from
research and scholarly periodicals, use le=advanced.
Sample Search Statement: head
and injury and skiing and le=advanced
To limit searches to journal articles
only, select "Advanced Search." Enter search statement in
the first box. Scroll
down the screen until you see the box
labeled "Special limiters for ERIC." At the box labeled
"Journal or Document,"
click on the arrow and select
"Journal Articles."
B. PsycInfo--Guide
to PsycInfo
To retrieve only periodical articles,
use dt=journal-article
To retrieve articles that are
literature reviews, use literature-review in de
Sample Search Statements: dt=journal
article and head and injury
head and injury and literature-review in de
To limit searches to journal articles
only, select "Advanced Search." Enter search statement in
the first box. Scroll
down the screen until you see the box
labeled "Special limiters for ERIC." At the box labeled
"Journal or Document,"
click on the arrow and select
"Journal Articles."
C. Medline (available through ScienceDirect and PubMED)
D. ERIC--Guide
to ERIC
Materials Indexed In Eric:
ED Documents
(unpublished and on microfiche)
EJ Documents
(articles in periodicals)
To limit searches to journal articles
only, select "Advanced Search." Enter search statement in
the first box. Scroll
down the screen until you see the box
labeled "Special limiters for ERIC." At the box labeled
"Journal or Document,"
click on the arrow and select
"Journal Articles."
E. CINAHL--Guide
to CINAHL
To retrieve scholarly articles in
CINAHL,
1.
Press Advanced Search from the initial screen.
2. In
the first box, key in the words "research."
3. In the box to the right, press the arrow and select "Document
Type Phrase."
4. In the next box, enter your key words and appropriate operators.
5. In the boxes labeled "Limit to Type:" select, "Journal."
6. Press Start Search.
F. GeoRef--Guide
to GeoRef
To retrieve articles from periodicals, use the following
search strategy:
land use and park and dt=serial not (dt=conference-document
or dt=abstract)
Interdisciplinary Databases
You may get some full-text articles from these
databases, EbscoHost and InfoTrac OneFile. Because the databases are
interdisciplinary, they may not provide as many
articles as you need. Supplement your searches with specialized databases.
Last Update: December 12, 2005