Class Guide: REC 351
2. Resources for Economic, Customer and Industry Information
Country Commercial Guides: Annual publications prepared by U.S. Embassies with assistance from a variety of government agencies. The reports provide an expansive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. They are available via the internet from the U.S. State department at http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/business/com_guides and available through Export.gov at http://www.usatrade.gov/website/ccg.nsf. They are also available through Stat-USA.
Country Studies/Area Handbooks: The Country Studies collection presents descriptions and analysis of the "historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of counties throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors." The original series was designed to provide information on lesser known areas of the world. As a result the series is not all-inclusive. Over 100 countries are covered but Canada, France, the United Kingdom, other Western nations, and a number of African nations are not covered. They are available through the internet from http://memory.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html or http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
World Fact Book: The World Fact Book is published by the Central Intelligence Agency from information gathered by the organization. It provides a wealth of demographic, social, and economic information on each country. Use the field Listing link at the top of the page to help you locate what information is available in what section of the report. It is available online from the CIA website at http://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/. A print copy is located in the Reference Collection under the call number Ref G122.U56
| Type of Information | Country Commercial Guides | Country Studies/Area Handbooks | World Fact Book | |
| Demographics | ||||
| Population Size | Y | Y | Y | |
| Age | N | Y | Y | |
| Literacy/Education | N | Y | Y | |
| Income Distribution | N | Y | Y (not by %) | |
| Economics | ||||
| Inflation | Y | N | Y | |
| GDP per capita | Y | Some | Y | |
| GDP real growth | Y | Y | Y | |
| Geographic Data | ||||
| Climate | N | Y | Y | |
| Political Divisions | N | Y | Y | |
| Product Usage Data | ||||
| Social Class/Family | N | Some | N | |
| Ethnicity | Some | Y | Y | |
| Language | Y | Y | Y | |
| Religion | Y | Y | Y | |
| Industry/Market Information | ||||
| Competitive Analysis | N | N | N | |
| Distribution Channels | Y | N | N | |
| Pricing | Y | N | N | |
| Marketing Promotion | Y | N | N | |
| Communications | Some | Y | Y | |
| Trade Data on Imports | Y | N | Y | |
| Transportation | Some | Y | Y |
Adapted from: Tims, Betty J. and Vaughan C. Judd. "International Marketing and Electronic Government Sources: A Collaborative Research Strategy Workshop." Reference Services Review 29 (2): Summer 2001, pp.157-164.
3. Databases for Cultural Information
| Citations to anthropology articles with search engine. (1957-current) | |
| Citations to anthropology and archaeology, some art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. (19th cen.-current) | |
| Leisuretourism.com abstracts database brings together an archive of worldwide information for all those interested in the research and strategic development of leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities, products and services (1974 to the present). |
|
|