this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Age of Brave Heart: Sources for Historical Analysis

Background and Overview

These reference tools are useful for getting a quick overview of a topic. Use these resources to familiarize yourself with the important issues, terms, dates, and trends in the subject area.

Encyclopedias
The Cambridge medieval history. - REF D117 .C3 1924
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. - REF D114 .D5 1982
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. - REF D114 .E53 2000
English mediaeval monasteries, 1066-1540 : a summary. – REF BX2592 .M48 1979
Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present. Volume 2: The medieval world. - REF GT31 .G74 2004
Illustrated encyclopedia of medieval civilization. - REF CB353 .G7
The Middle Ages : a concise encyclopaedia. - REF CB351 .M565 1989

Dictionaries :
Dictionary of medieval knighthood and chivalry. Concepts and terms. - REF CR4505 .B76 1986
Dictionary of medieval knighthood and chivalry : people, places, and events. - REF CR4505 .B76 1988
Medieval wordbook. - REF CB351 .C63 1996

Chronologies:
Chronology of the medieval world : 800 to 1491. - REF D118 .S855 1994
Chronology of world history. Volume 1. Ancient and medieval world, prehistory-AD 1491. - REF D11 .M39 1999

Atlases :
Atlas of medieval Europe. - REF G1791 .M37 1983

Subject Headings

The library catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. The list of authorized subject headings is available in the 5-volume set at the Reference Desk. However, you can start with keyword searches to gather some relevant titles, then look at their subject headings to discover the official terms to use.

Here are some subject headings related to Medieval history:

Aesthetics, Medieval
Archaeology, Medieval
Architecture, Medieval
Armor, Medieval
Art, Medieval [Also various specific types of art,
e.g., Altarpieces, Medieval
Artists, Medieval
Astronomy, Medieval
Authors, Medieval
Biography -- Middle Ages, 500-1500
Bookbinding, Medieval
Bridges, Medieval
Chivalry
Christian sects, Medieval
Church history -- Middle Ages
Cities and towns, Medieval
Civilization, Medieval
Cookery, Medieval
Cosmology, Medieval
Criticism, Medieval
Drama, Medieval
Education, Medieval
Ethics, Medieval
Etiquette, Medieval
Europe -- History -- 476-1492

Feudalism
Fourteenth Century
Funeral rites and ceremonies, Medieval
Geography, Medieval
Knights and knighthood
Literature, Medieval
Manuscripts, Latin (Medieval and modern)
Manuscripts, Medieval
Marriage customs and rites, Medieval
Medicine, Medieval
Medieval music
Medievalism
Middle Ages
Military art and science -- History -- Medieval, 500-1500
Military history, Medieval
Nobility -- Education, Medieval
Philosophy, Medieval
Rhetoric, Medieval
Rites and ceremonies, Medieval
Satire, Medieval
Science, Medieval
Tales, Medieval
Thirteenth Century
Tournaments, Medieval
Travel, Medieval
Women -- Education, Medieval
[Subdivision] History -- To 1500

More on Subject Searching:

Journal Databases & Indexes
Use these databases and journal indexes to search for articles in journals and magazines.

International Medieval Bibliography
Bibliography of articles in journals and conference proceedings, essay collections, etc.

Historical Abstracts
Humanities International Index

JSTOR
Full-text searching of an archive of over 40 history and 25 political science journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.

Print Indexes
International Index to Periodical Literature (1907-1965) Index AI3 .R5
Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974) Index AI3.R5
Humanities Index (1974-1984 - continues online) Index AI3 .R525

More Databases
These databases lead to other useful information. The descriptions provide details on the publications types they lead to: WorldCat
The union catalog of over 9,000 member libraries. Over one billionbibliographic records for books, periodicals, videos, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, and internet resources. Includes information on which libraries own an item, and links to the Randall Library Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad).
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
This resource indexes more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. After you find which resources contain a biographical sketch you need, search the online catalog for the book. References to Biography Index (Index CT100 .B6) will ultimately lead to books, book chapters or periodical articles.

Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.
Royal Historical Society Bibliography Searchable bibliography of books, articles in books and articles in journals, published since 1900 dealing with the history of the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

Guides to the Literature & Specialized Bibliographies

A Bibliography of English history to 1485. - REF Z2017 .B5
Bibliography of English translations from medieval sources. - REF Z6517 .F3
Bibliography of English translations from medieval sources, 1943-1967. - REF Z6517 .F47
A guide to the study of medieval history. - REF D117 .P284 1964
The high Middle Ages in England, 1154-1377. - REF DA205.W54
Literature of medieval history, 1930-1975 : a supplement to Louis John Paetow's A guide to the study of medieval history. - REF D117 .B66 1981
Medieval monasticism : a select bibliography. - REF and General Collections BX2470 .C58 1976
Medieval science and technology: a selected, annotated bibliography. - REF Q124.97 .K73 1985
Medieval studies : a bibliographical guide. - REF CB351.C69 1983 Writings on British History. UNCW Index DA30 .W7

Chancery Records

Calendar of the charter rolls preserved in the Public Record Office, Henry III - Henry VIII. UNCW General Collection DA25 .D3 1972
Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office, Edward IV, Edward V, and Richard III, A.D. 1476-1485 . General Collection DA25 .D3285 1980
Calendar of the Fine rolls preserved in the Public Record Office (Edward I through Henry IV). General Collection DA25 .D33 1971
Calendar of various Chancery rolls : supplementary Close rolls, Welsh rolls, Scutage rolls, A.D. 1277-1326. General Collection DA25 .D38 1976
Henry III, 1216-1272: Close rolls of the reign of Henry III. : preserved in the Public record office. General Collection DA25 .D3267 1970x
Patent rolls of the reign of Henry III : preserved in the Public Record Office. General Collection DA25 .C5 1971
Edward I, 1272-1307: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record office : Edward I, 1272-[1307]. General Collection DA25 .D325 1971
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office: Edward I, 1272-1307. General Collection DA25 .C52 1971
Edward II, 1307-1327: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Edward II, A.D. 1307-[1327]. General Collection DA25 .D32561971
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office: Edward II. General Collection DA25 .C53 1971
Edward III, 1327-1377: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office: Edward III, A. D. 1327-[1377]. General Collection DA25 .D327 1972
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office: Edward III. General Collection DA25 .C94 1971
Richard II, 1377-1399: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Richard II. General Collection DA25 .D32 1972
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Richard II. General Collection DA25 .C941 1971
Henry IV, 1399-1413: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Henry IV, A.D. 1399-[1413] General Collection DA25 .D322 1971
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Henry IV. General Collection DA25 .C945 1971
Henry V, 1413-1422: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Henry V. General Collection DA25 .D324 1971
Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office : Henry V. General Collection DA25 .C949 1971
Henry VI, 1422-1461: Calendar of the patent rolls, preserved in the Public Record Office : Henry VI, A.D. 1422-[1461]. General Collection DA25 .D3275 1971

More Primary Sources

See the guide Finding Primary Resources for Historical Research for a more complete discussion of the library's resources. WARNING: Some of the library's primary source material added before the 1980s do not include the subject indicator Sources as they should. The catalog department will be working to enhance the records to include this indicator. This list will continue to grow.

Annales monastici. General Collection DA25 .B5 no.36
Chronica monasterii de Melsa. General Collection DA25 .B5 no.43
Chronicle of Froissart. General Collection D113 .F75
Chronicon monasterii de Abingdon. General Collection DA25 .B5 no.2 1968
A Documentary history of England. General Collection DA26 .D55
Documents in English history : early times to the present. General Collection DA26 .B55
Documents illustrative of English church history. General Collection BR741 .G3
Documents illustrating the history of civilization in medieval England, 1066-1500. General Collection DA170 .D3 1969
English constitutional documents, 1307-1485. General Collection JN111 .L6 1972
English historical documents. - REF DA26 .E56
The illustrated chronicles of Matthew Paris : observations of thirteenth-century life. General Collection DA220 .P2213 1993
The King's messengers 1199-1377 : a list of all known messengers, mounted and unmounted, who served John, Henry III, and the first three Edwards. - General Collection DA170 .H55 1994
Knighton's Chronicle 1337-1396. General Collection DA170 .K55 1995
Life in a medieval college; the story of the Vicars-Choral of York Minster. - General Collection BX5195.Y6 H28
Monasticum Anglicanum. - Oversize Collection BX2592 .D84
Publications of the Pipe roll society. - General Collection DA200 .P66 1966
Registrum malmesburiense. The register of Malmesbury Abbey. - General Collection DA25 .B5 no.72 1965
Year Books of the Reign of King Edward the First. - General Collection DA25 .B5 no. 31 pt.1 1964

More Web Resources
The free web is becoming a rich resource for research. In particular, try these resources:

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval StudiesBrowse by category and narrow your search by material type if you wish. Developed at Georgetown University.

NetSerf: The Internet connection for medieval resources.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexA work in progress from the Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship at Haverford College, this index covers over 450 journals, for the years 1992 to 2002. It is not limited to women's studies, but indexes articles about gender and sexuality including masculinity and homosexuality during the time period 450 C.E to 1500 C.E (for Russia extending to 1613).

ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies A peer-reviewed site providing encyclopedia articles, textbooks (copyrighted but available for classroom use), teaching resources (syllabi and classroom handouts), links to bibliographies, images and documents, and transcription/translations of important medieval texts. Crime and punishment


Last Update: January 25, 2008