this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Slavery & Serfdom

Background and Overview

These reference tools are useful for getting a quick overview of a topic. Use these resources to familiarize yourself with the important issues, terms, dates, and trends in the subject area.

Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery - REF E441 .D53 1997
The Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery. - REF HT861 .H57 1997
A Historical Guide to World Slavery. - REF HT861 .H59 1998
Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery - REF HT861 .M24 1998
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History. - REF DK14 .M6

Subject Headings
The library catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. The list of authorized subject headings is available in the 5-volume set at the Reference Desk. However, you can start with keyword searches to gather some relevant titles, then look at their subject headings to discover the official terms to use. Here are some subject headings related to slavery and serfdom:

Antislavery movements
Child slaves
Forced labor
Freedmen
Fugitive slaves
Galley slaves
Indian slaves
Older slaves
Runaway serfs
Serfdom
Serfdom in art
Serfdom in literature
Serfs
Slave insurrections
Slave traders
Slaveholders
Slavery
Slavery and Islam
Slavery and Judaism
Slavery and the church Slavery in art
Slavery in literature
Slavery in motion pictures
Slavery in rabbinical literature
Slavery in the Bible
Slavery in the Koran
Slaves
Slaves' writings
Women slaves

More on Subject Searching:

Catalogers use the most precise subject heading to describe a publication. For instance, a book on runaway slaves will carry the subject heading "Fugitive slaves" may not also have the heading "Slaves." However, most publications on slaves probably also discuss runaways. Searching both broad and narrow headings and looking for related headings will yield better results. Just because an item's subject heading does not include "History" as a subdivision does not mean it has no history in it. In particular, look at the publication date. It may be a source contemporary to the period, i. e., a primary source. Even if you are doing a keyword search, using phrases from the subject headings typically improves the relevance of your results.

Browsing

After finding some sources through searching the online catalog, be sure to browse the shelves near these times. The call numbers are devised to place materials on the same subject together on the shelf. In the catalog, the call number is presented as a link, so you can even browse the shelves when searching the catalog:

You may also wish to browse the Reference Collection to see what special sources are available. A basic outline of the Library of Congress Classification Scheme is at http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/topic/callnumbers.html . For more detail, see the outline from the Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/lcco.html

Journal Databases & Indexes
Use these databases and journal indexes to search for articles in journals and magazines.

America: History & Life Indexes and summarizes articles and reviews published since 1954 in over 2,000 history journals.
Historical Abstracts Indexes and summarizes article and reviews about world history since 1450 published since 1954 in over 1, 700 journals.
Humanities International Index Citations to journal articles about art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and world history, published since 1983. For earlier indexing, consult the print version.
JSTOR Full-text searching of an archive of over 40 history and 25 political science journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.

PRINT INDEXES
International Index to Periodical Literature (1907-1965) INDEX AI3 .R5
Social Sciences & Humanities Index (1965-1974) INDEX AI3.R5
Humanities Index (1974-1984 - continues online) INDEX AI3 .R525

More Databases
These databases lead to other useful information. The descriptions provide details on the publications types they lead to: WorldCat Over one billion bibliographic records for books, periodicals, videos, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, and internet resources. Includes information on which libraries own an item, and links to the Randall Library Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad).

Biography & Genealogy Master Index This resource indexes more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. After you find which resources contain a biographical sketch you need, search the online catalog for the book. References to Biography Index (Index CT100 .B6) will ultimately lead to books, book chapters or periodical articles.

Bibliographies & Guides to the Literature

Black Slavery in the Americas: An Interdisciplinary Bibliography, 1865-1980.- REF HT1049 .S5 1982
Russian Autocrats from Ivan the Great to the Fall of the Romanov Dynasty: An Annotated Bibliography of English Language Sources to 1985 - REF DK100 .E35 1987.
Slave Life in America: A Historiography and Selected Bibliography - REF E443 .O44
Slavery and Slaving in World History: A Bibliography, 1900-1991. - REF HT861 .M544 1993

Primary Sources

See the guide Finding Primary Resources for Historical Research for a more complete discussion of the library's resources. For public policy history, be sure to consider the following searches and sources:

Search the Randall Library catalog and WorldCat for policy makers' names as authors . This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence.

As you search subject topics in the catalog and WorldCat, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source material:

correspondence *
diaries *
interviews *
personal narratives
pictorial works
songs and music
sources
speeches, addresses, etc.*
treaties

Databases of Primary Source Material

American Slavery "American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography" is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States complied from nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Colonial to 1950 Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.

Newspapers and Popular Magazines can provide both factual information and insight on the prevailing views of the period.

Online:

New York Times Archive Full-image online access for the NYT back to 1851.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle This website provides full-text images of articles published from 1841 to 1902. This was the most widely read afternoon newspaper in the U.S. during the Civil War.
HarpWeek (1857-1877)
Making of America There are two collections in the Making of America project:
Cornell University's MoA
collection includes 22 periodicals, 1815-1901, and 109 monographs.
MoA at the University of Michigan provides online access to approximately 8,500 books and 11 periodicals, 1831-1900.
Pennsylvania Gazette. 1728-1800. "The New York Times of the 18th Century."

PRINT INDEXES:
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, (1802-1907) INDEX AI3. P7
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (from 1890) INDEX AI3 .R48
Palmer's Index to the Times (1801-1925) and the Official Index to the Times [London] INDEX AI21 T458
Virginia Gazette Index (1736-1780) INDEX AI21 .V5

The library has several sets of manuscript microfilm you may find useful. Guides to the collections are kept on top of the microform cabinets.

Annual report and proceedings, Massachusetts Anti-Slavery Society. Mfilm-Periodical (1833-1856)
Annual report of the American Colonization Society. Mfilm-Periodical (1818-1910)
Annual report of the American Anti-Slavery Society. Mfilm-Periodical (1834-1860)
Ohio Anti-slavery Society. Report of anniversary. Mfilm-Periodical (1836-1840)
American women's diaries. Microfilm CT3260 .A435
Baird, Robert. The progress and prospects of Christianity in the United State of America [microform] : with remarks on the subject of slavery in America ; and on the intercourse between British and American Churches. Microfilm BL2530.U6 R44 1976 REEL 6
Clitherall, Caroline Elizabeth Burgwin . Diaries, 1751-1860. Microfilm CS71 .C44 1751a
De Rosset family. Papers, 1671-1940. Microfilm HQ1438.A13 S64 1991 Series A.
Kenan family. Papers, 1748-1979. Microfilm HQ1438.A13 S64 1991 Series A.
Matlack, Lucius C. The history of American slavery and Methodism, from 1780 to 1849. Microfilm BL2530.U6 R44 1976 REEL 28
Owen, John. Papers, 1749-1873. Microfilm CS71 .O93 1814a
Priest, Josiah. Bible defence of slavery, or, The origin, history, and fortunes of the Negro race, as deduced from history, both sacred and profane, their natural relations--moral, mental, and physical--to the other races of mankind, compared and illustrated--their future destiny predicted, etc. Microfilm BL2530.U6 R44 1976 REEL 36
Records of ante-bellum Southern plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War. Microfilm F213 .R42
Records of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior relating to the suppression of the African slave trade and Negro colonization, 1854-1872. Microfilm E448 .U42 1949
A relation of seaven yeares slaverie under the Turkes of Argeire, suffered by an English captive merchant. Microfilm Z2002.P64 E27 Reel 1108
Southern women and their families in the 19th century, papers and diaries. Microfilm HQ1438.A13 S64
State slavery statutes. Microfiche KF4545.S5 A127 1989
A True narrative of a wonderful accident which occur'd upon the execution of a Christian slave at Aleppo in Turky. Microfilm Z2002.W55 E27 Reel 853
A True relation of the inhumane and unparallel'd actions and barbarous murders of Negroes or Moors committed on three English-men in
Old Calabar in Guinny. Microfilm Z2002.W55 E27 Reel 853

More Web Resources

The free web is becoming a rich resource for primary source material. In particular, try these resources:

American Memory Project
The Library of Congress digital contains text, photographs, audio and video on U.S. History.

Documenting the American South An extensive collection of primary source material digitized from the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill.

Encyclopedia of Slavery . A British site with excerpts of slave narratives and articles about the slave system, slave life, events and issues and campaigners against slavery.

In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives
An index to English language personal narratives published or available on the web. It aims to be "the most comprehensive archive of social memory ever created."

Internet Modern History Sourcebook Links to both primary and secondary sources on the web relating to many aspects of modern history.


Last Update: March 14, 2006