The North Carolina Department of Archives & History has issued a draft version of the
1898 Wilmington Race Riot Commission Report. Randall Library will have a paper copy soon, but in the meantime, view the report online:
http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/1898-wrrc/
Listen to the NPR segment about the report at:
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=5058737
This guide lists resources available in Randall Library, and is not intended to
be a comprehensive bibliography on the subject. However, Randall Library wishes
to make its collection as complete as possible. We welcome suggestions for
additional material.
The Library of Congress Subject Headings for this incident are:
Wilmington (N.C.) -- Riot, 1898
Riots -- North Carolina -- Wilmington -- History -- 19th century
Related headings are:
Wilmington (N.C.) -- Race relations
African Americans -- North Carolina -- Wilmington -- History -- 19th century
Non-Fiction Books:
Democracy Betrayed: The Wilmington Race Riot of 1898 and Its Legacy - General Collection F264.W7 D46 1998, SENC-Books F264.W7 D46 1998
The Negro and Fusion Politics in North Carolina, 1894-1901 - General Collection E185.93 N6 E4 1973
Gender and Jim Crow: Women and the Politics of White Supremacy in North Carolina, 1896-1920 -
General Collection E185.93 N6 G55 1996
Narrative, Political Unconscious and Racial Violence in Wilmington, North Carolina - General Collection
We Have Taken a City : Wilmington Racial Massacre and Coup of 1898 - General Collection F263.5 .P7 1984 SENC-Books F263.5 .P7 1984
"Strength Through Struggle": The Chronological and Historical Record of the African-American Community in Wilmington, North Carolina 1865-1950. - REF F264.W7 R42 1998, General Collection F264.W7 R42 1998 c.2,c.3,c.4 SENC-Books F264.W7 R42 1998 c.5,c.6 Upperman F264.W7 R42 1998
White Violence and Black Response: From Reconstruction to Montgomery Amherst - General Collection E185.2.S521988
When whites riot : writing race and violence in American and South African cultures. - General Collection E184 .A1 S664 2001 c.2. SENC-Books E184 .A1 S664 2001
Chronicles of the Cape Fear River, Being Some Account of Historic Events on the Cape Fear River. Special-Books F262.C2 S68
Chronicles of the Cape Fear River, 1660-1916. - REF Collection F262.C2 S68 1973 General Collection F262.C2 S68 1992, SENC-Books F262.C2 S68 1916 c.1,c.2, SENC-Books F262.C2 S68 1992 c.2
Some Memories of My Life. General Collection E664.W115 A3 SENC-Books E664.W115 A3 c.2
Dissertations, Theses, and Other Research Papers:
After the Storm : Racial Violence in Wilmington, North Carolina and Its Consequences for African Americans, 1898-1905 General Collection LD3971.7.H5 2000 .C62 c. 1, c. 3, Archives c. 2, c. 4, c. 5
The Wilmington Riot of November 10, 1898. - General Collection F263.5 .G45 c.2
SENC-Books F263.5 .G45 c.3
White Supremacy on the Cape Fear: The Wilmington Affair of 1898. - Microfilm F264.W7 H53 1980a
Precipitator of the Wilmington Race Riot of 1898. General Collection F263.5 .H62 1990
They Say the River Ran Red with Blood: Narrative, Political Unconscious and Racial Violence in Wilmington - General Collection F264.W7 H68 2003a
Gender, and Riot : the Wilmington, North Carolina White Supremacy Campaign of 1898 - General Collection F263.5 .K57 1996
The Wilmington Riot, November 10, 1898. - General Collection F263.5 .K6 c.2 SENC-Books F263.5 .K6 c.3
Wilmington's Political-Racial Revolution of 1898 : a Geographical and CartographicAnalysis of the Wilmington North Carolina Race Riot. - General Collection LD3971.7.H6 1993 .K72 c.1,c.3 Special-Archives LD3971.7.H6 1993 .K72 c.2
Politics in Wilmington and New Hanover County, North Carolina, 1865-1900: The Genesis of a Race Riot. - General Collection F263.5 .M3 1979a c.3, SENC-Books F263.5 .M3 1979a pt.1 c.2, pt.2 c.2; Reserves F263.5 .M3 1979 pt.2; Microfilm F263.5 .M3 1979
The Wilmington Riots of November 10, 1898. - General Collection F263.5 .M32 SENC-Books F263.5 .M32 c.2
Riot : Episodes of Racialized Violence in Africa and African American Culture. - General Collection PS374.N4 M38 1994, Microfilm PS374.N4 M38 1994
Unholy Minglings: Miscegenation and the White Revolution in Wilmington, North Carolina, 1898-1900. Microfilm LD3941.8.R63 1998 Reel 1
Race and Politics : the Evolution of the White Supremacy Campaign of 1898 in North Carolina. - General Collection E185.93.N6 W66 1977; Microfilm E185.93.N6 W66 1977
Novels
The Conspiracy of the Secret Nine. - Juvenile Fiction B61c; SENC-Juvenile B61c c.3; Upperman Collection B61c
The Marrow of Tradition. - General Collection PS1292.C6 M3 1969 c.1,c.2; Special-Books PS1292.C6 M3 1969; Internet Site
http://metalab.unc.edu/docsouth/chesnuttmarrow/chesmarrow.sgml
Cape Fear Rising. - Rec Reading PS3557.E635 C36 1994; General Collection PS3557.E635 C36 1994 c.2,c.3,c.4,c.5,c.6,c.7,c.9; SENC-Books PS3557.E635 C36 1994 c.8; Upperman Collection PS3557.E635 C36 1994
Hanover, or, The Persecution of the Lowly, a Story of the Wilmington Massacre. - General Collection PS3511.U6625 H3 1969
Periodical Articles
Voices at the Nadir: Charles Chesnutt and David Bryant Fulton American Literary Realism, 1870-1910 24, no. 3 (1992): 22-41.
The Vampire That Hovers Over North Carolina:' Gender, White Supremacy, and the Wilmington Race Riot of 1898 Southern Cultures 4, no.3 (1998): 6-30.
McLaurin, Melton. "Commemorating Wilmington's Racial Violence of 1898: From Individual to Collective Memory."
Southern Cultures 6, no. 4 (2000): 35-57.
Nash, June. "The Cost of Violence." Journal of Black Studies 4 (1973): 153-84.
Roe, Jae H. Keeping an 'Old Wound' Alive: The
Marrow of Tradition and the Legacy of Wilmington
African American Review 33, no. 2 (1999): 231-243
Rose, Mariel. Pocomoke: A Study in Remembering and Forgetting.
Ethnohistory 45, no. 3 (1998): 543-573.
Steelman, Bennett L. "Black, White and Gray: The Wilmington Race Riot in Fact and Legend." North Carolina Literary Review 2 (1994): 70-82.
Thomas, Larry Reni. "Was the Wilmington Race Riot of 1898 Another Rosewood ?" Urban Journal Magazine (December 1998).http://www.theurbanjournal.com/features/riots.html
Wagner, Bryan. "Charles Chesnutt and the Epistemology of Racial Violence.
American Literature 73 (2001): 311-337.
Newspapers of the Period:
All titles are located in the Microfilm Collection.
Caucasian Weekly (Clinton & Raleigh)
News & Observer (Raleigh)
Wilmington Messenger
Wilmington Morning Star
Wilmington Semi-Weekly Messenger
Wilmington Weekly Star
Manuscripts and Other Collections
1898 Centennial Foundation Commemoration Documents.
Special-Manuscript MS 217
Contains the official records of the 1898 Centennial Foundation, newspaper clippings about the commemoration activities, and some photocopies of reference materials about race relations and the 1898 racial violence.
Source Documents of the Wilmington Riot of November 10, 1898. (photocopy.) Special Collections,
Special-Manuscript
MS 69
Contains photocopies of newspaper clippings, correspondence, Resolution by " White People of Wilmington and New Hanover County " and memoirs by Thomas W. Clawson, George Rountree, B. F. Keith, and Rev. J. Allen Kirk.
Kirk, J. Allen.
Statement of the Facts Concerning the Bloody Riot in Wilmington, N.C., of Interest to Every Citizen in the United States. Wilmington, N.C.
http://docsouth.unc.edu/nc/kirk/menu.html
McDonald-Howe Family Papers, 1861-1966. Special Collections,
Special-Manuscript MS 34
Contains an undated eyewitness account of the violence by Mrs. N. McDonald Cotton, providing a rare account from an African American witness.
Moore, Susan Eugenia Beery, Wilmington, to an unnamed newspaper editor, n.d. Autograph letter signed. Special Collections, Special-Manuscript MS 130
Describes the involvement of Roger Moore, husband of Susan Eugenia Beery Moore, and Dr. J. E. Matthews during the Wilmington Riot of 1898.
Media
The 1898 Wilmington Racial Violence and Its Legacy [video recording] : A Symposium. SENC Video F263.5 .E53 1998 (5 video cassettes)
A video presentation of 1998 UNCW symposium lectures on 1898 riot in Wilmington, North Carolina.
Remembering 1898: Moving Forward Together, Wilmington, North Carolina: A
Community Effort Toward
Reconciliation. Produced and directed by Francine DeCoursey. Wilmington, NC: Restless Heart Productions, 2002. A/V Videocassettes F263.5 .R45 2002; SENC-Video F263.5 .R45 2002
Websites
Library of America. Charles W. Chesnutt.
http://www.loa.org/chesnutt/
North Carolina Election of 1898.
http://www.lib.unc.edu/ncc/1898/1898.html
State Library of North Carolina. North Carolina Encyclopedia: Alex Manly - Wilmington Race Riots.
http://statelibrary.dcr.state.nc.us/nc/bio/afro/riot.htm
Thomas, Shaun. For the Record: Representations of the Wilmington Massacre of 1898.
http://www.mith.umd.edu/courses/amvirtual/wilmington/wilmington.html
Umfleet, LeRae. 1898 Wilmington Race Riot Bibliography. Compiled by the Research Branch, North Carolina Office of Archives and History for the 1898 Wilmington Race
Riot Commission.
http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/1898-wrrc/bibliography.htm
Last Update: March 13, 2006