this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Black Death: Sources for Historical Analysis



Primary Contact:
Sue Cody
Email:
codys@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-7409
IM Chat Name:
AIM: sueann53

Background and Overview

This guide will focus on sources specifically useful for research in the Black Death pandemic of the 14th century, particularly in England.

Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (Oxford e-Reference edition)
The Cambridge medieval history. - REF D117 .C3 1924
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. - REF D114 .D5 1982
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. - REF D114 .E53 2000
English mediaeval monasteries, 1066-1540 : a summary. – REF BX2592 .M48 1979
Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present. Volume 2: The medieval world. - REF GT31 .G74 2004
Illustrated encyclopedia of medieval civilization. - REF CB353 .G7
The Middle Ages : a concise encyclopaedia. - REF CB351 .M565 1989

Dictionaries :
Dictionary of medieval knighthood and chivalry. Concepts and terms. - REF CR4505 .B76 1986
Dictionary of medieval knighthood and chivalry : people, places, and events. - REF CR4505 .B76 1988
Medieval wordbook. - REF CB351 .C63 1996

Chronologies:
Chronology of the medieval world : 800 to 1491. - REF D118 .S855 1994
Chronology of world history. Volume 1. Ancient and medieval world, prehistory-AD 1491. - REF D11 .M39 1999

Atlases :
Atlas of medieval Europe. - REF G1791 .M37 1983

Guides to the Literature & Specialized Bibliographies

A Bibliography of English history to 1485. - REF Z2017 .B5
Bibliography of English translations from medieval sources. - REF Z6517 .F3
Bibliography of English translations from medieval sources, 1943-1967. - REF Z6517 .F47
A guide to the study of medieval history. - REF D117 .P284 1964
The high Middle Ages in England, 1154-1377. - REF DA205.W54
Literature of medieval history, 1930-1975 : a supplement to Louis John Paetow's A guide to the study of medieval history. - REF D117 .B66 1981
Medieval monasticism : a select bibliography. - REF and General Collections BX2470 .C58 1976
Medieval science and technology: a selected, annotated bibliography. - REF Q124.97 .K73 1985
Medieval studies : a bibliographical guide. - REF CB351.C69 1983


Don't miss these documentary collections:

English Documents, Volume IV, 1327-1485. Reference DA26 .E56 v. 4

Calendar of the Fine rolls preserved in the Public Record Office (Edward I through Henry IV). General Collection DA25 .D33 1971

Edward III, 1327-1377: Calendar of the close rolls preserved in the Public Record Office: Edward III, A. D. 1327-[1377].
General Collection DA25 .D327 1972

Calendar of the patent rolls preserved in the Public Record Office: Edward III.
General Collection DA25 .C94 1971

Knighton's Chronicle 1337-1396. General Collection DA170 .K55 1995

Journal Databases & Indexes

In addition to the usual databases you use for historical research (e.g., Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, and Project MUSE, and WorldCat) be sure to try these databases:

Web Resources

Google Books and Google Scholar

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval StudiesBrowse by category and narrow your search by material type if you wish. Developed at Georgetown University.

NetSerf: The Internet connection for medieval resources.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index A work in progress from the Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship at Haverford College, this index covers over 450 journals, for the years 1992 to 2002. It is not limited to women's studies, but indexes articles about gender and sexuality including masculinity and homosexuality during the time period 450 C.E to 1500 C.E (for Russia extending to 1613).

ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies A peer-reviewed site providing encyclopedia articles, textbooks (copyrighted but available for classroom use), teaching resources (syllabi and classroom handouts), links to bibliographies, images and documents, and transcription/translations of important medieval texts.



Last Update: January 28, 2008

Page maintained by Sue Cody codys@uncw.edu