Colonialism in Southeast Asia: Sources for Historical Analysis
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Sue Cody |
| Email: |
| codys@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7409 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: sueann53 |
ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES:
Encyclopedia of Asian History. Reference DS31 .E53 1988
Historical dictionary of Singapore. Reference
DS610.4 .M85 1991
Historical dictionary of Vietnam.
Reference DS556.25 .D85 1989
With these historical dictionaries, be sure to use the index as well as the A-Z of entries. For instance, in the volume on Singapore, there is one article on "Women" and another for "Women's Charter" but there are nine entries in the Index under "Women." Also, check the appendices for useful information.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This online version of the Dictionary of National Biography (Reference DA28 .D472) has full-text search capabilities. Try a search on a colony, e.g., Singapore to find British subjects who were active there.
CQ Electronic Library Includes access to the Congressional Quarterly Almanac from 1945 to 2006 and Historic Documents from 1972 as well as other resources on the U.S. Congress.
Encyclopedia of war & American society Reference E181 .E634 2006
Historical Dictionary of the Vietnam War. Reference DS557.7 .M64 2001
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Bibliography of Asian Studies. Reference Z3001 .B49 (1969-1991)
American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature. Reference E183.7 .A43 2003 and online.
And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English. Reference CT25 .H38 1987
Vietnam. General Collection DS556.3 .M37 1992
The Wars in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos, 1945-1982. General Collection DS557.7 B875 1984
CHRONOLOGIES
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture. Reference DS33 .C63 2000
Randall Library Online Catalog: (Click on Search Catalog)
For access to materials in Randall Library: includes sophisticated search capabilities like limiting by language and format or combining subject headings. Also allows users to send search results to their email addresses.WorldCat is the union catalog of books, web resources, and other material located worldwide cataloged by OCLC member libraries (approximately 9,000 libraries.) Books in the catalog are generally available via Interlibrary Loan, and many of the websites are freely available.
Search Tips:
Imperialism (This term is used instead of Colonialism)
Southeast Asia -- History
[Colony] -- History Browse entries for chronological subheadings, which will vary by colony, e.g., Philippines -- History --1521-1898
[Colony] -- Foreign relations Note that place names may not be current country names, e.g., Indochina -- Foreign relations -- France
[Colonizing nation] -- Colonies e.g., Netherlands -- Colonies -- Asia -- History
Other subheadings under colony names:
-- Diplomatic history
-- Foreign public opinion, Occidental
-- Politics and government
-- Social conditions
|
|
*These subheadings are typically used under Subject Headings for individuals' names or terms describing groups of people, e.g., Soldiers.
Identify key participants and publications associated with your topic:
When looking at reference sources, pick out names of people, organizations, and governmental agencies that were participants, and any publications such as reports, newsletters, magazines, pamphlets, etc. that they produced in conjunction with the events or developments you are researching.Author searches for the key participants (individuals, organizations, agencies or other groups) will retrieve records for materials that were written or produced by them either at the time of the event or later will, in most cases, be primary sources. When searching personal names as author or subject, enter last name first.
Don't miss these documentary collections:
British Documents on the End of Empire. Call numbers vary. Each volume is cataloged separately.
Digital National Security Archive DNSA offers the most powerful research and teaching tool available in the area of U.S. foreign policy, intelligence and security issues since 1945. Over 55,000 of the most important, declassified primary documents – totaling more than 420,000 pages – are included in the database.
Foreign relations of the United States. US Documents S1.1 and online at http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/FRUS
More on Subject Searching:
Use these specialized databases and journal indexes to search for articles in journals and magazines. (Note: Databases offered by EbscoHost may be searched simultaneously.)
For religious topics, try:
Also consider anthropological databases:
FOR NEWSPAPERS & PERIODICALS PUBLISHED DURING THE PERIOD
USEFUL FREE WEB SITES -- Asia & Cold War
East & Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources. This list of resources is maintained by Robert Eng, Professor of History, University of Redlands (CA).
Southeast Asia Guide From the University of Wisconsin, Madison, this website lists internet resources as well as print resources available at that campus. Check our catalog for the print resources to see if Randall Library owns them.
Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 to 1975 Provides and overview, extensive collection of primary documents and links to other Viet Nam websites. Developed by Robert Brigham, Vassar College.
Last Update: September 18, 2009
Page maintained by Sue Cody codys@uncw.edu