Korean War: Sources for Historical Analysis
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Sue Cody |
| Email: |
| codys@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7409 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: sueann53 |
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History.
Reference DS 918 .E53 2000
3 volumes. Volume 3 includes primary source documents, maps, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and index.
Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia. Reference DS 916 .H62 1999
Historical Dictionary of the Korean War. Reference DS918 .H536 1991
The Korean War: An Encyclopedia. Reference DS918 .K5645 1995
The Korean War: A Historical Dictionary. Reference DS918 .E363 2003
Korean War Almanac.
Reference DS 918 .S86 1990
Korean War Filmography: 91 English Language Features through 2000.
Reference DS918.16 .L46 2003
Rates films on historical accuracy and patriotic propaganda levels.
Also of possible interest:
Congress and the Nation, 1945-1964. Reference JK1021 .C64 v. 1
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea. Reference DS909 .N34 1993
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
The Korean War: An Annotated Bibliography. Reference DS918 .M263 1986
The Inchon Landing, Korea, 1950: An Annotated Bibliography. Reference DS918.2 I5 E38 1994
The Pusan Perimeter, Korea, 1950: An Annotated Bibliography. Reference DS919 .E38 1993
American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature. Reference E183.7 .A43 2003 and online. Chapter 20 is on the Korean War and its consequences.
ATLASES
Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Wars, the Chinese Civil War and the Korean War. Ref Atlas G3201 .S6 A8 1986
Atlas of American Military History. Ref Atlas E181 .A85 2003
Randall Library Online Catalog: (Click on Search Catalog)
For access to materials in Randall Library: includes sophisticated search capabilities like limiting by language and format or combining subject headings. Also allows users to send search results to their email addresses.WorldCat is the union catalog of books, web resources, and other material located worldwide cataloged by OCLC member libraries (approximately 26,000 libraries.) Books in the catalog are generally available via Interlibrary Loan, and many of the websites are freely available.
Search Tips:
|
|
*These subheadings are typically used under Subject Headings for individuals, e.g., Acheson, Dean or terms describing groups of people, e.g., Soldiers.
How to Identify Primary Sources in the Online Catalog:
Step 1: Subject search for Korean War, 1950-1953
Step 2: At the top of the results page click on Limit/Sort
Step 3: Click on arrow next to Words in the Author and change it to Words in the Subject
Step 4: Type in (choose one): Sources
Personal narratives
Pictorial works
Posters
Treaties
Literary collections
Songs and music
Step 5: Click on Limit/Sort items retrieved using above data, button
Identify key participants and publications associated with your topic:
When looking at reference sources, pick out names of people, organizations, and governmental agencies that were participants, and any publications such as reports, newsletters, magazines, pamphlets, etc. that they produced in conjunction with the events or developments you are researching.Author searches for the key participants (individuals, organizations, agencies or other groups) will retrieve records for materials that were written or produced by them either at the time of the event or later will, in most cases, be primary sources.
Don't miss these documentary collections:
Digital National Security Archive DNSA offers the most powerful research and teaching tool available in the area of U.S. foreign policy, intelligence and security issues since 1945. Over 55,000 of the most important, declassified primary documents – totaling more than 420,000 pages – are included in the database.
Documentary History of the Truman Presidency. General Collection E813 .D56Foreign relations of the United States. US Documents S1.1 and online at http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/FRUS
Volumes VII and XV cover the Korean War.Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Harry S. Truman.
General Collection J82 .D7Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Dwight D. Eisenhower.
General Collection J82 .D8
United Nations Year Book. Reference JX 1977 .A37 .T4 (See year books for 1950-1953)
More on Subject Searching:
Use these specialized databases and journal indexes to search for articles in journals and magazines. (Note: Databases offered by EbscoHost may be searched simultaneously.)
FOR NEWSPAPERS & PERIODICALS PUBLISHED DURING THE PERIOD
USEFUL FREE WEB SITES
Eisenhower Presidential Library: Primary Sources: Korea
Truman Presidential Library: Korea+50: No Longer Forgotten
Both sites have selected primary source documents. The Truman Library site also has online exhibits, conference papers, photos, subject guides and a timeline.
National Archives and Records Administration -- Korean War Records
Provides selected digitized records and a catalog of others held at National Archives repositories.
Each branch of the U.S. military maintains a branch dedicated to preserving and understanding past armed conflicts. The following webpages are official U.S. government or U.S. military sites.
Department of Defense Korean War anniversary site
U.S. Air Force Historical Research Agency
U.S. Air Force, Korean War
U.S. Army, Center of Military History, Korean War
U.S. Marine Corps History and Museums Division
U.S. Merchant Marine, Korean War
U.S. Naval Historical Center, Korean Conflict
These free websites are from independent scholars, veterans groups, and organizations.
Korean History: A Bibliography
The section on the Korean War is an update for
The Korean War: An Annotated Bibliography (listed above.)
The Korean War
Short articles on each nations' involvement. Bibliography of books available at Amazon (which may be available at Randall Library or through Interlibrary Loan.)
The Korean War, 1950-1953
A list of Korean War websites compiled by Korea Web Weekly, an independent, non-partisan organization. Among the links are a website of eyewitness recollections, declassified Korean War documents and other primary source material.
The Korean War Project
Sponsored by donations, this site has an area for recollections by U.S. Korean War veterans.
Korean War National Museum and Library
Website for a planned museum and library, much of this website is still under construction.
Last Update: January 8, 2008
Page maintained by Sue Cody codys@uncw.edu