this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Introduction to Public History : Suggested Sources



Primary Contact:
Sue Cody
Email:
codys@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-7409
IM Chat Name:
AIM: sueann53

Directories

Encyclopedia of Associations. Ready Reference HS17 .G334
Official Museum Directory. Reference AM10 .O4
American Association of State and Local History. Resource Links
Council of State Governments. Directory III -- Administrative Officials

Government Documents

Important dates for our U. S. Documents Collection:
1965: Randall Library became a depository library for the U.S. Government Printing Office.

1976: The Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Documents went online. Available on our database list as GPO Monthly Catalog or the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

1990: Randall Library began including U.S. government documents in the online catalog.

North Carolina Documents:
All North Carolina documents in hard copy or microfiche in Randall Library's collections are listed in the online catalog. Since the advent of the Internet, many documents are online only. Unfortunately, we do not always know about them, so searching the agency websites are an excellent way to find these documents. Our NC State Resources web page provides the key links.

Other States:
The Council of State Governments Website provides links to the homepages of member states, listed by region.

Journal Databases & Indexes


In addition to the usual history databases, such as America: History and Life and JSTOR, you may find these databases useful for the study of public history issues:

Last Update: October 25, 2007

Page maintained by Sue Cody codys@uncw.edu