this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Marine Sciences - Databases



Primary Contact:
Peter Fritzler
Email:
fritzlerp@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-7807
IM Chat Name:
AIM: peterfritzler1

Start Here

Other Suggestions

Agricola
Agricola is the most comprehensive database to citations of journal articles, theses, patents, software and technical reports on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition. Good for soil chemistry, plant cell biochemistry and plant genetics. Useful for fisheries & aquaculture. 1979 - present
(more information)

Amphibian Information Web
Database of bibliographic citations, references, contacts, and web sites related to amphibian conservation. (USGS)

Birds of North America
Search this well-respected, comprehensive reference covering the life histories of over 700 species of North American birds. Produced by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, it includes detailed scientific information on behaviors, habitat, distribution, migration, systematics, food habits, conservation and management, and measurements among others. Also included are video and image galleries along with recordings of songs and calls from the collection at Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. 
(more information)

Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies.
(more information)

CSA
Provides access to databases in the sciences, social sciences, philosophy and education.

Cold Regions Bibliography
Information on cold regions science and technology.

Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions at major scientific meetings.
1982 - present
(more information)

EBSCO Animals
consists of full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
1984 - present

Ecology Abstracts
Environmental sciences and pollution. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
(more information)

FishBase
Covers over 25,000 species of fish and has over 70,000 synonyms and 180,000 common names in over 200 languages. Over 35,000 pictures illustrate these fish. Information about them has been extracted from 20,000 references. The classification of higher taxa follows the version of Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes . Data includes family, order, class, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, biology, ecology, diet, reproduction, and references. Developed at the International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management (ICLARM) in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).

GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database indexing geography and geology, including cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, ecology, environment, petrology,
geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics and
volcanology from 1980 to the present. The database contains over 600K references with abstracts from journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.

Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.

GrayLit Network
Full-text access to unpublished technical reports of research funded by U.S. Depts. of Energy & Defense, EPA and NASA
Free

JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)

Marine Realms Information Bank (MRIB)
A collaborative effort of the USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program at the Woods Hole Field Center and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, the MRIB Web site is a distributed geolibrary that catalogs and provides organized access to information about coastal and marine environments, the adjacent parts of the atmosphere and solid Earth, as well as to people, techniques, and organizations involved in marine science.

Mormyridae and other Osteoglossomorpha
This CD-Rom holds a taxonomic reference work of the Superorder Osteoglossomorpha of which most species belong to the Family Mormyridae (Elephant Fishes). Detailed informatin on 215 species and supspecies is given and includes taxonomic description, type locality, distribution, etymology, taxonomy, synonmys and references.
See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.

National Sea Grant Library Database
This database includes 36,000 bibliographic records to various Sea Grant funded publications. Subjects include, oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law. Print Version: 1986 - present

NOAA Library Catalog
An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.

Plant Biology Tutor
CD of 14 tutorials in ecology, growth and development, reproduction, and systematics and evolution. See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.

PLANTS Database
Single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information. Also includes States PLANTS list.

PubMedCentral
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.

State Academies of Science Abstracts
Covers all of the major science disciplines and serves as an authoritative reference on research specific to your state and region.
(more information)

Toxicology Abstracts
Covers pharmaceuticals, agro chemicals, natural toxins, industrial chemicals. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
1981 - present
(more information)

TOXLINE
Citations to articles, technical reports, theses on toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
1999 - present
(more information)

U.S. Government Periodicals Index
Citations to articles from periodicals published by the U.S. Government.

WAVES
The catalogue of the libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, WAVES contains over 200,000 records, from 1700 to the present day. WAVES is particularly strong on the gray literature for the marine sciences, with emphasis on Canadian records, and other organizations like ICES, FAO, etc. Updated daily, the database contains records for books, documents, and serials, and includes links to over 5000 full-text documents. Available in English and French, Canada's two official languages.

Wiley InterScience
Searchable database of science journals.

WorldCat
A combined catalog of thousands of libraries, including Randall Library. Search WorldCat if you want to search the largest universe of book and other cataloged items.

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: January 11, 2007