How to Use the Databases for Mathematics Research
| MathSciNet | EBSCO EJS | ERIC |
| Current Index to Statistics | JStor | WorldCat |
| Science Direct | Ingenta |
MathSciNet
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical
literature of the past 61 years. It is produced by the American
Mathematical Society. The information below comes directly from MathSciNet help
screens.
Basic Search and Full Search provides
searchable fields, listed below.
Click on MathSciNet and
choose Full Search (From this page you can also search the Author
or the Journal database)
From pull-down menu choose a field or anywhere
then enter search term or terms
Next choose a connector And, Or or Not
and repeat above process
Then select a time
period or
Entire database
Then select document type Books,
Journals, Proceedings or All
Click on Search
Some of the Available Fields (* indicates default field) Searches are not case sensitive.
| Field Name | What it searches |
| *Author/Related | Author's name plus editors, translators, etc. |
| Author | Author's name only in the form: last name,
first name (with comma), middle name or initial. May use wildcard* Example: Kap*sky, I* |
| *Title | Title of original article but not subtitle |
| Review Text | Any text in the body of the review. TeX codes for symbols and in names should be omitted. |
| Journal | Journal name, full or abbreviated from 1980 to present |
| Institution Code | The code assigned to a specific institution (Codes for UNCW listed below) |
| Series | Series name |
| MSC Prim/Sec | Primary or secondary Mathematics Subject Classification |
| MSC Primary | Primary Mathematics Subject Classification |
| MR number | Number of item in Mathematical Reviews |
| Review Text | Any text in the body of the review. TeX codes for symbols and in names should be omitted. |
| Reviewer | Reviewer's name |
| *Anywhere | Entire MathSciNet record including headlines, institution codes, and review text. |
| *Publication year | Publication year of original article available in full search only |
| Document type | The options are Books, Journals or Proceedings, available in full search only |
You can use the Boolean operators and,
or, not. (To search for a phrase that contains a Boolean operator,
you must place the phrase within quotation marks, e.g. "not locally
symmetric.")
These operators may be entered within a field
box or selected by using pull down menus between field name boxes. To use a
Boolean operator within a box, type the operator between the criteria. For
example, in the Author field: "Graham and Luckock" will yield
citations of papers co-authored by Graham and Luckock.
Truncation and wildcard searching:
The wildcard character is the asterisk (*) and may be used in all fields except
Publication Year, MR Number, MSC Primary, and MSC Primary/Secondary.
Important Note: If no wildcard is
used, the search will look for exact word matches and for the plural of the
words entered. Adjacency is assumed within a field
Searching for Mathematics (TeX):
MathSciNet search criteria for words and phrases should be stripped of TeX code.
In particular, TeX coding should be omitted from names. To search for
mathematical symbols omit the initial \ from the TeX code. For example, to
search for {\rm P}\sp\infty, enter P sp infty.
Institution Code:
The Institution Code field contains the codes used to identify the author's
institution at the time of publication. An institution code or part of a code
can be entered. The wildcard (*) may be used.
To search an Institution Codes list, go to www.ams.org/instcode/ Either text, an institution code, or part of a code can be entered. Search results return both the code and institution address (if available).
| Examples: | 1-NCW-BDS
Department of Production and Decision Sciences 1-NCW-B Cameron School of Business 1-NCW-C Department of Computer Science 1-NCW-K Department of Chemistry 1-NCW-MS Department of Mathematics and Statistics 1-NCW-P Department of Physics 1-NCW Department of Mathematical Sciences 1-NCW* |
Current
Index to Statistics
CIS indexes 162 core journals in
statistics, selected articles from 1200 other journals, as well as books and
proceedings.
Search by Author/Editor, Book/Article Title,
Title Keywords, and/or Journal/Proceedings Title.
Truncate using the following characters:
% replaces 0 or more characters
_ replaces 1 character
Citations retrieved provide only the bibliographic information. No abstracts or direct links to full text are provided.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect offers access to the Elsevier Science
journal collection, along with journals from a host of prestigious societies and
STM publishers. The full text collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to
present.
The Quick Search on the Home page searches all
Full-text sources. This searches the abstract, article title, author and
keyword fields. Browse titles by Subject Areas is another option on
the Home page.
From the Search page, both Basic and
Advance search forms are provided.
At the first Term(s)
field, enter the search terms which must appear in an article.
From the within drop-down menu, select the fields or
segments in which the search terms must appear.
You can request a search of the entire Full-text, if
desired.
If you want to search additional fields and additional terms:
Select a connector from the And drop-down menu.
(A group of words that does not contain a connector is
recognized as a phrase. For example: set theory.)
In the second Term(s) field, enter the additional
search terms which must appear in the article.
From the second within
drop-down menu, select the fields or segments in which the search terms must
appear.
From the Source drop-down menu, select the group of
journals you want to search.
At the Subject list
box, scroll down list then highlight Mathematics
To select more than one subject, hold the Control (Ctrl),
Shift and click on each subject, or leave the setting on "All
Sciences".
Select Dates
choose date range from the drop-down menu. OR Select All Years.
Then click Search
Available Fields Searches
are not case sensitive.
Field
Name
What it
searches
Abstract, title, keywords*
The abstract, title, author
keywords and publisher's index terms for the article.
Abstract
The full
text of the article's abstract
Keywords
Author's keywords and the
publisher's index terms for the article.
Authors
Names of the
authors of the article, including collaborations. Author names appear in
our service in a variety of formats, according to the source
document. Click on Search tips for help
Title
English or non-English article
title
Journal
Title of the
journal.
References
Bibliographic reference list
of the article.
ISSN
The ISSN
(International Standard Serial Number) of the journal
Special Characters and Formula Searching
When
constructing a search request for words, equations, or formulae containing
special characters,
replace any special characters with the standard alpha-numeric characters. The
general rules are:
Search the Greek alphabet by replacing the
characters with the English spelling for the character.
For example: To search for the Greek letter, K, enter: Kappa
Subscripted and superscripted characters should be entered on the same line with
the other characters.
For example: To search for the chemical notation, H2O, enter: H2O
Accented characters should be entered as the
same characters without the accent mark (even though the
accent mark may appear on your keyboard). For example: To search for the
name, Fürst, enter: Furst
Certain non-alpha/numeric special characters
(e.g., hyphens, brackets, asterisks, bullets, arrows, daggers, plus signs, minus
signs, etc.) are treated as delimiters and are not searchable. For example: To
search for the term, high-risk, enter: high risk
Wildcard Characters and Truncation
Boolean wildcards and truncation let you
easily combine or eliminate search words, making your search simpler.
Use ! to find a root word plus all the words made by adding letters to the end
of it. For example: behav! would find behave, behaviour,
behavioural (Also note: Using the singular word form will retrieve the
singular, plural, and possessive forms of most words.)
Use an asterisk (*) to replace characters anywhere in a word, except the first
character.
Use one asterisk for each character you want to replace. For example: wom*n
would find woman, women.
Use the asterisk to hold a space for variations in spelling at any point in a
word. For example: bernst**n would find both the ei and the
ie spelling of the name.
If you use asterisks at the end of a word, they do not all have to be filled,
but may find up to the specified number of characters. For example: transplant**
would find transplant, transplanted, transplanter. Note: transplant**
does not find transplantation or transplanting because only two wildcard
characters are used. To find all the variations of transplant, use the !
wildcard character.
Article Display Options
Typically, articles may be viewed in three
formats:
SummaryPlus provides the full citation, abstract,
article outline and references. If the cited references are also in
ScienceDirect or MathSciNet, links are provided to the article and/or
abstract.
FullText+Links provides the full text in HTML format, with links to
sections of the article from the article outline, links to figures, and links to
references.
PDF provides the full image of the article.
It is also possible to search for other articles in ScienceDirect that have cited the article or to set up a Citation Alert. A Citation Alert will email you when an article is added to ScienceDirect that cites the article you saved. Free registration is required to use this feature.
EBSCO
Electronic Journals Service (EJS)
You can browse journals by title, subject or publisher, or search for
articles by citation or words in the text. In Article Search,
your terms can be searched in the Full text, just the Title & Abstract, or
just the Title.
Enter keywords using Boolean and proximity operators. The Guided
Search feature helps designate word proximity and Boolean
relationships.
Within select Article Titles, Abstracts & Full Text
Click Search
Boolean and Proximity Operators
The Proximity operator NEAR, allows you to locate items containing
specific words or phrases located near one another. Boolean operators, however,
allow you to use the words AND, OR, and NOT to locate items
containing specific words. Boolean and proximity operators cannot be searched
for since they are considered reserved words by the search engine. In addition,
very common words, such as the and is are considered
"noise" words by the search engine and are eliminated from the
criteria before the search is performed.
Put quotation marks around keywords if you want the search engine to take them
literally.
Special Characters
You can enter special characters (such as umlauted characters) into your search criteria by using codes surrounded by square brackets, as follows:
CharacterCodeÄ[Auml]ä[auml]Ë[Euml]ë[euml]Ï[Iuml]ï[iuml]Ö[Ouml]ö[ouml]Ü[Uuml]ü[uuml]
JSTOR
Provides access to 17 Mathematics journals and 13 Statistics in full text
format, back to the first issue of each. Mathematical and statistical
topics may also be searched in other subject categories in JStor. You must
select a discipline category or a specific journal to search.
To search, click the Search button
on the toolbar. You can do a Basic Search or Advanced Search.
Enter keyword(s),
then select the field
from pull-down menu, e.g, full text.
Multiple words on the same line are interpreted as a phrase.
Select the Discipline
or journals to be searched.
You also have the
option to limit by publication type, e.g., article, opinion, book review
and/or publication dates.
Sort
results defaults to highest scoring (most relevant) but can
be changed to Most recent or Oldest
Searching for an Author
To find all instances of an author in the author field, with or without the author's middle name or initial, enter an author's first name and last name on the same line, and select the author field. The search will find the author's name without a middle name or initial, and will also find the author's name with any middle name or initial. If you search using the author's middle name or initial, the search results will only include the author's name with the middle name or initial.
Truncation
Since neither stemming nor truncation is currently implemented (with the exception of plurals, use +), the search engine is extremely literal. Therefore, you must search "statistic or statistical" to find variants of the stem "statistic". Also, use variant spelling of words (e.g., "color" or "colour") and also try spelling out acronyms (e.g., "AMS" or "American Mathematical Society).
Viewing & Printing
To view the articles retrieved, click on the title link. To print the entire article, use the Print link within the JStor window, not the print icon on your browser toolbar.
Ingenta provides indexing for nearly 29,000 journals, some of which are available in full-text (called online articles). To search the entire database, run the search in both online articles and fax/ariel modes. (Fax/ariel refers to their document delivery service, for which there is a charge. Randall Library provides free interlibrary loan through its ILLiad service as an alternative.)
Searching
Boolean search operators AND, OR and NOT can be entered in your search.
If you enter both AND and OR in a search string, nest the terms to be OR'ed
inside parentheses.
To search phrases, use quotation marks.
For truncation, use an asterisk.
Example: ("population dynamics" or
"population models") and diffusi*
Viewing & Printing/Emailing
Each record has a Mark, Summary and Full Text button. If the full-text
button gives a price instead of the article, use Randall Library's ILLiad
service to obtain it at no charge. Mark allows you to select references
from the list to print or email.
ERIC (CSA)
For articles and reports on teaching mathematics and statistics, use the ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database. Available from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (linked above) and EbscoHost with links to library holdings. ERIC is also available free at www.eric.ed.gov .
Searching
Use the online thesaurus to identify the most
appropriate terms for your search.
The CSA interface assumes phrases are searched as exact phrases, but you can
select "Any of the words" (OR relationship) or "All of the words" (AND
relationship).
For truncation, use an asterisk at the end of a character string or a ? to mask
a character.
Viewing & Printing/Emailing
Click the "View Record" button to see the full record (citation, abstract,
descriptors). Click once in the box (upper left corner) to mark the record
for printing/emailing.
Click on "Check Your Library" to see if the library has the item. Or, if
the "Full Text" link appears, click on it to retrieve the text. If the
item is not available in Randall Library, click "Send Request to UNCW ILLiad" to
request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat is the union catalog of approximately 46,000 libraries. As with the other databases, you can use Boolean search operators, AND, OR, and NOT, as well as truncate words with an asterisk. You can search by keyword or select the field to search.
Results are displayed in order by the number of libraries holding an item
(click "Libraries Worldwide" to see which libraries own a
copy. UNCW is noted beside the link if Randall Library owns a copy.)
A link to ILLiad is also given to request the item on Interlibrary
Loan.
Last Update: December 12, 2005