this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Class Guide : HST 483 - Women, Imperialism and Islam

Objective:
To introduce you to the various resources and methods for obtaining information on women in the Muslim world. Specifically, this guide will show you how to search the library catalog and online databases for scholarly sources in this subject area.

Contact your Librarian for help!
Elizabeth Peterson, Primary Contact Librarian for Middle East Studies
Randall Library, #2062
ph: 910 962 4271
email: petersone@uncw.edu
AIM: epeterson1717 (9:00am - 5:00pm)

Overview/Background

   
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world     Ref 
BP40 .E525 2004    
Get it in the library!   

    Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East     Ref  DS43 .E53 1996    Get it in the library!

    The Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide     Ref  HQ1154 .G74 2003     Get it in the library!
          
(6 volumes--vol. 4 is The Middle East and North Africa)

    Index islamicus on CD-ROM: a bibliography of publications on Islam and the Muslim world since 1906    Ready Ref  DS44 .I53 1998
        Get it in the library!

    Muslim women throughout the world : a bibliography     Ref   HQ1170 .K55 1997     Get it in the library!

    The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world     Ref  DS35.53 .O95 1995    
Get it in the library!

[back to top]

Library of Congress Subject Headings

    Feminism—Egypt Women in Islam
    Feminism—Egypt—History Women in Islam—Egypt
    Muslim women—Egypt Women in Islam—Middle East
    Muslim women—Egypt—History Women—Islamic countries
    Women—Middle East Women—Middle East—Social conditions
    Women—Islamic countries—Bibliography  

[back to top]

Websites

Egypt State Information Service    http://www.sis.gov.eg/
The website for the Ministry of Information.

Egyptian Government Services Portal    http://www.egypt.gov.eg/english/default.asp
Links to the Egyptian Constitution and other government documents.

[back to top]

Find Articles

Historical Abstracts Indexes scholarly literature of world history, 1450-present. One simultaneous user. (more information)
Index Islamicus Index Islamicus is a CD-ROM containing a bibliography of publications on Islam and the Muslim world published since 1906.
Available only in the library.  Ready Reference DS44 .I531998
JSTOR Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences. (more information)
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe News, business, legal and reference information. (more information)
PAIS International Citations to public policy, economics, government, law, etc. 4 simultaneous users (more information)
Sociological Abstracts Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.  (more information)
WorldCat Books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Search here to find out what books exist on your subject.  (more information)

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a way to obtain journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and dissertations that Randall Library doesn’t own. This is a FREE service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to know what library owns material that you need. Simply give us the citation and we'll obtain the item for you. If you have never used this service, you will first need to create an account.

Log in to Interlibrary Loan at:  http://library.uncwil.edu/

Don't wait until the last minute to do your research! ILL requests can take 7-10 days for books and 3-4 days for journal articles. Make sure you give yourself enough time!


Last Update: December 12, 2005