this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Music - Databases



Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

Start Here

EBSCOhost
For Music searching, try clicking on any combination of the following databases:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • America: History & Life,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Film & Literature Television Index,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities Index International,
  • MLA International Bibliography,
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature,
  • The Music Index Online.

Classical Music Library
15 simultaneous users
(more information)

Classical Scores Library
(more information)

Oxford Music Online
(more information)

IIPA Full Text
4 simultaneous users
1864 - present
(more information)

IPA Source
29 simultaneous users - Please logout when finished
(more information)

Jazz Discography Online
1896 - present
(more information)

Music Education Resource Base
1956 - present

Music Index Online
1978 - present
(more information)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
4 simultaneous users
1969 - present
(more information)

Other Suggestions

All Music.com
A comprehensive reference source for information about all kinds of music, including artists, recordings, and genres.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)

ERIC via CSA
Citations to articles and reports in education.
1966 to present
(more information)

ERIC via EBSCOHost
Citations to articles and reports in education.
1966 to present
(more information)

JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)

LexisNexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970s - present
(more information)

Music Index
A print index that lists citations of articles from several hundred music periodicals covering all aspects of music.
1965 - 1978
Index Collection ML118 .M84
(Link to record)

New York Times Archive
Digital archives for the New York Times
1851 - 2001
(more information)

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
1890 - 1982
(more information)

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature
A print index of articles from popular magazines.
1890 - 2001
Index Collection AI3 .R48
(Link to record)

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: 9 April, 2008 19:45