this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Biographical Resources in Music


How to search the Online Catalog for Biographical Resources in Music

Search the Library Catalog for biographies using the SUBJECT search option and entering the last name followed by first name or initial of the person you would like information on. (example 1) If you do not have a particular person to search, you have two options: Use the reference collection to find a person (instructions below) OR use a SUBJECT (example 2) and KEYWORD (example 3) search using biographies and profession.

Example 1: SUBJECT search - armstrong, louis OR armstrong, l
Example 2: SUBJECT search - biographies musicians
Example 3: KEYWORD search - biographies and musicians


How to search an Index (print or electronic) for Biographical Resources in Music

The following are specialized resources that only index biographical material located in books and magazines.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index Collection CT 120 .B563
CD-ROM index available at the Reference Desk
Index to biographical sketches found in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.

Biography Index
Index Collection CT 100 .B6
A cumulative index to biographical material in books and magazines.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
At the main Lexis-Nexis page choose "Reference" and then "Biographical Information". This resource has short full text bio's on politicians, business executives & etc.

Subject indexes such as Music Index, Humanities Index, can be used to find citations to biographical information found in newspapers, journals and books. Listed below are basic search tips that can used in each index.
SIMPLE SEARCH TIPS:


The following selections of music reference tools are starting points for your music research.  All listed titles may be found in the Reference Section of Randall Library.  If you need further assistance please ask a Reference Librarian.

General Sources
ASCAP Biographical Dictionary REF ML106 U3 A5
    This is  biographical dictionary which offers highlights of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
    Society members.  Entries include a sampling of the writers accomplishments.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. REF ML105 B16 1992
    Basic biographical entries include birth and death dates, career highlights, date of performance, and works composed.

The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz REF ML102.J3 F39 1999 
    Provides brief biographical entries on jazz musicians from the 1800s to the present.

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
REF ML105 .H38 1996

Musicians' Autobiographies
. REF ML128 B3 A3 1982


Subject Specific
All Music Guide to Jazz REF ML156.4 J3 A45
Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians REF ML390 M67 1992
Black Music Biography REF ML128 B3 F6
Blues Who's Who REF ML102 B6 H3
Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities REF ML13 D57
North Carolina Musicians REF ML14 N6
Popular Musicians  REF ML105 .P66 1999 v.1-v.4
Rap Whoz Who REF ML400 S77


Composers
Composers Since 1900. REF ML390 E833
    Covers musicians who have been writing music since 1900.  Alphabetical entries include a brief biography and a list of
     their major works.

Contemporary Composers REF ML390 M67 1992
    Entries are arranged alphabetically and include a brief biography, list of works, and a short assessive article discussing 
    styles and movements, influences and innovations and an analysis of one or more major works.

The Dictionary of Composers and Their Music: A listener's companion REF ML113 .G4 1986 
    Includes a brief introduction of the composer and a listing of their works.

Great Composers, 1300-1900: a biographical and critical guide REF ML105 .E944 
   This text is a one volume work on composers of the past that discusses almost 200 creative figures.  Composers included
    in this text are: Johann Sebastian Bach, Niccolo Jommelli, and Hugo Wolf.

Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers
REF ML105 .B9 v1.-v.3

International Dictionary of Black Composers
  REF ML105 .I5 1999 v.1-v.2
    Scholarly treatment of composers (worldwide) of African descent, focusing on classical composers, but including others,
    as well.

Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers REF ML 105 N67x 1994

Women Composers : a handbook REF ML105 .S7


Internet Resources
Classical Composers Database 

DW3 Composer Homepages
from Duke University

MLA Obituary Index  This online version of the index of obituary citations published annually by the Music Library Association in its quarterly journal, Notes, facilitates access to information about musicians and other members of the music world. Currently maintained by the Stanford University Music Library.


Other music resources and guides available include: 
Music Reference Guide
Music Resources in the Online Catalog
Guide to Library of Congress Classification System: Music

Guide to Humanities Index
Guide to Music Index Online
 
Guide to RILM Index Online
Last Update: December 12, 2005