this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library
Course Guide: FNA 101 - Cultures of the World Through Music and Dance

 

 

Contact Information

Contact the Creative & Fine Arts Librarian for Help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Spring 2009
Tuesdays, 11am-1pm
Randall #2080

Wednesdays, 4-5pm
CAB #1048

Return to top

 

Library Services

Ask a Librarian

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference, and 24/7 chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off Campus Access of Resources

In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/screens/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/forms/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/

Return to top

 

Library Catalog

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search%7Eb001o001c001i001).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

To request an item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN (for help with your library PIN, please see: http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/pin.html).

Suggested Search Strategies

Keyword Search

flamenco

powwow

africa and music
africa and music and not america*

indonesia* and (music or dance)

africa* and drum*

folk and danc* and europ*

 

Return to top

 

Locating Videos & DVDs

To find video & DVD resources:

  1. Go to the Library Catalog (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search%7Eb001o001c001i001)
  2. Type in your search terms
  3. Run your search
  4. Click “Modify Search” button
  5. Select “UNC Wilmington” from Location
  6. Select “Videorecording” from Material Type
  7. Apply any other limits as needed (optional)
  8. Click the “Submit” button

OR

  1. Go to the Advanced Keyword Search page (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search/X)
  2. Type in your search terms
  3. Select “UNC Wilmington” from Location
  4. Select “Videorecording” from Material Type
  5. Apply any other limits as needed (optional)
  6. Click the “Submit” button

Return to top

 

Database & Article Searching

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):

Most often, the full text of the articles you find will be available in the databases. If not, however, do a “Journal Title” search in the Library Catalog (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search/j) on the name of the journal, magazine, or newspaper that the article you want comes from. The catalog will tell you if the library owns the issue you need.

Recommended Databases for FNA 101:

EBSCOHost
Both full text and citations. Try clicking on the boxes next to the following databases to search all or some of them simultaneously:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography,
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature,
  • The Music Index Online.

Grove Music Online (1 simultaneous user)
An online version of the print reference resource; a good first stop for finding out more about your topic.

IIPA Full Text (4 simultaneous users)
Performing arts subject database; both full text and citations.

JSTOR
Good music and dance coverage; predominantly full text.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.

Music Education Resource Base
Music and music education subject focus; coverage starts at 1956. Citations only.

Music Index Online
A music-specific online database; coverage starts from 1978 onwards. Both full text and citations.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2001. A great resource for finding reviews of past dance companies and performances in NYC.

ProjectMUSE
Good music and dance coverage; full text.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes popular periodicals from 1890 to 1982. Citations only.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A music-specific database; coverage starts at 1969. Citations only.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Search Strategies for the Databases

aborigin* and animism

powwow and tradition* and danc*
powwow and tradition* and ("native american" or "american indian")

"latin america*" and danc*

shinto* and music

bali* and music

indonesia* and danc* and wom?n

Return to top

 

Finding Articles Not Indexed in Online Databases

Most online databases offer a limited scope of dates covered, so finding articles and information pre-1970 requires a different research process. Suggestions for finding these articles include:

To find newspaper or popular magazine articles pre-1970, these guides will help:

Use paper indexes to find citations to articles according to the year of publication (see Liza for more help with this option):

Return to top

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

https://illiad.uncw.edu/logon.html

Return to top

 

Recommended Reference Collection Resources

The UNCW Reference Collection contains valuable print resources. The collection is located to your right as you come in the main entrance to the library; it does not circulate.

A core collection in dance
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1830612

Dance on camera : a guide to dance films and videos
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1628820

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music:

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 1, Africa
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1650478~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1667618~S4

The United States and Canada
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1717713~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 4, Southeast Asia
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1644530~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 5, South Asia, the Indian subcontinent
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1717711~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 6, The Middle East
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1717714~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 7, East Asia : China, Japan, and Korea
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1717715~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 8, Europe
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1717712~S4

The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Volume 9, Australia and the Pacific Islands
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1656788~S4

The World's music : general perspectives and reference tools
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1822684~S4

The Garland handbook of African music
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1818329~S4

The Garland handbook of Latin American music
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1818330~S4

International encyclopedia of dance : a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1639741

The Oxford dictionary of dance
http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/record=b1800560

Return to top

 

Recommended Websites

General

University of Washington Libraries | Ethnomusicology
http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/world.html

UNCW Randall Library | Dance Resources
http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/topic/dance/dance.html

ACRL | Dance: A Guide to Web Resources
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/publications/crlnews/2002/dec/dance.cfm

ACRL | Music: A Survey of Some Quality Resources
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/acrl/publications/crlnews/2005/december05/music.cfm

People Like Me | Dance Style Locator
http://www.worldartswest.org/main/locator.asp

Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
http://www.sapphireswan.com/dance/

Institute for Historical Dance Practice
http://www.historicaldance.com/

Library of Congress | The Katherine Dunham Collection
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/html/dunham/dunham-home.html

Library of Congress | The Alan Lomax Collection
http://www.loc.gov/folklife/lomax/

Voice of Dance: Where Dance Lives...
http://www.voiceofdance.org/

Africa

Columbia University Libraries | Music and Dance of Africa
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/africa/cuvl/music.html

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections | Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/AfricaFocus/

Europe

New York Public Library | 500 Years of Italian Dance
http://www.nypl.org/research/lpa/italiandance/

What is Contra Dance?
http://www.sbcds.org/contradance/whatis/

Native America

Library of Congress | Omaha Indian Music
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/omhhtml/omhhome.html

POV | American Aloha: Hula Beyond Hawai'i
http://www.pbs.org/pov/pov2003/americanaloha/

Latin/South America

Cultures of the Andes
http://www.andes.org/

Archive of Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)
http://www.ailla.utexas.org/site/welcome.html

Ireland

Ceolas: The Celtic Music Archive
http://ceolas.org/ceolas.html

India

Beat of India
http://www.beatofindia.com/

Middle East

International Academy of Middle Eastern Dance | About Belly Dance
http://www.bellydance.org/about_bellydance.html

Islamic and Middle Eastern Music and Dance
http://www.sfusd.k12.ca.us/schwww/sch618/Music/Islam_Music_&_Dance.html

The Art of Middle Eastern Dance (by Shira)
http://www.shira.net/

Middle Eastern Rhythms FAQ
http://www.khafif.com/rhy/

Return to top


Last Update: 14 January, 2009 20:48