this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Music Reference Guide


Introduction

The following selections of music reference tools are starting points for your music research. The list includes sources in a number of categories that are authoritative and up-to date. There are also instructions on how to search for other resources in the Online Catalog. All listed titles may be found in the Reference Section of Randall Library. If you need further assistance please ask a Reference Librarian.


Discographies

Directories
  • Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities. REF  ML13 D57
  • Schirmer Guide to Schools of Music and Conservatories throughout the World. REF  ML12 U8
  • Society for Ethnomusicology. REF  ML26 S63
  • Music Library Association. REF  ML27 U5 M6773a
  • Musical America. International Directory of the Performing Arts. General Collection ML12 M88

Instruments

  • The American History and Encyclopedia of Music  REF  ML160 .A5 1910 
  • The Complete Musician  REF  ML155 .M35 1975 
  • The Look of Music: Rare Musical Instruments, 1500-1900  REF  ML462 .Y68 
  • Musical Instruments of the World : An illustrated encyclopedia  REF  ML102.I5 D52 1976 
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments  REF  ML102 .I5 .N48 1984
  • The Orchestra  REF  ML1200 .H9 
  • The Scribner Guide to Orchestral Instruments  REF  ML460 .S5 1983
  • Thesaurus of Orchestral Devices  REF  MT70 .R37 1969 

To search for other Instrument resources in the Online Catalog, try a Subject search.  
   
     Example:  Subject: Musical Instruments (this will retrieve 40+ results)  see also Mechanical Musical Instruments
Or to find resources on a specific instrument try a Keyword search.  
        Example:  Keyword: Violoncello (this will retrieve 300+ results) remember to limit your search to a specific Material
        Type
to help narrow this search.


Popular Music

  • All Music Guide to Jazz. REF ML156.4 J3 A45
  • The American Dance Band Discography 1917-1942. REF  ML156.4 P6 R87
  • American Popular Music. REF ML105 S67
  • Black Music Biography. REF  ML128 B3 F6
  • Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul REF ML102 P66 S8
  • Jazz Records, 1897-1942. REF  ML156.4 J3 R93
  • Popular Music, An Annotated Guide to Recordings. REF  ML156.4 P6 T85
  • Popular Song Index. REF  ML128 S3 H4
  • Rap Whoz Who. REF ML400 S77
  • The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock & Roll. REF  ML102 R6 R64

Scores

To search for Music Scores in the Online Catalog, try a Keyword search for a type of music or instrument.  Next select MUSIC SCORE in the Material Type box.  Then click on search.

     Example:  Keyword: american
                      Material Type: MUSIC SCORE 
                      (this search will retrieve 90+ results) 

                                   or

                      Keyword: piano
                      Material Type: MUSIC SCORE 
                      (this search will retrieve 1,000+ results) 

If you are looking for a specific score, try a Keyword search for the artist and type of score.  
        Example:  Keyword: Hindemith and sonata
   
                     Material Type: MUSIC SCORE


Sheet Music Bibliographies

  • Choral Music in Print REF  ML128.V7 C56
  • Flute repertoire catalogue: 10,000 titles REF  ML128.F7 V48 
  • The Index of Flute Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas REF  ML128.F7 W54 
  • The Index of Violin Music REF  ML128.V4 W54
  • Orchestral Music in Print (supplement) REF  ML128.O5 O7 Suppl
  • Sacred Choral Music in Print Master Index REF  ML128.V7 S322 
  • Secular Choral Music in Print Master index REF  ML128.V7 S3321 (1993,1996)
  • String Music in Print (supplement) REF  ML128.S7 F4 1973 Suppl

For additional information on music-related research, see also Fast Facts Guide: Music Resources in the Online Catalog, Fast Facts Guide: Biographical Resources in Music and Music: Subject Research Guide
Last Update: December 12, 2005