this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Finding Music Reviews


This guide will enable you to locate music reviews from popular literature such as magazines, newspapers, and websites.

Some of the sources listed are indexes, which will provide citations to the reviews. Please keep in mind that Randall Library does not own every journal listed in these sources, to find out if the library does own a specific title perform a Journal Title search in the Library Catalog [http://library.uncwil.edu].

Searching Library Databases and Indexes for Reviews

EBSCOhost
Search tips: Select MasterFILE Premier, Academic Search Elite databases for best results. Each contains some full text articles.
 
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Search tips:  Full text of music reviews published in newspapers, magazines and journals are available. Choose the "News" option, then the "Arts and Sports" option and finally "Book, Movie & Play Reviews." In the Keyword box type in the title of the artist or album.
Music Index  (online:  1979-current;  paper:  1965-2001)
Search tips:  Covers "every aspect of the classical and popular world of music," including reviews.
The paper version is located at Index Collection ML118 .M84.
New York Times Archive (online:  1851-2001;  paper:  1851-2001) Search tips:  A complete digital archive of the newspaper.
The paper version is located at Index Collection AI21 .N45.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-2001)
Search tips:  An index of articles appearing in magazines and newspapers.
The paper version is located at Index Collection UNCW Students and Faculty may access Databases from Home. If you are NOT on campus, you 
MUST have a library PIN number. For more information go to http://library.uncwil.edu/offcampus.html.

Music Reviews on the Web

Afropop Worldwide    http://www.afropop.org
           Afropop Worldwide is "a radio program, a web site, a searchable database, an international musical archive, a team of researchers, and a travel series to Africa and Latin America." The site includes reviews of African and African Diaspora music worldwide.

Billboard Magazine    http://www.billboard.com
The online version of the international entertainment newsweekly. Includes reviews of current releases in popular music.

Classical Net http://www.classical.net
Features more than 3000 reviews of classical music recordings.

Classics Today    http://www.classicstoday.com
Provides thousands of reviews of classical music recordings and concerts.

Gramophone    http://www.gramophone.co.uk   
          Reviews of classical music recordings and performances. Requires free registration to access reviews.

No Depression    http://www.nodepression.net
          "A bi-monthly magazine covering alternative-country music (whatever that is)." Includes recording and concert reviews in its archive, but current content requires a subscription.

Rolling Stone    http://www.rollingstone.com
          The weekly magazine of music and culture. Provides reviews of current releases of popular music.

Spin    http://www.spin.com
          A monthly magazine of the music industry and culture. Includes reviews of current releases of popular music.

RootsWorld    http://www.rootsworld.com/rw
          An online magazine of world and roots music. Provides reviews of music from around the world.


Last Update: December 12, 2005