this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Course Guides: NSG 416 - Nursing Research Practicum


ARTICLE DATABASES - Strategies for Searching Health-Related Databases for Empirically-Researched Articles

Database Search Statement Strategy Is Item Cited in Randall Library?
CINAHL--nursing and allied health professions--GUIDE TO CINAHL 1.  Select Advanced Search.
2.  Select "Subject Subset" off menu.
3.  Enter "Peer Reviewed."
4.  Enter search statement in next line.
     Sample Search Statements:
     homeless and qualitative
     (homeless or homelessness) and qualitative
     (homeless or homelessness) and
  
         (qualitative or quantitative)
Select "Libraries With Item" button.
MEDLINE--medical literature through ScienceDirect (guide to ScienceDirect) 1.  Select Search.
2.  Enter search statement.
Check Randall Library's catalog, available through the Home Page.   Select "Journal Title," type in name of periodical.   If a record displays, Randall Library owns it.
PSYCINFO--psychological literature--GUIDE TO PSYCINFO 1.  Enter Search Statement in search box.
     Sample: homelessness and schizophrenia
2.  To limit searches to qualitative or quantitative
     studies, enter the search statement as
     follows:
     Sample: homelessness and schizophrenia
     and pt=empirical-study
3.  To further limit searches to journal articles
     only, use the following type of search
     statement:
     homelessness and schizophrenia and
     pt=empirical-study and dt=journal-article
Select "Check for Holdings" button at bottom of citation.
SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS--sociological literature--GUIDE TO SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS 1.  Enter search statement in search box as
     follows:
     Sample: homelessness and qualitative and 
     dt=aja
2.  To further limit search to journal articles only,
     construct the following type of statement:
     homelessness and qualitative and dt=aja
Select "Check for Holdings" button at bottom of citation.
SOCIAL WORK ABSTRACTS--social work literature
1.  Enter search statement in search box as
     follows:
     Sample:  homelessness and qualitative
Check Randall Library's catalog, available through the Home Page.  Select "Journal Title," type in name of periodical.   If a record displays, Randall Library owns it.

Databases Offering Limited Amounts of Full-Text Articles
Science Direct, EBSCOHOST and InfoTrac OneFile (provide limited amounts of full-text articles).


RANDALL LIBRARY CATALOG
Search Tip:  
   
Select  "Subject."  Enter:  nursing--statistical methods


WORLD WIDE WEB SITES
Randall Library Subject Research Guide: Nursing Resources

      List prepared in Randall Library providing links to the important health databases, health internet resources, reference
      works, etc.
Yahoo:Science:Mathematics:Statistics:Subject-Specific Statistics:Health
      List of sites that provide health statistics
WWW Resources for Teaching Statistics
      Contains on-line courses and on-line textbooks in introductory statistics.
Last Update: December 12, 2005