Philosophy - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Rachel Radom |
| Email: |
| radomr [at] uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-2170 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: rachelrandallisl |
Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
1975 – present
(more information)
Alternative Press Index
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present
(more information)
Alternative Press Index Archive
Same as above, but covering a broader and earlier span of time.
1969 - 1990
(more information)
Ancient Greek Texts
CD from TLG Workplace. See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.
750BC - AD600
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It is part of ISI's Web of Knowledge collection of research resources.
2002 - present
ATLA Religion Database With ATLASerials (ATLA with full text)
LINK: (on campus) (off campus/wireless)
The American Theological Library Association Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Includes ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
One simultaneous user
1949 - present
(more information)
Blackwell Synergy
Search through several of Blackwell's online journals, covering subject areas including sciences, technology, medicine, business, social sciences and humanities.
ChoiceReviews.online
CHOICE reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
Sept. 1988 - present
(more information)
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)
eHRAF Archaeology
Provides a cross-cultural database of information on the world's prehistory, organized by archaeological traditions.
(more information)
eHRAF World Cultures
Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
(more information)
Opposing Viewpoints
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
3 simultaneous users
(more information)
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.
1954 - present
(more information)
Web of Knowledge
See Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
(more information)
WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)