this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

PAR 205 - American Philosophy


STARTING POINTS
These encyclopedia sets may be useful for overviews or to fill in gaps in your knowledge about philosophers or concepts:

Encyclopedia of American Social History
Location: REF HN57 .E58 1993
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Location:  REF B41 .E5
Encyclopedia of the History of Ideas
Location: REF CB5 .D52
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Location: REF B51 .R68 1998

Because the language of philosophy is not precise, you will want to try keyword searches on the concepts you are researching.  Retrieve words with variant endings by using an *.  For example, intellect* retrieves records containing any of the following words: intellect, intellectual, intellectuals, intellectualism.  Then, look at the subject headings field of the records that seem relevant to discover new terms to search.  Basic Subject Headings to use when searching for materials related to your project on American philosophy and scientific research are:

Inventions-United States Science-Philosophy-History
Philosophy and Science Science-Social Aspects-United States
Science and Civilization Technology and State
Science and State Technology-History-United States
Science-History-United States  

For your project on anti-intellectualism, try:

Education-Social Aspects-United States
Intellectual life-United States
Intellectuals-United States
Learning and Scholarship

For your final project, try:
 

Allegiance Responsibility
Christian ethics Social Contract
Citizenship Social Ethics
Civil society [specific religious, ethnic or other group identities]
Civics

If you know of specific philosophers who wrote about the topics you are researching, search their names (last name first) as authors and as subjects.  To find even more, search the name as a keyword.  This will also retrieve books in which the name appears in the contents notes of book or video records. 


Library Catalog

Search for materials in Randall Library by using the online Library Catalog located in the middle of the Randall Library homepage [http://library.uncwil.edu]. Searching the Library Catalog will give you call numbers and locations for books, maps, N. C. documents, U.S. Government documents, special collections, microforms, music scores, periodicals titles, audiovisual materials, reserve materials and the Curriculum Materials Center materials help in the Library.


Article Databases/Indexes

Online, CD-ROM and Print periodical indexes provide citations (e.g., author, title, a journal name, volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) to identify articles. Most indexes also include abstracts (summaries) and a small handful of online indexes provide selected full text of the actual article. The Library does not own every article cited in each index so remember to check the Library Catalog to verify if we own the journal the article was published in.

ONLINE INDEXES
Citations to periodical articles about art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and world history. 1984+ Archive of scholarly online journals, full text with search engine. Coverage is usually back to volume 1 of of the publication, but excludes the latest 3-5 years.   
Humanities Index--Guide to Humanities Index  
JSTOR  
Science Direct Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection, along with journals from a host of prestigious societies.  1995+
America: History & Life U.S. and Canadian history.  Indexes history journal articles, book reviews, media reviews and dissertations.  1964+
PAIS International Citations to public policy, economics, government, law, etc.  Indexes periodical articles, books, chapters in books and websites.  1972+
EbscoHost Indexing and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. (indexing: 1984+, full-text: 1990+).

 

PRINT INDEX
Philosopher's Index
Index Collection B72 .P45

An alphabetical title listing of online databases/indexes can be found on the Library homepage by choosing "Database and Article Searching" located at the top of the page. A listing of databases broken down into general subject areas can be accessed by choosing "Subject Research Guides" on the Library home page.


CITATION CYCLING
When you find a useful resource, be sure to check its bibliography for additional resources.  This technique will often find new information sources that even the most complete online searches miss.  Then, when you go to those resources, look in their bibliographies for even more. 


WORKING FROM OFF CAMPUS
UNCW Students and Faculty may access Databases from Home. If you are NOT on campus, you must add a PIN to your library record.  

PIN Number:
To set a PIN (Personal Identification Number) on your library record, simply click on the "My Library Record" link on the Library homepage and follow the instructions. In addition to using your PIN for home access to library resources you need to have a PIN number to check your due dates, renew materials, put holds on books already checked out, or to access certain electronic reserves.

LIBRARY MAPS:
The following links will take you to "clickable floor" plans of Randall Library. To use the maps, simply click on the area of the library you would like more information about.
First Floor [http://library.uncwil.edu/librarytour/1stfloor.html]
Second Floor [http://library.uncwil.edu/librarytour/2ndfloor.html]


NEW USERS:
If you are a new user of Randall, take a moment to look over the online guide "Using Randall Library" [http://library.uncwil.edu/randallguide/welcome.html] for a "how-to" basics of using the Library.

Last Update: December 12, 2005