Physics - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Peter Fritzler |
| Email: |
| fritzlerp@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7807 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: peterfritzler1 |
Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
1975 – present
(more information)
Agricola
Agricola is the most comprehensive database to citations of journal articles, theses, patents, software and technical reports on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition. Good for soil chemistry, plant cell biochemistry and plant genetics. Useful for fisheries & aquaculture. 1979 - present
(more information)
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Via Randall Library's subscription to the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts suite of databases. ASFA is a premier reference database for citations and abstracts of the world's literature dealing with the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms. This source combines three major files that cover the biological sciences and living resources; ocean technology, policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Two specialized files are also included, which are aquaculture and marine biotechnology. (more information)
Biological Abstracts
Leading index to worldwide journal literature in the life sciences and one of the most important resources to biologists.
1969 - Present (Print: 1926-1968)
Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, covering all subject areas including sciences, technology, medicine, business, social sciences and humanities
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Provides access to databases in the sciences, social sciences, philosophy and education.
CERN Document Server (CDS)
Searchable database with over 800,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. Available from CERN , the European Organization for Nuclear Research, the world's largest particle physics centre.
Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions at major scientific meetings.
1982 - present
(more information)
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts: 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts: 1988 - present
E-PRINT Network
Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.
Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Multidisciplinary database that covers all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. Also includes abstracts of environmental impact statements (1985 - present) issued by the US government. Each entry includes a description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. 1967 - present
(more information)
GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database indexing geography and geology, including cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, ecology, environment, petrology,
geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics and
volcanology from 1980 to the present. The database contains over 600K references with abstracts from journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
GeoRef
Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and dissertations/theses along with references to all publications of the US Geological Survey.
Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
Fermilab Preprints
Available from the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, website provides a searchable database of monthly lists of Fermilab preprints and technical publications.
1970 - present
GrayLit Network
Full-text access to unpublished technical reports of research funded by U.S. Depts. of Energy & Defense, EPA and NASA
Free
Journal of Chemical Education
Index contains citations for all articles published in the Journal.
1924 - present
NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in AstronomySome full-text articles, as well as astronomy preprints, are available, including digitized historical astronomy and astrophysics literature
NOAA Library Catalog
An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.
Oceanic Abstracts
Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
1981 - present
(more information)
PapersFirst
PapersFirst indexes over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
ProceedingsFirst
ProceedingsFirst indexes over 19,000 citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
PubMed
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists.
1950s - present
ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection.
1995 - present
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.
State Academies of Science Abstracts
Covers all of the major science disciplines and serves as an authoritative reference on research specific to your state and region.
(more information)
Toxicology Abstracts
Covers pharmaceuticals, agro chemicals, natural toxins, industrial chemicals. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
1981 - present
(more information)
TOXLINE
Citations to articles, technical reports, theses on toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
1999 - present
(more information)
Wiley InterScience
Searchable database of science journals.
WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Last Update: February 21, 2007