Public and International Affairs - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Ameet Doshi |
| Email: |
| doshia@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-2078 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: heyameetd |
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Sue Cody |
| Email: |
| codys@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7409 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: sueann53 |
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS) International
This database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
1972 - present
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS) Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
1915 - 1976
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
1975 - present
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
LexisNexis Academic
Broad-based guide to news sources, this database also provides a legal area with law review articles and federal, state and international statutes and case law.
1970's - present
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences. Includes 33 political science, 10 public administration and 41 law journals.
ABI Inform
Provides abstracts of articles from international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines on U.S. and international subjects in business and management.
1971 - present
Academic Search Premier
This database covers academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
1975 – present
(more information)
Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present
Alternative Press Index Archive
1969-1990
America: History & Life
U.S. and Canadian prehistory to the present.
(more information)
American Foreign Relations Since 1600
A team of distinguished historians has culled the most important published and
unpublished works in U.S diplomatic literature and thoroughly annotated them.
The work comprehensively covers five centuries, from America's colonial era into
the 21st century.
America's Newspapers
Full text access to 30 U.S. newspapers, including 16 in North Carolina (e.g., Wilmington Star-News, Raleigh News & Observer.)
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
This indexing and abstracting source contains a subfile on ocean policy and technology that will be useful to those in coastal area management.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Blackwell Synergy (See Wiley InterScience)
Cambridge Journals Online
Full text for selected Cambridge University Press journals, including 21 political science and 11 law journals.
Catalog of U. S. Government Publications (CGP)
Online catalog of U.S. government publications issued to depository libraries since 1976. Randall Library is a selective depository, receiving 70% of the items. Since the library has included records in its catalog only since 1990, this is a major finding aid publications issued 1976-1990.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexing and full-text access for communications journals. Particularly useful for studies on political rhetoric and the intersection of politics and mass media.
Congressional Record
The official record of the United States Congress.
Free
1995 - present
CQ Electronic Library
Combined online access to Congressional Quarterly Press' CQ Encyclopedia of American Government, CQ Historic Documents, CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly.
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government (EAG) provides answers to the full range of questions that students, government professionals, interested citizens, and other researchers have about the institutions of U.S. government. Based on the CQ Press ready-reference American Government A to Z series, EAG offers thousands of concise, up-to-date explanations of the who, how, and why of American democracy.
(more information on Encyclopedia of American Government)
CQ Historic Documents
Approximately 100 key documents for each year since 1972 are available in full-text. Includes presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to
U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
1991 - present
(more information)
CQ Weekly
Non-partisan, in-depth coverage of the U.S. Congress with analysis of key issues, background on bills to watch and voting records.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Citations to criminology and related disciplines.
1968 - present
(more information)
Dictionary of National Biography - (DNB)
56,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and
beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)
Declassified primary source docuements on post World War II U.S. foreign policy, intelligence and security issues.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts 1988 - present
(more information)
EconLit
Indexing for 700 economics journals, as well as books and policy reports. Excellent for the study of economic policy and international trade.
1969-date
Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)
EIS Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.
Environmental Law Reporter
Provides original source documents, editorial summaries and expert analysis on state, federal and international issues related to environmental policy. (Password required - contact the Reference Desk at 962-3760.)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information on Europa)
Europa World
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. See the reference desk for username and password information. 910-962-3760
(more information on ERIC)
Federal Register
Database from GPO Access of rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and more.
Free
(more information)
FedStats
The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
Find NC
Database with search engine to locate North Carolina government publications.
Gallup Poll Public Opinion
CD of questions and answers polls with cumulative index.
1935 - 1997
Government Periodicals Index
Index of approximately 300 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record .
Free
(more information)
GPO Monthly Catalog
Catalog of U.S. government documents, nearly identical in content to the Catalog of U. S. Government Publications.
1976-date
Historic Documents
The online version of an annual set of primary source documents issued since 1972. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Historical Abstracts
1450 - present
(more information)
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
Pre-Colonial America - present
(more information on Historical Statistics of the United States)
LexisNexis Congressional
Comprehensive U.S. legislative information.
1995 - present
(more information)
LexisNexis Statistical
U.S. statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
ASI: 1973 - present
SRI: 1980 - present
IIS: 1983 - present
(more information)
LINC: Log Into North Carolina
This free website offers statistical data on North Carolina from both state and federal agencies, from the 1960s to projections for the future. It has preformatted or customizable report capabilities.
Maps
Geopolitical and topographic reference maps from NewsBank.
MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)
Military & Government Collection (on campus) (off campus/wireless)
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Some publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.
Nations of the World (nations and associated jurisdictions)
The Law Library of Congress provides this free database with links to constitutions, branches of government, legal guides and general sources for approximately 225 nations and territories.
NCJRS Abstracts Database
Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts with summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.
Free
NCJRS Full-text Database
Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Searches the NCJRS web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
Free
(more information)
New York Times
ProQuest Newspapers
Jan 1999 - present
Lexis-Nexis Academic
June 1980 - present
New York Times Archive
1855-last 3 years
North Carolina Encyclopedia
This free resource from the State Library of North Carolina provides brief articles with useful links on the following categories: Counties & Communities, Education, Geography, Health & Society, History, People, State Government and State Symbols.
North Carolina Homepage
Official website for the State of North Carolina.
North Carolina Information
NCLIVE provides this set of links to standard North Carolina government reports, North Carolina newspapers, and related sources.
North Carolina Periodicals Index
East Carolina University's Joyner Library provides this selective index to North Carolina periodicals not typically indexed elsewhere.
Ocean Technology, Policy & Non-living Resources
A subfile of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts that will be useful for coastal area management research.
Opposing Viewpoints
This database provides a wealth of full-text resources on controversial topics. The Viewpoints section contains pro-con essays on specific questions related to the topics. Other sections are Reference (encyclopedia articles), Magazines, Academic Journals, News, Primary Sources, Statistics, Multimedia (broadcast transcripts) and Websites. (3 simultaneous users.)
Oxford Journals
Full text of journals from Oxford University Press, including 28 law journals and 36 social science journals.
Philosopher's Index
Indexes 550 philosophy journals, 1940 to the present.
Polling the Nations
Browse by topic or search for survey data from more than 14,000 surveys conducted by over 1,000 polling organizations in the United States and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present. (One simultaneous user.)
Project MUSE
A broad-based full-text journal collection, including 29 journals on politics and public policy and 4 law journals.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexing for the most popular general-interest periodicals published primarily in the United States, 1890-1982. (1 user at a time.)
Risk Abstracts
Part of the CSA/Proquest Illumina database collection, this resource is compiled by the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo. Risk Abstracts
indexes publications about risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and
other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.
Sage eReference
Sage provides full-text access to 45 specialized encyclopedias. Among the titles of particular interest to Public and International Affairs are:
Encyclopedia of Community
Encyclopedia of Governance
Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Encyclopedia of Leadership
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Encyclopedia of United States National Security
Encyclopedia of War and American Society
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
Social Sciences Citation Index
The library has access from 2002 to the present. Search journals and cited references.
SpringerLink
Selected full-text journals from Springer, including 13 political science journals.
State Data Center
Data about North Carolina, including how it compares with other states.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Website from the U.S. Census Bureau. The paper version or CD version is available at the Reference Desk.
Free
(more information)
STAT-USA
U.S. government business and trade information. Password required inquire at Reference Desk.
(more information)
Thomas
Full text access to current bills in U.S. Congress.
Free
1995 - present
(more information)
United Nations Common Database
Statistical data is available from this free UN website by country, topic, or source.
U. S. Government Periodicals Index. See Government Periodicals Index
Wall Street Journal
1984 - present
WDI (World Development Indicators) Online (choose Institutional Subscribers) or try here
Provides data on over 600 development indicators for 208 countries and 18 regional country groups. Data may not be available for every combination of indicator/country.
Web of Knowledge
Provides combined access to Institute for Scientific Information databases, e.g, citation indexes and provides a web-based version of the EndNote bibliographic management program.
Wiley InterScience
Provides full text access to 50 law journals, 61 political science journals, and 20 social policy & welfare journals.
World FactBook
Database of country profiles produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Free
(more information)
WorldCat
This union catalog of books and other materials in 9,000 libraries worldwide. It indicates titles held by Randall Library and provides a link to the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service.
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Last Update: August 21, 2008