Course Guides: PLS 111 - Politics in Global Perspective
There are a number of resources available to you from the Randall Library. Each takes some time to explore and consider as a research choice.
Some sources will be:
Give yourself time to search each resource area to find your sources for this project.
Open your browser to the Randall Library Catalog.
Search by "Subject" in the drop-down menu (to the left of the search box -click the black triangle).
Suggested Subject Headings:
Search the Databases (top-center of the library website Search The Research Databases).
Try these databases:
Websites are free and often useful tools - but be careful, they may not be authoritative.
http://europa.eu.int/pol/ext/index_en.htm
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/euguide/euguide.htm
- Search for "Lisbon Agenda," "Lisbon Strategy," "Foriegn Affairs" AND *your country*) in all of the above
Think about these topics while pursuing your research:
How does the country approach welfare?
What is its pattern of economic growth?
What is its foreign policy towards the EU?
What is the EU?
What variables or influences have there been recently that might affect this country's policies (major news stories, catastrophies, depression, terror strikes)?
Below are some selected titles from the Randall Library. Beneath each title, the subject headings that the Library of Congress uses to classify each title are listed. Use these subject headings in the search box of the Randall Catalog (drop-down menu - "Subject") to search for additional titles that discuss similar subjects.
Culture Grams.
Call number: GT150 .C85 - Reference Collection
Subject Terms:
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: A Tour Through History from Ancient Times to the Present / Joyce E. Salisbury, general editor.
Call Number: GT31.G74 - Reference Collection
Subject Terms:
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World / edited by Saul B. Cohen.
Call Number: G103.5 .C65 1998 - Reference Collection
Subject Terms:
The World Factbook.
Call Number: G122 .U56 - Reference Collection
Subject Terms:
The National Geographic Desk Reference.
Call Number: G123 .N38 1999 - Reference Collection
Subject Terms:
The Statesman's Year-book.
Call Nubmer: JA51 .S7 - Ready Reference
Subject Terms:
European Union Foreign Policy: What it is and What it Does.
Call Number: D1060 .S58 2002 - General Collection (2nd Floor)
Subject Terms:
Global Europe: The European union in World Affairs
Call Number: D1058 .P54 1997 - General Collection ( 2nd Floor)
Subject Terms:
The European Union is a unique, treaty-based, institutional framework that defines and manages economic and political cooperation among its fifteen European member countries.
-
from http://www.eurunion.org/infores/euguide.htm
Chapter 1, "What is the European Union?"
Last Update: December 12, 2005