this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Course Guides: PLS 506 - Government Documents/Census Data


Sources discussed during library instruction:


Government Documents

Census Data

Introduction to Census | What is in Randall Library? | City Data | Census Tracts and Blocks | Comparing Data | Historical Census Data | 1990 Census | Census 2000 | Online Resources | Census Terminology Glossary | Where to go for Help | Census Citations

Important Tools: American FactFinder | CenstatsLINC   

 

Introduction to Census

The first census was conducted in 1790 and counted 3.9 million people.  Then the census was taken in the 13 original states, plus the districts of Kentucky, Maine, Vermont, and the Southwest Territory (of Tennessee).   Federal Marshalls asked six questions:  name of head of family and number of persons in household, and the number of persons in each household of the following descriptions:  Free White males 16 years and upward, free White males under 16 years, free White females, all other free persons (by sex and color) and slaves. 

Census 2000, taken April 1, 2000, counted 281,421,906 people in the 50 states and the District of Columbia.  The questionnaire included seven questions for each household:  name, sex, age, relationship, Hispanic origin, race, and whether the housing unit was owned or rented.  In addition to these seven questions, about 17 percent of the households got a much longer questionnaire including questions about ancestry, income, mortgage, and size of the housing unit.  Census 2000 not only counted the population, but also sampled the socio-economic status of the population, providing a tool for government, educators, business owners, and others to get a snapshot of the state of the nation. 

The U.S. Constitution, Article I, Section 2 mandates that an apportionment of representatives among the states, for the House of Representatives, be carried out every ten years (decennially).  Apportionment is the process of dividing the 435 seats in the US House of Representatives among the 50 states.  Congress decides the method to carry out the apportionment and, since 1940, has used the method of 'equal proportions' in accordance with Title 2, US Code. 

Using equal portions, each state is assigned one congressional seat (as provided by the Constitution).  The apportionment formula then allocates the remaining 385 seats one at a time among the 50 states until all 435 seats are assigned. 

In addition to apportionment, the decennial census results are used to:

Modified From: Census 2000 Basics (http://www.census.gov/mso/www/c2000basics/chapter2.htm)

 

What is in Randall Library?

Searching Randall Library's Online Catalog for Census Data

From the library catalog do a SUBJECT search. Type UNITED STATES CENSUS to retrieve all census materials located in the library. 

For a specific census, type in UNITED STATES CENSUS and the number of the census. For example:
Type UNITED STATES CENSUS 22nd to retrieve records for the 2000 census (the 22nd census of the United States).

To find the reports for a specific state, use the subject heading [state] CENSUS 2000, e.g., NORTH CAROLINA CENSUS 2000.

To find reports on specific cities, it is best to use the KEYWORD search option.  Type [city] CENSUS, e.g., WILMINGTON CENSUS or use a SUBJECT search for a county, e.g., New Hanover County (N.C.) -- Census, 9th, 1870.

 

City Data

American Fact Finder (Geography Search)

1. Select Census Data you wish to retrieve
2. Limit to state (North Carolina)
3. Type in name of city (e.g., Wilmington)
4. Select town or city
5. Click "OK"
6. Select data file you wish to retrieve

Also use: Geographic Comparison Tables

 

Census Tracts and Blocks

What is a Census Tract?

A census tract is a small statistical subdivision of a county. Census tract data allows a user to find population and housing statistics about a specific part of an urban area. This is particularly important when you want information about part of a city. A single community may be composed of several census tracts.

(Another definition)
A small, relatively permanent statistical subdivision of a county delineated by a local committee of census data users for the purpose of presenting data. Census tract boundaries normally follow visible features, but may follow governmental unit boundaries and other non-visible features in some instances; they always nest within counties. Designed to be relatively homogeneous units with respect to population characteristics, economic status, and living conditions at the time of establishment, census tracts average about 4,000 inhabitants. They may be split by any sub-county geographic entity.

Block group (BG)
A subdivision of a census tract (or, prior to 2000, a block numbering area), a block group is the smallest geographic unit for which the Census Bureau tabulates sample data. A block group consists of all the blocks within a census tract with the same beginning number.

Example: block group 3 consists of all blocks within a 2000 census tract numbering from 3000 to 3999. In 1990, block group 3 consisted of all blocks numbered from 301 to 399Z.

Block
A subdivision of a census tract (or, prior to 2000, a block numbering area), a block is the smallest geographic unit for which the Census Bureau tabulates 100-percent data. Many blocks correspond to individual city blocks bounded by streets, but blocks - especially in rural areas - may include many square miles and may have some boundaries that are not streets. The Census Bureau established blocks covering the entire nation for the first time in 1990. Previous censuses back to 1940 had blocks established only for part of the nation. Over 8 million blocks are identified for Census 2000.

Enter a street address to find Census 2000 data for tracts and blocks

OR

Use the following guides to help you search for data on tracts and blocks

http://library.csun.edu/mfinley/census90.html

http://library.csun.edu/mfinley/soc410.html

http://www.lib.unc.edu/reference/instruction/plcmc/plcmcstaff.html

Guide to Historical Population and Housing Census Statistics and Maps for Small Area Geography: Blocks, Block Groups, Census Tracts, County Subdivisions, ZIP Codes, and similar areas, 1910 - 1990

A Guide to American FactFinder Geography and Functionality

Census Tract Relationship Files

Community Information by Zip Code

 

Comparing Data

You can create "Custom Tables" of data through the American FactFinder Custom Tables feature. This allows you to compare two or more geographic areas (such as comparing a city to a tract or a city to a state). 

 

Historical Census Data

Historical US Census Data

Historical Census Browser (UVA)

Measuring America: the Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000
Government Documents C 3.2:M 46/2 
URL: http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/ma.html

 

1990 Census of Population & Housing (Guide)

Census Publications:

CD-ROM (Ask for these at the Reference Desk)
1990 Census of Population and Housing:  Summary Tape File 1A.
	(100% data.)  North Carolina & South Carolina are on the disc labeled South Atlantic 
	Division, Volume 2.
1990 Census of Population and Housing:  Block Statistics Summary Tape File 1B.(100% data)
1990 Census of Population and Housing:  Summary Tape File 3A.
	(Sample data.)  North Carolina divided on 2 discs, arranged alphabetically by county.
Printed Report Series
1990 Census of Housing:  Detailed Housing Characteristics
	U.S. Documents Collection C3.224/3:990 CH-2-
1990 Census of Housing:  General Housing Characteristics (100% data)
	North Carolina volume:  Ready Reference HA201 1990 .A462
	Other states:  U.S. Documents Collection C3.224/3:990 CH-1-
1990 Census of Population:  General Population Characteristics (100% data)
	North Carolina volume:  Ready Reference HA201 1990 .A463
	Other states:  U.S. Documents Collection C3.223/6:990 CP-1-
1990 Census of Population and Housing:  Summary Population and Housing Characteristics
	(100% data) North Carolina volume:  Ready Reference HA201 1990 .A46
	Other states:   U.S. Documents Collection C3.223/18:990 CPH-1-
1990 Census of Population and Housing:  Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics
	(Sample data) North Carolina volume:  Ready Reference HA201 1990 .A461
	Other states:  U.S. Documents Collection C3.223/23:990 CPH-5-
1990 Census of Population and Housing:  Characteristics for Census Tracts and Block Numbering
	Areas (100% and Sample data.) U.S. Documents Collection C3.223/11:990 CPH-3-
	Wilmington, NC MSA:  U.S. Documents Collection C3.223/11:990 CPH-3-340 


Census 2000

Quick Start for Census 2000 Data: The first place to start searching for census data is the American FactFinder website. FactFinder is the official source for Census 2000 data on the web
URL: http://factfinder.census.gov/Introductory Materials for Census 2000:

Census 2000 Basics
UNCW US Documents C 3.2:B 29/2000
URL: http://www.census.gov/mso/www/c2000basics

Sources for Census 2000 data:

U.S. Census Bureau
URL: http://www.census.gov/

American FactFinder
URL: http://factfinder.census.gov/

Your Gateway to Census 2000
URL: http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html

2000 Census of Population and Housing. Summary Population and Housing Characteristics (PHC-1): v. 1, United States.
URL: http://www.census.gov/prod/cen2000/

Summary Files: the four primary collections of electronic census data.

Census 2000. Summary File 1:
Data available via American FactFinder: http://factfinder.census.gov/

Census 2000, Summary File 2:
Data available via American FactFinder: http://factfinder.census.gov/

Census 2000 Summary File 3:
Data available via American FactFinder: http://factfinder.census.gov/

Census 2000, Summary File 4:
Data available via American FactFinder: http://factfinder.census.gov/

Supplementary sources for Census 2000 data:

Statistical Abstract of the United States
UNCW Ready Reference HA202 .A3 
URL: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/

County and City Data Book: 2000
UNCW Reference HA 202 .A36 2000
URL: http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html

U.S. Summary 2000: Census 2000 Profile
URL: http://www.census.gov/prod/2002pubs/c2kprof00-us.pdf

Census 2000 Briefs
URL: http://www.census.gov/population/www/cen2000/briefs.html

Mapping Census 2000, the Geography of U.S. Diversity.
URL: http://www.census.gov/population/cen2000/atlas/censr01-1.pdf

United States Census 2000: Redistricting Data (Public Law 94-171)
URL: http://www.census.gov/clo/www/redistricting.html

This website provides access to data relevant to the redistricting of Congressional and state legislature districts as required by Public Law 94-171. Population changes require redistricting to ensure equality of representation. Data are available for all persons 18 and over, down to the block level.

 

Online Resources
 

Bureau of the Census Home Page

A-Z Index Subject for data tables and reports

American FactFinder

A-Z Index to Reports in PDF format

Economic Census

Map Stats

Current Economic Data

Other Data Access Tools

U.S. Census Bureau Catalog and Guide

Census Tract Relationship Files

Glossary of Geographic Concepts U.S. Gazetteer

 

Where to go for Help

Anne Pemberton

Eileen Brown (Government Documents Librarian)

Other Sources for Help

 

Citing Census Data

Here is an example of how to cite census data in APA format:

U.S. Census Bureau. 2000.  "Census 2000 Summary File 3 (SF3) - Sample Data, Table P19 Age by Language Spoken at Home by Ability to Speak English for the Population 5 Years and Over".  Retrieved 25 September 2002 from U.S. Census http://factfinder.census.gov.

In text Citation: (U.S. Census Bureau, 2000)
Last Update: December 12, 2005