PAR 235 - Introduction to the Old Testament
Objective: To introduce you to resources available in Randall Library and on the Web that will assist you in developing your papers and presentations for this class.
Contents of this Guide -
Searching the Library Catalog
Encyclopedias, & Overview Literature
Databases: Finding Articles
Evaluate What You Find
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Evaluate this Workshop
I. Searching the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog tells you
everything that Randall Library owns or has access to. This includes
books, videos, DVDs, maps, journals, and government documents. The
Library Catalog tells you where the item is located in the library,
where you can find it on the shelf, and if it is available to check out.
To search the Library Catalog go to http://library.uncwil.edu.
When you search, use KEYWORDS, not
sentences.
You can also use SUBJECT HEADINGS for a targeted, effective search.
EXAMPLES:
Bible. O.T.
Bible. O.T.--Genesis I-V--Criticism, Interpretation, etc.
Bible. O.T.--History of Biblical events
Women in the Bible
Prophets
For a detailed guide to searching the Library Catalog, consult this webpage: http://library.uncwil.edu/randallguide/search.html.
II. Encyclopedias
and Overview Literature
The list of books below
provide extensive coverage of popular and less noted scientists
throughout history The
library maintains many more sources than those listed here, so it is
important to browse the shelves around the titles listed below to locate
other relevant resources.The Reference Collection is located on
the first floor of the library to the right of the library's entrance
while the General Collection is located on the 2nd floor of the library.
Books
The Encyclopedia of religion (16
volumes)
Ref - BL31 .E46 1987
New Catholic encyclopedia (14 volumes)
Ref - BX841 .N44 2003
The Jewish encyclopedia (12 volumes)
Ref - DS102.8 .J65 1964
Cyclopaedia of Biblical, theological, and ecclesiastical literature
(10 volumes)
Ref - BR95 .M352
The Anchor
Bible dictionary (6 volumes) Ref - BS440
.A54 1992
A Dictionary of
the Bible : dealing with its language, literature, and contents,
including the Biblical theology (5 volumes)
Ref - BS440 .D52
The international standard Bible encyclopedia (4 volumes)
Ref BS4450 .I6 1979
Theological dictionary of the Old Testament (5 volumes)
Ref BS440 .T4813
The
Interpreter's Bible: the Holy Scriptures in the King James and
Revised standard versions with general articles and introduction,
exegesis, exposition for each book of the Bible Ref - BS491 .2 .I55
Men and women of the Bible: a
reader's guide
Ref - BS571 .T57 2002
III. Databases for Finding Articles: (back to top)
The following databases will be helpful for finding articles about religion and media in magazines, journals and newspapers. ATLA Religion Database The American Theological Library Association Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Subscription - based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#a) -family:
JSTOR online archive of scholarly journals covering
religion, anthropology, history, literature, and more. (Subscription - based
access:
http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#j)
Academic Search Elite - this multidisciplinary database covers more than 2,050
scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. (Subscription based
access:
http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#a)
IV. Evaluate What You Find:(back to top)
It is important to evaluate the information you find and use in your research. This applies to books, videos, websites, and journal articles. The following criteria will help you decide if an item is appropriate to use in your project. Relevance: is the item appropriate for your research? Validity: where is the information coming from? Reliability: is the information accurate? PerspectiveBias: does the author have an agenda? Credibility: who is the author? what are their credentials? Currency: when was it published? Audience: who is the information written for?
References: is there a list of sources?
V. Interlibrary
Loan (ILLiad):(back
to top)
What if the Library doesn't own the
journal in which your article was published? Use Randall Library's Interlibrary
Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order
articles you need from another library. This is a FREE
service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to
know which library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into
your ILLiad account and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain
the article for you. It generally takes 3-4 days for the library to
process your request and obtain the article, so don't wait until the
last minute for materials that you need!
To access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage
and under theLibrary Services
section click on the following:Interlibrary
Loan and Document Delivery
Evaluate this Workshop:
(back
to top)In
an effort to continuously monitor and develop not only the content of
these resource guides but also my presentation skills, I would like you to
take a few minutes to complete the
Evaluation
Form [http://library.uncwil.edu/forms/bieval.htm]. If there are aspects of this workshop that you
liked/disliked or would like to have improved, please feel free to
identify those in the evaluation. I appreciate your comments and taking
the time to complete this evaluation. Thank you.
< Back to Religion Subject Guide
Last Update: December 12, 2005