PAR 495 - Rastas & Garvey
I. Searching
the Library Catalog
The Library Catalog tells you
everything that Randall Library owns or has access to. This includes
books, videos, DVDs, maps, journals, and government documents. The
Library Catalog tells you where the item is located in the library,
where you can find it on the shelf, and if it is available to check out.
To search the Library Catalog go to http://library.uncwil.edu.
When you search, use KEYWORDS, not sentences. You can also use SUBJECT HEADINGS for a targeted, effective search.
EXAMPLES:
Rastafari Movement
Rastafari Movement--History
Reggae music
Reggae music--History and criticism
Garvey, Marcus, 1887-1940
Black nationalism
For a detailed guide to searching the Library Catalog, consult this webpage: http://library.uncwil.edu/randallguide/search.html.
II. Encyclopedias
and Overview Literature:
The list of books below
provide extensive coverage of popular and less noted scientists
throughout history The
library maintains many more sources than those listed here, so it is
important to browse the shelves around the titles listed below to locate
other relevant resources. The Reference Collection is located on
the first floor of the library to the right of the library's entrance
while the General Collection is located on the 2nd floor of the library.
Books
Encyclopedia of
African American society (2
volumes)
Ref E185 .E546 2005
The
African-American atlas : Black history and culture--an illustrated
reference
Ref E185 .A79 1998
Encyclopedia of
African American religions
Ref
BR563.N4 E53 1993
III. Databases for Finding Articles: (back to top)
The following databases will be helpful for finding articles about religion and media in magazines, journals and newspapers.
ATLA Religion Database - The American Theological Library Association Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#a)
America: History and Life - U.S. and Canadian prehistory to the present. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#a)
Historical Abstracts - Indexes scholarly literature of world history, 1450-present. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#h)
Sociological Abstracts - Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#s)
JSTOR- online archive of scholarly journals covering religion, anthropology, history, literature, and more. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#j)
Academic Search Elite - this multidisciplinary database covers more than 2,050 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#a)
InfoTrac OneFile - a comprehensive periodical database covering all subjects and all types of periodicals. It has over 22 million full-text articles on all subjects from over 5000 periodical titles including articles from newswires and general, professional, scholarly and children's periodicals. (Subscription-based access: http://library.uncwil.edu/elist3.html#i).
IV. Evaluate What You Find: (back to top)
It is important to evaluate the information you find and use in your research. This applies to books, videos, websites, and journal articles. The following criteria will help you decide if an item is appropriate to use in your project.
|
Relevance: is the item appropriate for your research? |
Validity: where is the information coming from? |
|
Reliability: is the information accurate? |
Perspective/Bias: does the author have an agenda? |
|
Credibility: who is the author? what are their credentials? |
Currency: when was it published? |
|
Audience: who is the information written for? |
References: is there a list of sources? |
V. Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad): (back to top)
What if the Library doesn't own the
journal in which your article was published? Use Randall Library's Interlibrary
Loan and Document Delivery service, and the library will order
articles you need from another library. This is a FREE
service for students, faculty, and staff at UNCW. You do not need to
know which library owns the journal that you need. Simply login into
your ILLiad account and provide us with the citation, and we'll obtain
the article for you. It generally takes 3-4 days for the library to
process your request and obtain the article, so don't wait until the
last minute for materials that you need!To
access this service, please see Randall Library's homepage http://library.uncwil.edu)
and under the Library Services
section click on the following: Interlibrary
Loan and Document Delivery
Evaluate this Workshop:
(back
to top) In
an effort to continuously monitor and develop not only the content of
these resource guides but also my presentation skills, I would like you to
take a few minutes to complete the
Evaluation
Form [http://library.uncwil.edu/forms/bieval.htm]. If there are aspects of this workshop that you
liked/disliked or would like to have improved, please feel free to
identify those in the evaluation. I appreciate your comments and taking
the time to complete this evaluation. Thank you.
< Back to Religion Subject Guide
Last Update: December 12, 2005