History of Social Work Resources
Video: Legacies of Social Change: 100 Years of Professional Social Work in the US (A/V) HM831 .L442 2001
Books:
The Altruistic Imagination: A
History of Social Work and Social Policy in the United States. Reserves HV91
.E38 1985
American Social History Since 1860. Reference and General Collection E169.1
.A437 1971
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America. Reference
HV27 .B57 1986
Children and Youth in America: A Documentary History. General Collection HV741
.B77
Encyclopedia of Social Work. Reference HV35 .S6 (1929 - 1995)
From Character Building to Social Treatment: The History of the Use of Groups
in Social Work. General Collection HV45 .R44
From Poor Law to Welfare State: A History of Social Welfare in America.
General Collection HV91 .T7 1984
A History of Social Welfare and Social Work in the United States.
General Collection HV91 .L37
Moral Purposes of Social Work: The Character and Intentions of a
Profession. General Collection HV10.5 .M67 1992
National Conference on Social Welfare General Collection HV88 .A3
(1946, 1960, 1965)
The Professionalization of Poverty: Social Work and the Poor in the Twentieth
Century. General Collection HV40.8.U6 P76 1999
The Rural Community and Social Case Work. General Collection and
Special Collections HV41 .B7 1933
Social Welfare: A History of the American Response to Need. General
Collection HV91 .A94 1975
Social Welfare in America: An Annotated Bibliography. Reference
HV91 .S624 1983
The Heritage of American Social Work: Readings in its Philosophical
and Institutional Development. General Collection HV91 .P8
Jane Addams
The Excellent Becomes the Permanent. General Collection CT219
.A3 1970
Jane Addams and the Dream of American Democracy: A Life. General
Collection HV28.A35 E57 2002
Jane Addams: A Centennial Reader. General Collection
HN5 .A3
The Long Road of Woman's Memory. Special
Collections HQ1206 .A25 1916
A New Conscience and an Ancient Evil. General Collection HQ144
.A7 1972
Peace and Bread in Time of War. Special
Collections D613 .A3 1983
The Spirit of Youth and the City Streets. General
Collection HQ796 .A3 1909
Twenty Years at Hull-House: with Autobiographical Notes. General
Collection HV4196.C4 H7 1938
Florence Kelley
Impatient
Crusader: Florence Kelley's Life Story. Goldmark, Josephine Clara. General
Collection HN57.K4 G6
Florence Kelley and the Nation's
Work. Sklar, Kathryn Kish. General Collection HQ1413.K45
S58 1995
v.1
Lillian Wald
The House on Henry Street. General Collection HV4196.N6 H5 1915
Always a Sister: the Feminism of Lillian D. Wald. General Collection HQ1413.W34
D36 1989
Women of Valor: the Struggle
Against the Great Depression as Told in Their Own Life Stories.
General Collection
HQ1412 .W66 1990
Other
Pioneers of Social Work
Two Sisters for Social Justice: A Biography of Grace and Edith Abbott.
General Collection HV27 .C67 1983
From Charitable Volunteers to Architects of Social Welfare: A Brief History of Social Work (Univ. of Michigan)
Heatherbank Museum of Social Work (Europe)
Social Work History Network (Europe)
The Social Work History On-Line Time-Line
Social Work History Station (Boise State)
Women and Social Movements
in the United States, 1775-2000.
Last Update: December 12, 2005