SWK 435 - Social Welfare Policies (Finding Policy Information)
Use a keyword search to
locate government documents and books on social policy issues. Try:
social and policy
social work and policy
or look for something more specific: looking for information on the
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of
1996? Try using the keyword search: personal and responsibility and
work and opportunity
Try subject heading search
using the following:
Health
policy -- United States
Medical
policy -- United States
National
health services
Public
health
Public welfare -- Government policy
-- United States
Public welfare -- United States -- History
Social
medicine
Social policy
Social
policy -- Economic aspects
-- United States -- History
Social
policy -- Political
aspects -- United States -- History
United States -- Social
policy
United States -- Economic policy
United States -- Politics and government
Some selected print
resources:
American Policy Making: Welfare as Ritual
General Collection
HV95 .E69 2002
Domestic Violence in the Lives of Children: the Future of Research,
Intervention, and Social Policy General Collection
HQ784.V55 D65 2001
Ethical Dimensions of Health Policy General Collection RA395.A3
E846 2002
Governing Health: The Politics of Health Policy General
Collection RA395.A3 W45 2002
Policies for an Aging Society
General Collection
HQ1064.U5 P62 2002
Public Policy in the United States: At the Dawn of the Twenty-first
Century General Collection JK468.P64 R87 2002
Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach
General Collection RA395.A3 B63 2002
Selected Journals
Drugs Education, Prevention & Policy
Health Affairs
Health Expectations An International Journal Of Public Participation
In Health Care And Health Policy
Health Policy and Planning
Health Policy Online
Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law
Journal of Policy History: JPH
Journal of Public Health Policy
Policy Review
Social Philosophy & Policy
Social Policy
Databases (for finding articles, statistics, etc.)
EbscoHost (can search several databases at one time including Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Newspaper Source, CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Health Source Consumer Edition, and Military and Government Collection)
InfoTrac
Lexis-Nexis
(use "Legal Research" and "Medical" to search for
current news on health policy)
Accessing Government Documents at Randall Library
Federal Documents
Documents received by the library published since 1990 can be searched through our online catalog with links added to full text online information when available.
Documents published since 1976 can be identified by searching the GPO Monthly Catalog database. Internet links are included in the record when available. A symbol for UNCW appears next to the record when the document is in the library's collection (1990- )
Older documents (pre 1976- ) can be identified by searching WorldCat. A symbol for UNCW appears next to the catalog record if owned by UNCW (1990- )
Many federal documents are available full text on the Internet and can be accessed by using search engines such as Google or Google Uncle Sam.
State Documents
Collection began in 1989.
All documents received by the library can be searched through our online catalog.
State documents can be identified by searching WorldCat. A symbol for UNCW appears next to records for documents owned by Randall Library.
State documents can also be identified by searching the State of North Carolina Home Page and the State Library Home Page.
Many state documents are currently only available full text through the Internet by using search engines such as Google.
SuDoc
Classification System
Government
Resources
Legislative
Histories (Randall Library Guide)
Search
Lexis-Nexis Congressional University for Histories
Google's Uncle Sam Search [http://www.google.com/unclesam]
Census
Data
Last Update: December 12, 2005