Sociology - Databases
| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Ameet Doshi |
| Email: |
| doshia@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-2078 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: doshia |
AgeLine
Searchable database from AARP containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, and videos.
Free
1977– present
(more information)
Alternative Press Index
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1991 - present
Alternative Press Index Archive
Provides international and interdisciplinary in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
1969 - 1990
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present
Blackwell-Synergy
Search through Blackwell's online journals, the majority of which are published on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies.
Child Abuse, Child Welfare and Adoption
Formerly Child Abuse and Neglect. CD Bibliographic source for journals, books and reports on the maltreatment, safety, permanency and well being of children. - please ask at Reference Desk for assistance.
1965 - Feb. 2001
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology
Provides a cross-cultural database of information on the world's prehistory, organized by archaeological traditions.
(more informationon eHRAF Collection of Archaeology)
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups.
(more informationon eHRAF Collection of Ethnography)
Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)
Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record.
Free
(more information)
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)
Lexis-Nexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)
MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Volume 9 - present
(more information)
NCJRS Abstracts Database
Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts with summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.
Free
NCJRS Full-text Database
Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Searches the NCJRS web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
Free
(more information)
PAIS Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
1915 - 1976
(more information)
PAIS International
This database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
1972 - present
(more information)
Population Index on the Web
Annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
Go to JSTOR for pre-1986 full text articles.
ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
(more information)
ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection. 1995 - present
(more information)
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.
State Data Center
North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.
Free
Web of Knowledge
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content.
Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.
Last Update: February 21, 2007