Resources from the Library Collection
Search for materials in Randall
Library by using the online Library Catalog located in the middle of the Randall
Library homepage [http://library.uncwil.edu].
Search terms that may be
helpful are: population, statistics, the name of the country your are
researching, demographics, vital statistics, mortality, social conditions and
etc. Search
for library materials with a keyword search using your search terms. If you
would like to combine related keywords,
use the connector AND.
For example: "population" and "statistics".
Reference HA17
.D45
Europa World Year Book
Reference JN1 .E85
Gale Country & World Rankings
Reporter Reference
HA155 .G35 1995
3,000 country & world area rankings on a
variety of topics, including arts and leisure, demographics, education,
government expenditures, taxes, etc., from government, business, and general
interest sources.
International Health Data Reference
Guide US Documents HE 20.6208/13: 997
National Population Policies /
Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division
Reference HB871 .N33 1998
and HB871 .N33 1999 Addendum
World Population Profile
US Documents C
3.205/3:WP- 98
The World Guide 1999/2000
Reference HC59.69
.G8432 1999
State of the World : a
Worldwatch Institute report on progress toward a sustainable society
General Collection HC59 .S734
Databases
Electronic:
Databases are available
through the Randall Library Homepage (http://library.uncwil.edu) by choosing
"Database and Article Searching"
located in the middle of the homepage. Databases are listed alphabetically.
The databases listed below can provide statistical
information.
Periodical indexes provide citations (e.g., author, title, a journal name,
volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) to identify articles.
Suggested Keywords, Headings, Subheadings
Population: statistics, demographics, vital statistics,
mortality, social conditions social surveys, name of country your are
researching and etc.
Electronic:
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the world's literature in
sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical
and applied.
- Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature of world history, 1450-present.
- PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service
Citations to public policy, economics, government, law, etc publications.
Print:
- Population Index
Index Collection HB848 .P6
Internet Resources
The reliability and quality of information from Web sources has
created much debate in the academic world. Researchers must always remember that
the Web is a vast, unregulated information resource that ANYONE with the proper
tools and a little money can create a site on the Web. When viewing a site for
research purposes the three most important features to consider are:
Authority: Who's responsible for the page content? Are there any clues
about that person's qualifications?
Content: Does it seem accurate? If you don't know much about the topic
yet, consider these other questions. Are there citations to other works? Has the
page been updated recently? Are there facts you could try to verify?
Audience/Objectivity: Who designed it? And for whom? Is there obvious (or
not so obvious) bias? Is the page nothing more than a marketing tool? What level
of audience is it designed for (e.g. children, adults, students, professionals)?