this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Class Guide - THR 308: Costume Design


 

Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

 

Contact Information

 

Contact the Theatre Librarian for help!

Liza Palmer
Phone: 910-962-4234
Email: palmerl[at]uncw[dot]edu
AIM: lizajpalmer
http://library.uncw.edu/web/faculty/palmerl/

Drop by during Liza's office hours

Fall 2007
Wednesdays, 3-4pm | Thursdays, 10-11am
Randall #2080

Tuesdays, 4-5pm | Thursdays, 4-5pm
CAB #1048

Return to top

Library Services

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer walk-up reference service at the desk, telephone reference, email reference, chat reference; click the following link for details:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/administrative/help.html

Off Campus Access of Resources

In order to access Ereserves or subscription databases, you need to set up a library PIN (not to be confused with your student PIN); for more information on how to set this PIN up, click on the following link:

http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/screens/pin.html

RAP: Research Assistance Program

Designed for undergraduates, get in-depth one-on-one personal attention on helping you find information for your papers, projects, or other research; click on the following link to sign up:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/rap.html

Library Workshop Series

Randall Library offers a variety of more in-depth workshops on searching strategies, subject-specific searching, software packages, and other research-oriented topics. There are workshops for students, faculty, and staff. For more information, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/instruction/workshops/index.html

Return to top

Boolean Searching

 

For help with Boolean Searching (the language that allows you to search databases most effectively), try consulting the following site:

NYU Libraries: Interactive Boolean Search Tutorial
http://library.nyu.edu/research/tutorials/boolean/boolean.html

Return to top

Library Catalog

 

Scoped Searching

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials located at Randall Library, search the catalog, which is linked right from the library homepage (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/search%7Eb001o001c001i001).

Unscoped Searching

To search for items located at UNCP or FSU, "unscope" the catalog by selecting "UNC Coastal Library Consortium" from the dropdown menu below the search box (http://uncclc.coast.uncwil.edu/).

To request an item located at UNCP or FSU, click into the full record for the item. Then click the "Hold Item" button located at the top of the screen and log in with your name, university ID number, and library PIN (for help with your library PIN, please see: http://library.uncwil.edu/web/research/pin.html).

Suggested Search Strategies:

Keyword Search

costume

corsets

costume and theater
costume and design

(costume or dress or fashion) and design

Subject Search

Suggested searches:

costume

Return to top

Database & Article Searching

 

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases or consult print indexes; Randall Library's portal for subscription databases is linked off from the library homepage (http://library.uncw.edu/web/research/databases/index.html):

Recommended Databases for Theatre and Costume Design

EBSCOHost
Try clicking on the boxes next to Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities International Index, and MLA International Bibliography to search these databases simultaneously. General subject/Humanities subject databases; both full text and citations.

Bibliography of the History of Art (4 simultaneous users)
An art database, useful for finding articles and research on your costume topic.

CAMIO
This database offers images, text and multimedia representing a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums.

Grove Art Online (1 simultaneous user)
An online art encyclopedia -- contains numerous image links; also a very strong entry on "Dress."

IIPA Full Text (4 simultaneous users)
A database dedicated to the performing arts; primarily full text.

IngentaConnect
Indexes several major theatre journals; very simple searching capabilities.

JSTOR
Good arts focus; primarily full text.

New York Times Archive
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2001.

ProjectMUSE
Good arts coverage; primarily full text.

WorldCat
The best source for finding books and other materials that are available at other libraries worldwide -- like searching our catalog, but with access to a global library. Use this in conjunction with Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Suggested Searches in the Databases

costum* and renaissance
costum* and classical

(costum* or dress* or fashion*) and wom?n

Return to top

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

 

If Randall Library does not own a book you need, or does not subscribe to the journal or magazine that your citation leads you to, try using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It's a free service to UNCW students, faculty, and staff, and exponentially increases the number of materials you have access to. Start your research early, to allow enough times for materials from other libraries to be mailed to Randall Library.

To sign up for Interlibrary Loan, click on the following link:

http://library.uncw.edu/web/customerservices/interlibraryloan.html

Return to top

Recommended Internet Resources

 

Internet Sites

Google Image
http://www.google.com/imghp?hl=en&tab=wi&q=
Search directly for images on websites available via the Internet.

The Costume Page
http://www.costumepage.org/
"A directory of thousands of costume and costuming-related links, for the benefit of those who make and/or study costumes A directory of thousands of costume and costuming-related links, for the benefit of those who make and/or study costumes."

Elizabethan Costume Page
http://www.elizabethancostume.net/
"A searchable site that includes information, drawings, and photos about clothing for peasant, middle, and upper class men, women, and children from the Tudor and Elizabethan periods (sixteenth century) in English history."

Bissonnette on Costume: A Visual Dictionary of Fashion
http://dept.kent.edu/museum/costume/
"This site invites you to 'enter the world of fashion and witness the change in silhouettes, accessories, lingerie and hairstyles from the 18th to the 20th century.' It features annotated photographs of fashions, with an emphasis on female dress from Europe and the United States."

Works of Art: The Costume Institute
http://www.metmuseum.org/Works_Of_Art/department.asp?dep=8
"'The world-renowned Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum [in New York] possesses more than 75,000 costumes and accessories from seven centuries and five continents.' This site provides a brief overview of the collection and images of 50 specially selected items."

The History of Costume
http://www.siue.edu/COSTUMES/history.html
"'For students who are studying the history of fashion and for costume designers.' Book of 500 full-color plates showing 'historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century.'"

GladRags.com
http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlpubs/crlnews/backissues1999/april4/gladragscom.htm
A annotated directory of Internet resources from ACRL on costuming and fashion.

History of the Kimono
http://web.mit.edu/jpnet/kimono/
"This colorful site covers the development of the traditional Japanese garment from the primitive Jomon period of early history (before 300 A.D), to the Edo period (1601-1867 A.D.)."

Fashion Plate Collection
http://content.lib.washington.edu/costumehistweb/
"'This collection includes 417 fashion plates from 1806-1914 from some of the leading fashion journals of the times.' Stylistic periods include Empire (1806-1813), Georgian (1806-1836), Regency (1811-1820), Romantic (1825-1850), Victorian (1837-1859), Late Victorian (1860-1900), and Edwardian (1901-1915)."

The NYPL Picture Collection Online
http://digital.nypl.org/mmpco/
"From the New York Public Library, this is a 'collection of 30,000 digitized, public domain images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.'"

Visual Arts Data Service: London College of Fashion Paper Patterns
http://www.vads.ahds.ac.uk/collections/LCFPP.html
"The London College of Fashion's Paper Patterns collection has accumulated over the years until it numbers some 800 dating from the 1920s to the present day."

Return to top


Last Update: 20 August, 2007 11:49