Library Catalog
Search for materials in Randall Library
by using the online Library Catalog located in the middle of the Randall Library
homepage [http://library.uncwil.edu]. Searching the Library Catalog will give
you call numbers and locations for books, maps, N. C. documents, U.S. Government
documents, special collections, microforms, music scores, periodicals titles,
audiovisual materials, reserve materials and the Curriculum Materials Center
materials help in the Library.
Reference Materials
These resources can
help you become familiar with a topic and identify the keywords related to your
topic. The aim of reference materials are to offer information, assessment and a
base from which to explore your particular interest further. Reference resources
usually have a bibliography of the sources used which will direct you to other
related resources. In addition, books located in the PN 20xx section of the
Reference or General collection will all be in the subject area of
"theatre" and theatre history" if you would just like to
"browse" the collection.
A History of the Theatre REF PN 2101
.F7 1955 - A single volume covers the main events which have occurred since
the
inception of theatre.
Bibliography of Medieval Drama REF PN1751 .S77 2
vols.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre REF PN2035 .C27 1995 -
Comprehensive view of the history and practice of theatre in all
parts of the world.
Cambridge Guide to World Theatre REF PN2035 .C27
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama REF PA3024
.H35
The Crown guide to the World's Great Plays REF PN1625
.S45
Dictionary of Art REF
N31 .D5 1996 - A 34-volume encyclopedia about every aspect of the
visual arts from prehistory to
the present.
Encyclopedia of World Theatre REF PN2035
.E52
The Oxford companion to the theatre REF PN2035 .O9 1983 -
Short general history of theatre.
Penquin Dictionary of the Theatre REF PN2035
.T3
Other Sources - General Collection:
Cambridge History of Classical Literature:
Latin PA6003 .L3
A Companion to Greek Tragedy PA3131 .F4
The History of the Greek and Roman Theater PA3201 .B52
History of the Theatre PN2101 .B68
Medieval Drama PR1260 .M4
The Roman Theatre and Its Audience PA6073 .B44
Spectacle Entertainments of Early Imperial Rome PA6074
.B43
The Towneley Plays PR1260 .T68
Library of Congress
Subject Headings:
Drama, medieval (include history and criticism for works
that interpret plays)
Religious drama
Christian drama
Liturgical drama
Passion plays
Greek drama tragedy
Greek drama satyr play
Greek drama comedy
Theater Greece
Theater Rome (or any country)
Classical drama
Mysteries and miracle plays
English drama comedy (substitute another
nationality, French, Italian, Roman)
English drama to 1500
Can also search subject by Name of writer
When you have found a record for an item you wish
to locate, there are three important elements to note:

- LOCATION - what collection the item is
in determines the location and if the item can be checked out of the
library. e.g., General Collection on the second floor can be checked out
while the Reference Collection on the first floor can not be checked out.
- CALL # - provides exact location of the
item within the collection.
- STATUS - "AVAILABLE" means
item is on the shelf and "DUE" with the date it is due back to the
library.
The check out period for books for undergraduates is
21 days and the check-out desk is located next to the exit/entrance doors of the
Library. Videos and other media are kept behind the Reserves/Media Desk.
Most media items check out for 7 days.
You must have your university ID card in order to
check-out materials.
Article
Databases/Indexes
Article indexes provide citations (e.g.,
author, title, a journal name, volume, issue, page numbers, etc.) to identify
articles. Most indexes also include abstracts (summaries) and a small handful of
online indexes provide selected full text of the actual article. The Library
does not own every article cited in each index so remember to check the Library
Catalog to verify if we own the journal the article was published in.
ONLINE: Located at the Database and Article
Searching link on the Randall Library homepage. You will need a library
PIN number to access the online resources. (see below)
Historical Abstracts Guide
to Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature of world
history, 1450-present.
Humanites Index Guide
to Humanities Index
Citations
to art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and
world history. Silver Platter
MLA International Bibliography Guide
to MLA
Indexes periodical articles on
literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
EBSCOHost - Academic Search FullTEXT Elite
Indexing
and abstracts of scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities,
education and more. Some
fulltext.
InfoTrac OneFile
Indexing
and abstracts of some peer reviewed/scholarly journals on a wide range of
topics. Some fulltext.
WorldCat
Books and other materials in
libraries worldwide.
PRINT:
Art Index
Citations to articles and art
reproductions about art worldwide. 1929+
Web-Site Evaluation
The reliability and quality of information from Web sources has created much
debate in the academic world. Researchers must always remember that the Web is a
vast, unregulated information resource that ANYONE with the proper tools and a
little money can create a site on the Web. When viewing a site for research
purposes, users can and should perform a Web-site analysis by consider the some
of the following points taken from Thinking
Critically about World Wide Web Resources - UCLA College Library:
Who is the author of the page or site? Does the author appear to be qualified to
write about the topic?
Is the site affiliated with any institution, company, or organization? If so,
does this affiliation add bias to the information? Or, does it suggest that the
source is credible?
Does the information seem unreasonably or unfairly biased in any way? (Avoid any
sites that appear to be advertising a product or service.)
Who is the intended audience? Is the information for a specialized or general
audience?
When was the site created or last modified? Is the design of the site effective?
Is it easy to navigate the site? Do links to other sites work?
Helpful Information
Off Campus Access to
Library Resources
UNCW Students and Faculty may access Databases from Home. If you are NOT on
campus, you must have a library PIN number.
PIN Number:
To set a PIN (Personal Identification Number) on your library record,
simply click on the "My Library Record" link on the Library homepage
and follow the instructions. In addition to using your PIN for home access to
library resources you need to have a PIN number when printing out certain
electronic reserves.
Inter-Library Loan (ILL)
ILL is a free service to UNCW students, faculty, staff and administration
through which research materials (articles, books, etc.) not owned by Randall
Library may be borrowed from other library collections. Allow up to two weeks
for delivery of materials. Photocopies are mailed directly to your campus
mailbox. Pickup notices for books are mailed to your campus address as well. ILL
materials are requested online from the ILL webpage [http://library.uncwil.edu/ill_home.htm].
Before using ILL, check the Library Catalog and the appropriate electronic
databases. If the material you need is not available in any of these sources,
you may request the item using one of the above listed forms.
Last Update: December 12, 2005