this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Theatre - Databases



Primary Contact:
Liza Palmer
Email:
palmerl@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-4234
IM Chat Name:
AIM: lizajpalmer

Start Here

EBSCOHost
For Theatre searching, try clicking on any combination of the following databases:

  • Academic Search Premier,
  • MasterFILE Premier,
  • America: History & Life,
  • Art Abstracts,
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete,
  • Historical Abstracts,
  • Humanities International Index,
  • MLA International Bibliography.

IIPA Full Text
4 simultaneous users
1864 - present
(more information)

JSTOR
(more information)

LexisNexis Academic
For theatre reviews and art news from magazines and newspapers.
1970s - present
(more information)

New York Times Archive
Digital archives for the New York Times
1851 - (last three years not available)
(more information)

ProjectMUSE
(more information)

Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
(more information)

WorldCat
Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
1200 - present
(more information)

Other Suggestions

Anthropological Index Online
Search engine to Citations of anthropology articles from the Royal Anthropological Institute
Free
1970 - present
(more information)

Anthropological Literature
Citations to anthropology and archaeology, some art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
One simultaneous user
1880's - present
(more information)

Art Index
1929-current
Index Collection N 1.A437

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information on Ethnic NewsWatch)

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
1988 - present

Newsbank
America's Newspapers

Newspaper Source
Searches the following newspapers:
- New York Times
- Wall Street Journal
- Christian Science Monitor
- USA Today
(more information)

New York Times

North Carolina ECHO
Exploring Cultural Heritage Online. Access to special collections in North Carolina libraries, archives, and museums.

Play Index
Play Index enables users to search some 44,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. The database covers a wide range of plays written or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
1949 - current
(more information)

Not all databases will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: 9 April, 2008 19:50