this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

Women's Studies - Databases



Primary Contact:
Reference Desk
Email:
libref@uncw.edu
Phone:
910-962-3760
IM Chat Name:
AIM: randalldesk

Start Here

Other Suggestions

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 312,000 records from 650 journals in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
1987 - present

Electronic Journals Service - (EJS)
Search through EBSCO's database of scholarly e-journals.
(more information)

Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
1990 - present
(more information)

Government Periodicals Universe
Index of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.

GPO Access
Gateway to searchable databases from the federal government. Includes the Federal Register and Congressional Record .
Free
(more information)

Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature of world history
1450 - present
(more information)

Humanities International Index
Citations to art, archaeology, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and world history
(more information)

Journal of Women's History: Guide to Periodical Literature
PRINT RESOURCE - Location: REF HQ1101.F57 1992

JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
(more information)

LexisNexis Academic
News, business, legal and reference information.
1970's - present
(more information)

MasterFile Premier
General reference, business, and heath periodicals.
1984 - present
(more information)

NCJRS Abstracts Database
Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts with summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.
Free

NCJRS Full-text Database
Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. Searches the NCJRS web site and the web sites of the agencies of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
Free
(more information)

North American Women's Letters and Diaries Colonial to 1950
Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.
(more information)

PAIS Archive
The PAIS Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics.
1915 - 1976
(more information)

PAIS International
This database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
1972 - present
(more information)

ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. (more information)

ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection. 1995 - present
(more information)

Social Services Abstracts
Current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
1980 - present
(more information)

Women Studies Abstracts
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
1972 - present
PRINT INDEXIndex HQ1101 .W7554

Not all databases listed above will provide the full-text of the article. In these cases, you will need to do a Journal Title Search search in the library's catalog to see if we subscribe to that particular journal.

Last Update: August 20, 2008