this image represents the masthead banner of the university of north carolina wilmington
William Madison Randall Library

WMS 210 - Introduction to Women's Studies


When starting a project, there are a few simple guidelines to keep in mind:

Library Catalog

Search for materials in Randall Library by using the online Library Catalog located on the Randall Library homepage at http://library.uncwil.edu/. Searching the Library Catalog will give you call numbers and locations for books, maps, N. C. documents, U.S. Government documents, special collections, microforms, music scores, periodicals, audiovisual materials, and reserve materials.

Perform a search for library materials with a keyword search using your keywords, such as "femininity". If you would like to combine related keywords use the connector AND. For example: "femininity" and "fashion" will bring back a list of materials that cover fashion AND femininity.

Print Sources for background information: 

The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism  Reference HQ1115 .R68 2000
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women : global women's issues and knowledge Reference HQ1115 .R69 2000
Women's Studies Encyclopedia  REF HQ1115.W645 1999 v.1-v.3
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America  Reference HQ1410.c85 1996
Handbook of American Women's History
  Reference HQ1410.H36 1990
Statistical Handbook on Women in America Reference HQ1420 .T34 1996 

Sources for Controversial Issues
CQ Researcher   Location: Current/Bound Periodical Collection
This periodical discusses one controversial topic per issue; it contains good background information and excellent bibliographies.
Facts on File   Location: Ready Reference D410 .F3
News digest that summarizes current U.S. and world magazines and newspaper reports. Subject and name indexes are included.
Opposing Viewpoints Series (also available on the "Database and Article Searching" webpage)
A series of debating anthologies. Perform a Title search in the Library Catalog using "Opposing Viewpoints" to get a call number/location for these resources.

Finding Articles

Women's Studies Resources (Subject Guide): http://library.uncwil.edu/subject/Women/women.html

Women's Studies Indexes and Databases:
Women Studies Abstracts: PRINT INDEX Index HQ1101.W7554 (1972- ): Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

Sociological Abstracts: Citations to articles in books, journals, film, dissertations and book reviews. Topics include anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. (1966-current).

PsycInfo: Citations to articles and book chapters in psychology and behavioral sciences. (1887-current). Published by APA, PsycInfo is the leading citation database for psychological literature.

Academic Search Full Text Elite: Scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects. EBSCOhost (indexing 1984-current; full text 1990-current)

InfoTrac OneFile: Collection of full text databases.


Helpful Links: