| Primary Contact: |
|---|
| Peter Fritzler |
| Email: |
| fritzlerp@uncw.edu |
| Phone: |
| 910-962-7807 |
| IM Chat Name: |
| AIM: peterfritzler1 |
Sciences Databases
Agricola
The most comprehensive database to citations of journal articles, theses, patents, software and technical reports on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, and food and nutrition. Good for soil chemistry, plant cell biochemistry and plant genetics. Useful for fisheries & aquaculture. 1979 - present
(more information)
Amphibian Information Web
Database of bibliographic citations, references, contacts, and web sites related to amphibian conservation. (USGS)
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Via Randall Library's subscription to the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts suite of databases. ASFA is a premier reference database for citations and abstracts of the world's literature dealing with the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms. This source combines three major files that cover the biological sciences and living resources; ocean technology, policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Two specialized files are also included, which are aquaculture and marine biotechnology. (more information)
arXiv.org e-Print archive
A searchable database of electronic preprints ("e-prints") in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, and related disciplines. Many of the papers included are later published in peer-reviewed journals. Most heavily used by high energy physicists, a rXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University.
BioMed Central
An independent publishing house, BioMed Central's portfolio of 172 journals includes general titles such as Journal of Biology alongside specialist journals ( e.g. BMC Bioinformatics, Malaria Journal ) that focus on particular disciplines. All the research published by BioMed Central's journals is open access, but BioMed Central also provides access to various additional products and services that require a subscription. For example, certain BioMed Central journals such as Genome Biology publish commissioned review content available only to subscribers. Other subscription-only products include Faculty of 1000, a literature evaluation service that covers both biology and medicine. BioMed Central also operates Open Repository, a hosted digital repository solution for institutions.
BioOne
Bibliographic database from the BioOne organization. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas , the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. The organization is committed to a non-profit objective of disseminating important, scholarly information focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences by recovering costs while ensuring sustainability. 2000 - present
Birds of North America
Search this well-respected, comprehensive reference covering the life histories of over 700 species of North American birds. Produced by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, it includes detailed scientific information on behaviors, habitat, distribution, migration, systematics, food habits, conservation and management, and measurements among others. Also included are video and image galleries along with recordings of songs and calls from the collection at Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds. (more information)
CERN Document Server (CDS)
Searchable database with over 800,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more. Available from CERN , the European Organization for Nuclear Research, the world's largest particle physics centre.
Cold Regions Bibliography
Information on cold regions science and technology.
Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions at major scientific meetings.
1982 - present
(more information)
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
1861 - present; Abstracts: 1980 - present; Thesis abstracts: 1988 - present
E-PRINT Network
Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.
EBSCO Animals
consists of full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
1984 - present
Ecology Abstracts
Environmental sciences and pollution. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
( more information )
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Multidisciplinary database that covers all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources. Also includes abstracts of environmental impact statements (1985 - present) issued by the US government. Each entry includes a description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. 1967 - present
( more information )
E-PRINT Network
Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.
Fermilab Preprints
Available from the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, website provides a searchable database of monthly lists of Fermilab preprints and technical publications.
1970 - present
FishBase
Covers over 25,000 species of fish and has over 70,000 synonyms and 180,000 common names in over 200 languages. Over 35,000 pictures illustrate these fish. Information about them has been extracted from 20,000 references. The classification of higher taxa follows the version of Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes . Data includes family, order, class, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, biology, ecology, diet, reproduction, and references. Developed at the International Center for Living Aquatic Resources Management (ICLARM) in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).
GEOBASE
Multidisciplinary database indexing geography and geology, including cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, ecology, environment, petrology,
geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics and
volcanology from 1980 to the present. The database contains over 600K references with abstracts from journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports.
GeoRef
Established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and dissertations/theses along with references to all publications of the US Geological Survey.
Government Periodicals
Index of approximately 250 magazines and newsletters from U.S. government agencies. Covers the arts, economics, justice and the sciences.
GrayLit Network
Full-text access to unpublished technical reports of research funded by U.S. Depts. of Energy & Defense, EPA and NASA
Free
High-Energy Physics Literature Database - (1974-present).
Journal of Chemical Education
Index contains citations for all articles published in the Journal.
1994 - present
JSTOR
Online archive of scholarly journals covering anthropology, history, literature, ecology, economics, and more.
(more information)
Marine Realms Information Bank (MRIB)
A collaborative effort of the USGS Coastal and Marine Geology Program at the Woods Hole Field Center and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, the MRIB Web site is a distributed geolibrary that catalogs and provides organized access to information about coastal and marine environments, the adjacent parts of the atmosphere and solid Earth, as well as to people, techniques, and organizations involved in marine science. Mormyridae and other Osteoglossomorpha
This CD-Rom holds a taxonomic reference work of the Superorder Osteoglossomorpha of which most species belong to the Family Mormyridae (Elephant Fishes). Detailed informatin on 215 species and supspecies is given and includes taxonomic description, type locality, distribution, etymology, taxonomy, synonmys and references.
See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.
NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
NASA-funded project which maintains four bibliographic databases containing more than 4.4 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, and preprints in AstronomySome full-text articles, as well as astronomy preprints, are available, including digitized historical astronomy and astrophysics literature.
National Sea Grant Library Database
This database includes 36,000 bibliographic records to various Sea Grant funded publications. Subjects include, oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law.
Print Version: 1986 - present
NOAA Library Catalog
An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.
Oceanic Abstracts
Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
1981 - present
( more information)
Opposing Viewpoints
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
2 simultaneous users
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
Plant Biology Tutor
CD of 14 tutorials in ecology, growth and development, reproduction, and systematics and evolution. See see the library's Reference Desk to use these materials.
PLANTS Database
Single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information. Also includes States PLANTS list.
Public Affairs Information Services Archive
The Public Affairs Information Services Archive database comprises a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62. The PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics. 1915 - 1976
Public Affairs Information Services International (PAIS)
The Public Affairs Information Services International database provides information on public affairs, public and social policies and internation relations. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
A nonprofit organization publishing peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals. All PLoS activities are guided by core principles.
PubMedCentral
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
SciELO is a multinational effort to provide open access to scientific research journals produced in Latin America, the Caribbean, and Spain.
1990s - present
ScienceDirect
Full-text database covering biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, mathematics, medicine and physics, but numerous other disciplines are represented, including business, child development, computer science, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science and tourism. Offers access to the Elsevier Science journal collection.
1995 - present
SciFinder Scholar - Premiere bibliographic and reference research tool for research in chemistry. SciFinder Scholar can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. SciFinder Scholar requires installation of software to use. For more information on accessing this database, please contact the library's Reference Desk, 910-962-3760. This resource is for UNCW affiliates, only. (more information)
Scitation Database - free, requires registration.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA)
The SORA project is an open access electronic journal archive providing access to an extensive ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. 1884 - 2002
(more information)
SpringerLink
SpringerLink is the premier electronic data source from Springer for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics ... Online access to over 500 fully peer reviewed journals.
State Academies of Science Abstracts
Covers all of the major science disciplines and serves as an authoritative reference on research specific to your state and region.
(more information)
Toxicology Abstracts
Covers pharmaceuticals, agro chemicals, natural toxins, industrial chemicals. Subfile of Earth & Environmental Sciences.
1981 - present
(more information)
TOXLINE
Citations to articles, technical reports, theses on toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
1999 - present (more information)
TOXNET -
U.S. Government Periodicals Index
Citations to articles from periodicals published by the U.S. Government.
U.S.G.S. Publications:
- Information by State - A searchable database of USGS publications. Click on a state and search USGS publications pertaining to that state.
- USGS Library Online Catalog - Search the US Geological Survey (USGS) library catalog by author, title, subject, keyword, or number.
- USGS Publications Database - Search for USGS publications by subject, title, author, report number, and meeting. Coverage from 1800's to present.
WAVES
The catalogue of the libraries of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, WAVES contains over 200,000 records, from 1700 to the present day. WAVES is particularly strong on the gray literature for the marine sciences, with emphasis on Canadian records, and other organizations like ICES, FAO, etc. Updated daily, the database contains records for books, documents, and serials, and includes links to over 5000 full-text documents. Available in English and French, Canada's two official languages.
Wiley InterScience
Searchable database of science journals.
WorldCat
A combined catalog of thousands of libraries, including Randall Library. Search WorldCat if you want to search the largest universe of book and other cataloged items.

