Welcome to the 2014 Summer Writers Conference SignWriters Conference Keynote Speaker, Jason Mott

Welcome to the 2014 Summer Writers Conference June 20-22

Everyone dreams of moving to the beach and becoming a writer. For one weekend in June, you can! UNCW’s nationally recognized Department of Creative Writing is pleased to present the second annual Summer Writers Conference, June 20-22.

Join us for three days of workshops, discussions and readings, as well as a dramatic keynote address highlighting one of the year’s greatest literary success stories. Wilmington's own Jason Mott will serve as fiction workshop leader and keynote speaker. An award-winning poet with two books in print, Jason Mott is also the author of the international bestseller novel The Returned. The Returned was optioned by Brad Pitt’s production company, Plan B, and adapted for prime-time television by ABC under the title Resurrection. Starring Omar Epps and Frances Fisher, Resurrection is currently one of the highest rated dramas on network television, and has been renewed for a second season.

The conference will be hosted by UNCW’s nationally recognized Creative Writing program. Other workshop leaders will include Michael White, award-winning poet and memoirist and Chair of UNCW’s Department of Creative Writing, and Dana Sachs, bestselling memoirist and novelist. You can also opt to have a manuscript critique with Whiting Award winner Hannah Dela Cruz Abrams.

This conference will be geared to serve aspiring writers at all levels. Panels and critiques will help writers plan, develop, revise, and publish original works in their choice of genres.

Learn more about our workshop and roundtable leaders

Learn more about workshop course descriptions and roundtable discussion topics

Facebook Link Find out more on Facebook!

Contact Administration Banner

Schedule Banner

Conference Registration Banner

Email us for more information, or call (910) 962-3519.

Friday, June 20th

Saturday, June 21st

Sunday, June 22nd



UNCW Logo, Sponsor of ConferenceDepartment of Creative Writing Logo, Sponsor of Conference