- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
African American Experience on Film
Selected Journals
African American ReviewOfficial publication of the MLA's Division on Black American Literature and Culture
American CinematographerThe International Journal of Motion Imaging
Cinema JournalArticles on humanities-oriented scholarship in media studies
Film HistoryOriginal research on the international history of cinema
Film InternationalEssays with in-depth analyses, interviews, festival reports and book reviews
Film QuarterlyA scholarly journal with research on film, television, and visual media
Historical Journal of Film, Radio and TelevisionAn academic journal with research in media history
Hollywood ReporterHollywood and entertainment news.
Millennium Film JournalJournal with research on cinema, including all technologies of the moving image
Scope: An Online Journal of Film StudiesAn online, peer-reviewed journal from the University of Nottingham
VarietyOffers headlines, statistics, reviews, columnists, box office charts and production charts
Websites and Online Resources
Senses of Cinema
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema." It is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.
[More details]An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema.
Lantern Media History Digital Library
Search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative which digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
[More details]
Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)
The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.
[More details]A professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is a SCMS publication. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.
CineFiles
Free-to-access documents including film reviews, interviews, popular and scholarly articles, publicity materials, program notes, book excerpts, pamphlets, filmmakers’ texts and correspondence, and many other rare archival documents dating from the early 1900s to the present. The collection includes about 60,000 scanned documents.
[More details]Contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the Pacific Film Archive Library's extensive collection covering world cinema.
Film Studies for Free
Film blog that provides readers with links to digital scholarly film material.
[More details]An Open Access database of digital scholarly material.
Moving Image Source
Resource for the history and study of film, television, and digital media.
[More details]Website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world.
IMDb (Internet Movie Database)
Resource for information on film and television production and distribution, casting, reviews, trivia, images, and more.
[More details]Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.
The leading online box-office reporting service. It is owned and operated by IMDb.
The world's largest network of library content and services, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
Recommended Databases
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film studies. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, screenwriting and reviews.
[More details]Articles on film and television subjects, both full text and citations.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
[More details]Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Articles in film studies that are predominately scholarly and full text. Use the Advanced Search page and choose "Film Studies" journals and other related disciplines.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]Full text articles in film studies topics. Choose "Film Theater and Performing Arts" under Research Areas for searching.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive for the Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 1994. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
[More details]An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Indexes articles from 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover, and 200 other periodicals selectively.
American Film Institute Catalog
AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. An essential film studies database, the AFI Catalog is a unique filmographic resource providing an unmatched level of comprehensiveness and detail on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
[More details]A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onward.
Film Scripts Online
The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.
[More details]
Fine Arts and Music (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
[More details]Finding Film Reviews
Many databases have filters or ways to limit your searching by date, document type, etc. If you need film reviews from a certain time period, look for the date settings in the database and limit it to "reviews".
InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Local newspapers from North Carolina are included in this resource.
[More details]provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers thousands of newspapers from across the world.
Historical Newspapers
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
[More details]has full-text articles from a variety of U.S. newspapers including the New York Times from 1851-2011.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
[More details]covers primary sources from the 1880 to 2000.
covers 1976-2001, and while it does not have full-text articles, this will help with finding citations for historic articles. Randall Library may carry them in print, or using Interlibrary Loan will be available for those resources not in the collection.
Newspaper Databases
Complete list of newspaper resources accessable through Randall Library.
[More details]is a full list of newspaper databases available.
CineFiles
Free-to-access documents including film reviews, interviews, popular and scholarly articles, publicity materials, program notes, book excerpts, pamphlets, filmmakers’ texts and correspondence, and many other rare archival documents dating from the early 1900s to the present. The collection includes about 60,000 scanned documents.
[More details]has reviews and other useful resources.
Search the Library Catalog
Below are some suggestions for searching the Library Catalog for books, eBooks, and films. Remember to select "keyword" or "subject" to get the results in those categories.
Keyword Searches for the Catalog
- Contemporary black cinema
- Early black cinema
- Blaxploitation
- Signifying monkey
- Black resistance cinema
- Black feminist film
- Black spectatorship
- Black oppositional gaze
- Constructions and black sexuality
Subject Searches for the Catalog
- African Americans in motion pictures
- African Americans in the motion picture industry
- African Americans in the performing arts
- Feminism and art
- Feminist art criticism
- Race relations in motion pictures
Videos and DVDs
DVDs are on the first floor of the library and VHS tapes are on the second floor. Both are shelved according to Library of Congress call number. To locate the call number of a film, search the Library Catalog. You can also go to "Find and Research" then "Videos and DVDs" to search for films.
- Know the title of the work? Try a TITLE search. Example: 12 Years a Slave [title]
- Know the subject area? Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording]. Example: Race relations in motion pictures [subject]. You can also limit the search by video.
- Know the performer or director? Try an AUTHOR search. Example: Lee, Spike [author/artist]
- Want a listing of all of our DVDs? Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.
Randall Library Videos & DVDs
Search for videos (includes both streaming & DVDs), view a list of Randall Library's streaming video databases, and more.
[More details]Eva Sclippa
Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL1041
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students and faculty.
ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill