Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
FST 376
Instructor: 
Berliner, Todd

Suggested Books for Research in FST 376

Click HERE for a list of suggested books for further research.

Websites and Online Resources

Senses of Cinema

"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema." It is indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

[More details]
An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema.
Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS)

The primary professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is their organ. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.

[More details]
A professional organization for cinema and film scholars; Cinema Journal is a SCMS publication. Consult the site for calls for papers, conferences, and online forums.
CineFiles

CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.

[More details]
Contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the Pacific Film Archive Library's extensive collection covering world cinema.
Cinemetrics

"Movie measurement and study tool database."

[More details]
Movie measurement and study tool database.
Film Studies for Free

"Film Studies for Free actively espouses the ethos of Open Access to digital scholarly material. It aims to promote good quality, online, film and moving-image studies resources by commenting on them, and by linking to them."

[More details]
An Open Access database of digital scholarly material.
Moving Image Source

"Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources."

[More details]
Website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world.
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)

Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.

[More details]
Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.
Box Office Mojo

Box Office Mojo is the leading online box-office reporting service. It is owned and operated by IMDb.

[More details]
The leading online box-office reporting service. It is owned and operated by IMDb.
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]
The world's largest network of library content and services, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Recommended Databases

Try these databases below to find scholarly journal, popular magazine, and newspaper articles. Check the descriptions for the database that will be most useful for your needs.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film studies. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, screenwriting and reviews.

[More details]
Articles on film and television subjects, both full text and citations.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Articles in film studies that are predominately scholarly and full text. Use the Advanced Search page and choose "Film Studies" journals and other related disciplines.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Full text articles in film studies topics. Choose "Film Theater and Performing Arts" under Research Areas for searching.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 1994. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
An archival research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Film Literature Index

Film Literature Index Online annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film studies and television.

[More details]
Indexes articles from 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover, and 200 other periodicals selectively.
American Film Institute Catalog

AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. An essential film studies database, the AFI Catalog is a unique filmographic resource providing an unmatched level of comprehensiveness and detail on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.

[More details]
A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onward.
Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

[More details]
Fine Arts and Music Collection

Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

[More details]

Finding Production Code Administration Correspondence on a Film

To obtain the Production Code Administration (PCA) correspondence about your movie, you will access the Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 Collection, available within the Archives Unbound database through Randall Library.  This electronic database contains archival letters between the studios and the PCA scanned from the collection of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Margaret Herrick Library concerning morally objectionable material in 500 American films, though this collection is just a fraction of the Margaret Herrick Library’s PCA correspondence.

To access the collection, go to Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 Collection, and then you can search in the "Search within this Collection" box.

Finding Film Reviews

Many databases have filters or ways to limit your searching by date, document type, etc.  If you need film reviews from a certain time period, look for the date settings in the database and limit it to "reviews". 

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers thousands of newspapers from across the world.  ProQuest Historical Newspapers database has full-text articles from a variety of U.S. newspapers including the New York Times from 1851-2011.  Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive covers primary sources from the 1880 to 2000. 

The Film Literature Index covers 1976-2001, and while it does not have full-text articles, this will help with finding citations for historic articles.  Randall Library may carry them in print, or using Interlibrary Loan will be available for those resources not in the collection.

Look for links to the databases in the section labeled "Recommended Databases".

A website that has reviews and other useful resources is CineFiles

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Suggested Search Strategies

Try using these keywords and phrases when you search the Library Catalog and the Databases:

  • cinemascope
  • hollywood ten
  • screwball comed*
  • "film noir" and light*
  • "film noir" and wom?n
  • "alfred hitchcock" and perform*
  • blacklist and screenwrit*
  • hollywood and melodrama*
  • censor* and "production code"
  • musical and (film or cinema) and styl*
  • silent and (film or cinema) and act*
  • (star or stardom) and "motion pictures" and market*
  • (star or stardom) and (film or cinema) and (publicity or promotion*

Videos and DVDs

DVDs are on the first floor of the library and VHS tapes are on the second floor. Both are shelved according to Library of Congress call number.  To locate the call number of a film, search the Library Catalog.  You can also use the drop down menu on the library's homepage "Find and Research" and look for "Videos and DVDs" there.

  • Know the title of the work? Try a TITLE search. Example: Cape Fear [title]
  • Know the subject area? Try a SUBJECT search, and then LIMIT/SORT by the material type [videorecording]. Example: Korean War [subject]. You can also limit the search by video.
  • Know the performer or director? Try an AUTHOR search. Example: Scorsese, Martin [author/artist]
  • Want a listing of all of our DVDs? Try a SUBJECT search using DVD.

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students and faculty. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED