Randall Library Home

This Guide builds on the resources found in the main Public and International Affairs guide. This guide focuses exclusively on resources for research on United States political affairs, and should be used in conjunction with the PIA guide.

NOT PUBLISHED

State Government Websites

North Carolina Official Website

Official website for the state of North Carolina.

[More details]
North Carolina Crime Statistics

The North Carolina Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program is part of a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  While the program’s primary objective is to generate a reliable set of criminal statistics for use in law enforcement administration, operation, and management, its data have over the years become one the country’s leading social indicators.  The UCR Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

[More details]
North Carolina Department of Commerce

The state's lead agency for economic, community, and workforce development.

[More details]
Office of the Governor

Official website of the office of the governor of North Carolina.

[More details]
Follow the Money

Describes itself as "the nation's only free, nonpartisan, verifiable archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states."

[More details]
North Carolina General Assembly

Use this web site as a tool to track bills, find and communicate with your state House and Senate members, and to follow chamber activity, meetings and issues before the General Assembly.

[More details]
North Carolina State Data Center

Data about the state of North Carolina.

[More details]

Campaigns and Elections Websites

Federal Election Commission

The FEC administers and enforces the statute that governs the financing of federal elections.

[More details]
North Carolina Center for Voter Education

A "nonprofit and nonpartisan organization dedicated to helping citizens more fully participate in democracy."

[More details]
Project Vote Smart

Their mission is to provide "free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials to all Americans."

[More details]
New Hanover County Board of Elections

The mission of the New Hanover County Board of Elections is to provide the highest level of professional standards to ensure accurate, honest, and fair elections through accountability and integrity and to provide all citizens our services in the most efficient, effective, and timely manner

[More details]
North Carolina State Board of Elections

The State Board of Elections is the state agency charged with overall responsibility for administration of the elections process and campaign finance disclosure in North Carolina. The State Board itself is composed of five members, appointed by the Governor.  The state’s 100 County Boards of Elections conduct local elections, operate voting sites, maintain voter registration lists and handle numerous aspects of election administration.

[More details]
American National Election Studies

The ANES produces data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

[More details]

US Political Parties

Communist Party USA

Official website for the U.S. Communist Party.

[More details]
Democratic National Committee

Official website for the U.S. Democratic Party.

[More details]
Green Party USA

Official website for the U.S. Green Party.

[More details]
Libertarian Party

Official website for the U.S. Libertarian Party.

[More details]
Natural Law Party

Official website of the U.S. Natural Law Party.

[More details]
Republican National Committee

Official website for the U.S. Republican Party.

[More details]
World Socialist Web Site

Published by the leadership of the world socialist movement.

[More details]

Recomended Databases for researching US government

Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
Congressional Record

Service provided by GPO Access with the official record of the United States Congress.

[More details]
CQ Press Library

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Voting and Elections Collection, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

[More details]
CQ Magazine

Only CQ Magazine reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week.

[More details]
Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]

Federal Government Websites

Congress.org

Describes itself as "a non-partisan website dedicated to building a knowledge base for professionals wishing to better engage their communities."

[More details]
U.S. House of Representatives

Official website for the United States House of Representatives.

[More details]
U.S. Senate

Official website for the United States Senate.

[More details]
White House

Official website for the White House (executive branch of federal government).

[More details]
Supreme Court

Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court.

[More details]
The Cabinet, and Cabinet Agencies

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the Attorney General.

[More details]
U.S. Federal Judiciary

Official website for the U.S. federal judicial branch.

[More details]
Open Secrets

Nonpartisan guide to money's influence on U.S. elections and public policy.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED