Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2016
Course number: 
MUS 341
Instructor: 
Helena K Spencer

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

American Musical Theatre

MUS 341 - Starting Points

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the search box on this page for faster searching
Credo Reference - Performing Arts

Reference ebooks on the performing arts.

[More details]
Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology.
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]
A music-specific online database; coverage starts from 1978 onwards. Both full text and citations.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

[More details]
A music-specific database; coverage starts at 1967. Citations only.

Oxford Music Online




Oxford Music Online 

Databases

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the search box on this page for faster searching.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Archive of selected scholarly journals including over 80 in music; predominantly full text.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Similar to JSTOR, but contains full text of the most recent years of journals covered. Currently contains eleven music journals, including Music and Letters.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media.

Songbooks and CDs

Songbooks and CD liner notes are a great place to learn more about particular musicals.  You can easily find these in our catalog and library by following these suggestions.

To find scores for musicals, do a SUBJECT search in the catalog using the words:  MUSICALS--LIBRETTOS
To find scores for musicals in the library, search in the ML50 section.

to find CDs for musicals, do a SUBJECT search in the catalog using the words:  MUSICALS or MUSICALS--EXCERPTS
To find CDs for musicals in the library, search in the M1500 section.
You can also Browse Music CDs on our Find Music & Audiobooks page for title, artist, or choose MUSICALS from the drop down menu for POPULAR MUSIC GENRES

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Streaming and Audio and Video Databases

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online.
Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Met Opera On Demand

Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935

[More details]
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access."

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.