Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
PAR 205

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Recommended Databases

PhilPapers with Full Text

Maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center. It features full text access to more than 100 scholarly journals, series, and conference proceedings in the humanities and social sciences.  

[More details]
PhilArchive

The largest open access e-print archive in philosophy. Formerly known as the PhilPapers Archive, it is built on and integrated with the PhilPapers database. Access to items on PhilArchive is free without a user account.

[More details]
Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.

[More details]
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Search Tips

Because the language of philosophy is not precise, you will want to try keyword searches on the concepts you are researching. Retrieve words with variant endings by using an *. For example, intellect* retrieves records containing any of the following words: intellect, intellectual, intellectuals, intellectualism. Then, look at the subject headings field of the records that seem relevant to discover new terms to search. Basic subject headings to use when searching for materials related to your project on American philosophy and scientific research are:

  • Inventions -- United States
  • Science -- Philosophy -- History
  • Philosophy and Science
  • Science -- Social aspects -- United States
  • Science and Civilization
  • Technology and State
  • Science and State
  • Technology -- History -- United States
  • Science -- History -- United States

For the project on anti-intellectualism, try:

  • Education -- Social Aspects -- United States
  • Intellectual life -- United States
  • Intellectuals -- United States
  • Learning and Scholarship

For the final project, try:

  • Allegiance
  • Responsibility
  • Christian ethics
  • Social Contract
  • Citizenship
  • Social Ethics
  • Civil society [specific religious, ethnic, or other group identities]
  • Civics

If you know of specific philosophers who wrote about the topics you are researching, search their names (last name first) as authors and as subjects. To find even more, search the name as a keyword. This will also retrieve books in which the name appears in the contents notes of book or video records.

CITATION CYCLING

When you find a useful resource, be sure to check its bibliography for additional resources. This technique will often find new information sources that even the most complete online searches miss. Then, when you go to those resources, look in their bibliographies for even more.

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED